Old 15th August 2024, 13:12   #1501

Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar

Clap for Mahindra. They again nailed the pricing perfectly.

MM has kept the initial price low. Since morning I already received quite a few texts stating Roxx has a starting price of 13L which indeed is super VFM. They have intentionally not launched the 4wd prices to keep the overall pricing low at the time of the launch. This indeed is a very good marketing strategy.

I just hope Mahindra gives the 4x4 option for the petrol Roxx. In places like NCR and for people like me, who want to avoid BS6 diesels, this is indeed the need of the hour.

My hunch is the petrol 4x4 will start from the MX3 variant & the MX3 MT 4x4 should cost around 17.5-18L ex-showroom and the diesel MX3 MT 4x4 should be around 18.5-19L ex-showroom.
Spending around 20L onroad should get a Roxx 4x4 in its base variant in petrol and around 21ish in diesel.
What I have seen in the past is Mahindra plonks the 4x4 from the model they consider giving the AT. For example, the ScorpioN Z4 got AT and the 4x4 also comes in manual from the Z4 variant. Here the AT is available from the MX3 variant, so am hoping the 4x4 will also be available from this model onwards.

On a lighter note, people will say Thar Roxx costs around 13L and will pay 20L+ to buy the car in 4x4, whereas MSIL pitched the Jimny as a Rs 17L car which they are unable to sell even at 12L!

This is what once I wrote for MSIL on their goof-up on Jimny's pricing!

Originally Posted by Samba View Post
A small tip - Learn how to set the initial pricing right and hike it with the increase in demand for the product from Mahindra! [/i]

Last edited by Samba : 15th August 2024 at 13:21.
Samba is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 13:14   #1502
vij

Originally Posted by MyGoRa View Post
The fantastic pricing on feature-rich base models suggests that the ex-showroom price of the top model will be well below 20 lakhs, as I had predicted.

Kudos to Mahindra..!
Looks like you were wrong. The Top end Ax7 L RWD AT is 20.49 lac. And I expect the Top 4x4 22 lac +

I wish I was not right though as I will be booking. Lesser prices would have helped...

Last edited by vij : 15th August 2024 at 13:33.
vij is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 13:17   #1503

Originally Posted by vij View Post
Looks like you were wrong. The Top end Ax7 L RWD AT is 20.49 lac. And I expect the Top 4x4 22 lac +

I wish I was not right though as I will be booking soon.
How will you be booking? Do unofficial bookings count? I thought official bookings start in Oct. I am in the same camp as you, but not sure of the color. While black looked great earlier, now even liking white and red
Old 15th August 2024, 13:29   #1504
vij

Originally Posted by sanemate View Post
How will you be booking? Do unofficial bookings count? I thought official bookings start in Oct. I am in the same camp as you, but not sure of the color. While black looked great earlier, now even liking white and red
I will book whenever official bookings are open. Not interested in so called unofficial Dealer bookings.

Even my choices are White and Red. Still undecided. Red looks exotic, white looks classy and big. Btw if you wrap the white grille in black, it could add to its looks

Last edited by vij : 15th August 2024 at 13:40.
Old 15th August 2024, 13:30   #1505

Originally Posted by vij View Post

I wish I was not right though as I will be booking soon. Lesser prices would have helped...
My Bad, I didn't consider that Mahindra would offer full 128.6 kW Scorpio N engine in the ROXX - They could've priced the RWD D AT AX7L @19.99 Lakhs at least as an introductory price.

All said and done - I will be booking the above variant for sure
MyGoRa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 13:37   #1506

In a Market filled with overpriced and half hearted products, Mahindra has placed a Cat among pigeons.

Almost a perfect product, that offers great on road experience especially considering Indian roads, plethora of features and Looks to die for.

The best part, it’s priced just right for what it offers. Mahindra has large Sales network and acceptable Service levels. A winner for sure.

Ford, GM, Honda, Nissan, VW brothers can take a lesson or two, on how to create successful Products for India.
Acharya is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 13:41   #1507

Great pricing!!! Base MX1 has all the essential safety features that cannot be retrofitted from outside which is really helpful. It's a great buy for someone who wants to modify it as per their needs. 12.99 L Ex showroom means around 15.5L on road. Black color will hide any outside cosmetic compromises. Some add ons would be 1.5 Lakh for Fuel Cyclone 18 inch alloys, Beefed up wheel arches, Front bumper, skid plate, LED strip on top, seat covers, steering wrap,Runva electric winch, Limb riser and some here and there and you have yourself a Mafia edition RoXX to flaunt muscles which is why many millennials bought Thar.
Flyingdutchman is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 13:55   #1508

The Roxx is really practical and that's a big plus with 5 doors and a large boot they have really opened it up to many prospective customers, kudos to M&M for such a loaded product. As excited as everyone but with earlier disappointment in mind, I want to be honest about the whole euphoria of any M&M launch.

Few things that bother me :

1. Mahindra will keep the launch price lower to make some buzz, and like always their dubious strategy of price protection on initial booking/delivery after one year because of huge orders will continue. For the number of orders received for scorpioN in a similar scenario, the monthly delivery numbers till date don't add up, so did Mahindra have more cancellations than delivery ?

2. Its a 5 seater and RWD, even the XUV 700 MX starts at 13.99 which is not an introductory price. For a lifestyle vehicle in its base variant RWD the pricing doesn't seem any less and it is bound to increase in the coming months.

3. They didn't disclose the pricing for Topend 4x4 AT Diesel, this will be the most dear variant for people who want to go all in. Again information hiding to increase the excitement, absolutely hate this.

4. The variants with 4x4 have nothing to do with the base launch price, they are altogether in a different world. Same happened with ScorpioN. If one wanted an AT 4x4 D, they were forced to go for top Z8 or Z8L. The only other was the Z4 4x4 which was a MT. They advertise as a rugged 4x4 SUV and in the end the variants they sell can only get you selfies.

The world will celebrate the launch as they are not buying. For the serious buyer who wants a lifestyle 4x4 tourer vehicle a disappointment is waiting at the showroom in the coming months. As an existing customer and a prospective buyer, No offence to anyone and no comparison to other brands and their pricing strategy, my point is that all these euphoria and loop arounds will end up dashing hopes of the cautious buyer.

I wont be surprised if it touches around 30L in Bangalore for the top end 4x4 AT D. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
skyocean is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 14:00   #1509

Variant spread is very confusing to me. MX is considered lower so far and AX used to start after MX. Now MX5 is higher than AX3L. Instead they should have just used AX3, AX3L etc.

Contradiction in brochure. AX3L is not available in AT as per variant matrix, but as per features 'Adaptive Cruise Control and Smart Pilot Assist' are available in AX3L AT variants. The variants/pricing on website also doesn't show AT in AX3L. There will be fine tuning in the features/brochure.
Old 15th August 2024, 14:04   #1510

Few observations:
  • Democratization of features right from the lower variants is commendable. Having 6 airbags, all safety features such as ESC, HHC, HDC, TCS, BLD, 60:40 split rear seats, push button start, full-size touchscreen infotainment, projector LED headlamps etc. as standard features across all variants is just WOW. Even a mid variant like AX3L looks to have most of the essential and desirable features such as cruise control, connected car features, Wireless Android Auto/Apple Car Play, Level 2 ADAS, rear Disk Brakes, ACC, pano sunroof, terrain mode selectors etc.
  • As Mr. Veluswami mentioned in the launch event, the diesel AT develops the peak Torque of 370 Newton Meters from 1500 RPM itself all the way to 3000 RPM, while the Petrol AT develops the slightly peak torque of 380 Newton meters only from 1750 to 3000 rpm, with a narrower band of flat peak torque. This should make the diesel AT more drivable in the city as compared to the petrol AT. This is a very different story as compared to the Thar 3-door, where the 2.2 diesel used to make 300 NM between 1600-2800 RPM and the Petrol had a broader power-band for the peak torque of 320 NM from 1500 to 3000 rpm. Proof that Mahindra continues to refine and enhance the trusted 2.2 mHawk.
  • Length at 4428 mm is actually more than what I expected. This is 100 mm longer than the Crreta and is approaching closer to the VW Tiguan and Hyundai Alcazar's length of 4500 mm. As one can see from the videos so far, back row legroom is very good and thigh support seems excellent as well.
  • The Roxx is 50 mm (5 cm) wider than the 3-door, at 1870 mm versus 1820 mm of the Thar 3-door. It is also 70 mm (7 cm) taller at 1923 mm versus 1855 mm of the 3-door. The increased width should help to retain the squat proportions that the Thar is known for and also improve cornering stability.
  • I wish M&M had increased the fuel tank capacity to around 70 litres, instead the Roxx retain the same fuel tank capacity of 57 litres. With a larger and taller car and more passengers and people, this would mean more frequent refueling stops on those long highway trips.
  • The wheelbase is a full 400 mm more (40cm which is about 1.3 foot). For comparison, this is as exactly much wheelbase as an Innova HyCross has! This has liberated significant space in the interior of the car.
  • Approach angle and departure angle is exactly the same as the Thar 3-door, as the overhangs are identical and the increased wheelbase has entirely gone into the middle of the car. However, laws of physics cannot be voided, so the ramp break-over angle has reduced from 26.2 degree to 23.9 degrees. This is still plenty for most off-roading.
  • The burnt sienna color seems to be the nicely evolved successor of the mystic copper in the original Thar. The Nebula blue is interesting as well but need to be seen in real life to know how it actually looks on such a large car. The silver looks thr worst in my view as it shows off the complexities of the awkward integration of the stepped up roof too much, with the top of the rear door seemingly set higher than the top of the front door.

For someone such as me wanting a Diesel At 4x4, there are only 2 choices AX5L or AX7L. By going for the AX5L, one misses:
  • Power driver seat
  • Front ventilated seats
  • Power folding ORVM
  • Cooled Glove Box
  • Leatherette wrap on door trims
  • Higher quality premium leather wrapped steering wheel
  • Harman Kordon Audio
  • 6 speakers (instead of 5 on AX5L)
  • Sub-Woofer
  • Front View Camera
  • Blind View Camera
  • Obstacle View (Transparent Bonnet)
  • Surround View Camera

The price difference between AX5L and AX7L based on the prices released for the RWD trims is 1.5 lakhs. So, I would assume that the same price difference will be kept among the AWD variants too. The above are quite a lot of important feature and luxury value additions for 1.5 lakhs and I would personally choose the AX7L over the AX5L for this kind of premium.

Given the AX7L RWD Diesel AT is priced at 20.49 lakhs, I woudl expect M&M to charge a premium of 1.5 lakhs for AWD, bringing the top of the range to 21.99 lakhs. At this price point, the scorpio top end AWD is not too far off at 24.2 lakhs and this is the challenge M&M will have - on how to position these products competitively and position the two vehicles to the appropriate customer personas so to avoid confusion in the customer's minds as to which vehicle to go for.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 15th August 2024 at 14:22.
84.monsoon is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 14:07   #1511

Amazing pricing. The Petrol AX7 RWD should attract a lot of top-end Seltos/Creta buyers who want a butch "SUV".

The positioning is clear - it's a family vehicle, for those who want to be "different" from the crowd. Not an off-roader first approach, as we see in the 5-door Wrangler as well.

I so wish they gave it a better name. What is Roxx? If you're trying to attract the middle-class (core TG) + upper middle-class (value concious, who don't spend on German luxury brands) segments, why not name it something that is aspirational or gives the feeling of exploration. Imagine sitting in a corporate meeting room, and saying I bought the Thar Armada vs the Thar Roxx.

Last edited by andafunda : 15th August 2024 at 14:08.
andafunda is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 14:08   #1512

Can someone confirm this, I don't see petrol 4x4 variant in the line up. There was no petrol 4x4 offered in ScorpioN, is this going to be same case for Roxx?

Does this also mean petrol 4x4 will be discontinued from the 3-door line up as well in a future update?
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-thar_roxx_variants.png  

Last edited by ak10 : 15th August 2024 at 14:09.
ak10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 14:12   #1513

Here are the variant’s leaflets with price. Confused between MX5 and AX3L. We don’t want 4X4 but MX5 comes with alloys and sunroof instead of tech features in AX3L.

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-bcda6148956f420a8bf31221fd5d39ee.jpeg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-8ffc2b81537345dfb78f2d5393d8dfe6.jpeg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-b345bcc4bbed463089b3ecab357a9479.jpeg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-03e1ae81560a46998d89df85be48aa63.jpeg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-abfb5dfee58249c5a7e50ea805922379.jpeg

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-743fd6d9f4b74bf08ca07f412b279939.jpeg

Last edited by Wanderers : 15th August 2024 at 14:15.
Wanderers is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 14:26   #1514

Noticed something while fiddling around on the configurator.

The top spec thar, with the larger alloys has no spare wheel coverMahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-img_0431.png

While the lower variant, with smaller alloys gets one:
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-img_0432.png

I still feel like that the car is a mishmash of too many design elements. Pretty sure mahindra designed tye car around the copyright rules set by the Fiat Chrysler group

Last edited by amoi : 15th August 2024 at 14:29. Reason: Spelling mistakes
amoi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 14:34   #1515

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

Originally Posted by comfortablynumb View Post
I know I'd be the odd man out when I say this, but IMO the overall look/shape doesn't seem cohesive. Can't put a finger on exactly what it is, but in comparison the dimensions of the 3 door Thar seem more proportionate to me. Anyway, good luck to M&M with their latest offering.

Happy Independence Day, everyone!
No you are not the only one. At first I thought it was the new Bolero. The amount of sharp edges it has both inside and outside is horrendous. Can't believe how an average family person can live with it both 3d/5d.