Old 16th August 2024, 15:53   #1621

Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar

I am eagerly awaiting that frugal 1.5D mStallion. For most of the folks, this would suffice. Excellent power delivery and mileage for daily use. There's room for a 2WD mid-variant MT/AT with this engine in the price range of the MX3 Petrol AT territory of 17L - 19L

Last edited by AG86 : 16th August 2024 at 15:54. Reason: Addition
AG86 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 15:57   #1622

Originally Posted by rayjaycleoful View Post
Two questions which could be related - are the doors removable?
1. It has keyless "GO" but not entry
2. Are the mirrors foldable?
Not sure but it looks like the doors are not removable coz of the speaker & power window controls placement. 3 door thar has electric ORVM adjustment buttons on the door though.

Per brochure, Water wading depth is 650 mm but I’m not sure why the speakers are placed on the bottom part of the door.

Yes, it has push button start but no ‘smart entry’. when it comes to the functionality, these features make sense together. Anyway something is better than nothing !

Yes power folding mirrors are available on AX7L variant.

Mahindra learned a lot from the Ford joint venture ( Eg: Watts link suspension) but still a long way to go.

Push button start placement on Ford Everest & Thar Roxx
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-img_1463.jpeg  

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-img_1469.jpeg  

LionX is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 16:19   #1623

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Mahindra's big plans for brand THAR!

- M&M eyes an annual output of 1 lakh units for Thar; plans to make it a mainstream brand

- The company has planned a monthly production of 9500 units of Thar 3 door and Thar Roxx. This will help the company attain growth of mid-teens in FY-25.

- Mahindra plans a monthly output of 6,500 units for its lifestyle SUV, which also has off-road capabilities. Along with the Thar 3 door, it is planning to produce 9,500 units per month, according to the company.
Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
I always knew it, but "people being people" (you can guess who I refer to), "they" "took a stand" not to listen to me, because it was the "politically correct" thing for them to do, everybody wants to further their careers, product and customer are only the means to further it! I don't think any of those guys in their wildest dreams realized that this thing will give 5.5 years of steady volumes (on December 21, it will be 6 years)! The product has spoken for itself! And, by the way, I had a vested interest in guiding you, because if I had not done so, this thing would have been dead and buried long time back, because that was the "politically correct" result that would have allowed people to say "see Sir, I told you"!

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Quoting an old post by the late Shri Behram Dhabhar.

As I read his words, I can't help but feel the unspoken emotions that lie beneath them. The original Thar, born from a shoestring budget, has grown into something far greater—a "monster" in terms of its success and influence. His legacy continues to resonate with those who knew him or are familiar with his work. The automotive fraternity at large, and M&M in particular, owes a great deal to this man's vision, passion, and contributions.
jeeva is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 16:41   #1624

For those people who love sunroofs, the Thar Roxx has a very one, at 1.665 sq. m in area.

Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-gvf85k2wwaeyvm4.jpg
Warning: Do not stand out of a sunroof in a moving vehicle.

Link:

Last edited by volkman10 : 16th August 2024 at 16:47.
volkman10 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 16:46   #1625

Originally Posted by hajaar View Post
This is the first car I want to buy even though I wasn't even interested in it. It could be a great replacement for my fortuner.
I have heard many say that it's difficult to get a proper replacement for Fortuner and Endeavour.
My cousin is finding it difficult to replace his 1L+ clocked Endeavour. He was waiting for the facelift, but since Ford shut the shop, he is planning to keep it for few more years.
If ROXX is able to suffice your requirement and if it satisfies as the proper replacement, then happy for you.

Also, is this like the final final nail in the coffin for the Jimny?
One more nail to the coffin? Yes.
Final nail in the coffin ? Might not be!

Jimny is a good vehicle, but surely not in the league of ROXX in every aspect other than compact size and price.
With the discounted price which is below 15L on-road, Jimny still has some hope left.

If one doesn't need 4x4 then RWD Roxx is the best bet.
But if 4x4 is needed, it will costs min. 25L to 30L onroad Bangalore. Which is huge difference compared to Jimny discounted pricing.

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
The Jimny in India needs to be priced and packaged much lower and still has a role as an affordable utilitarian small car in India, I believe.
Exactly,
Instead of high pricing and Maruti comparing it with Thar, if Jimny had a base variant less than 10L(ex showroom) and current discounted price was the norm, then surely Jimny sales would have been decent.
Thar 3D with better looks,engine etc was well priced during launch.

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
The Jimny still has potential albeit at a much lower price and an Indian army order helping build volumes.
+1
Jimny has the potential and is good to own it as a second car, which is compact,cute,4x4, can go anywhere and priced below 15L on-road for topend.
Wishing for the best results to both Thar and Jimny and hoping both will co-exist.

Offtopic:
My friend and cousin were waiting for ROXX price reveal.
4x4 was one of their main requirements.
But after knowing that 4x4 prices in Bangalore will surely be nearing 28L(or more for AT)both of them have booked Jimny yesterday.
My friend is planning to buy Jimny MT and XL6/Sonet AT for total 30L.

Last edited by DLC5005 : 16th August 2024 at 17:03. Reason: Typo
DLC5005 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 17:05   #1626

Originally Posted by DLC5005 View Post
I have heard many say that it's difficult to get a proper replacement for Fortuner and Endeavour.
My cousin is finding it difficult to replace his 1L+ clocked Endeavour. He was waiting for the facelift, but since Ford shut the shop, he is planning to keep it for few more years.
If ROXX is able to suffice your requirement and if it satisfies as the proper replacement, then happy for you.
I wasn't clear. I bought a GLA and comet to replace my fortuner, due to pressure from HQ. I still feel the need to scratch the off-road itch with some amount of practicality, which I think the Roxx will provide.

There is no replacement to the Fortuner, unless we go upwards in terms of pricing. Given a choice, I would have replaced my fortuner with another one.
hajaar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 17:15   #1627

Originally Posted by TORQUEINDUCTION View Post
I am also feeling the same thing, cant point out what it is, but seems odd about the overall vehicle
Perhaps the visual asymmetry when you look at the vehicle side-on and see that the window frames are slightly askew (not the cladding/beading - the actual panel and frames).
uneasyrider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 17:27   #1628

I wasn't clear. I bought a GLA and comet to replace my fortuner, due to pressure from HQ. I still feel the need to scratch the off-road itch with some amount of practicality, which I think the Roxx will provide.
Oh ok. Understood now
And nice cars you have there. If it's just to scratch the off road itch, then 3D Thar is better. In looks department 3D Thar wins hands down compared to Jimny/ROXX.
But as you said, considering practicality, Roxx might fulfill it.

There is no replacement to the Fortuner, unless we go upwards in terms of pricing. Given a choice, I would have replaced my fortuner with another one.
Yes, as many say it's difficult to replace Innova/Fortuner/Endeavour once we get accustomed to it.

Wishing you the best and hoping you will get your practical 4x4 vehicle in ROXX. Do keep us updated

Last edited by DLC5005 : 16th August 2024 at 17:29.
Old 16th August 2024, 18:51   #1629

a really poor explanation of the weird hump on the door... not convinced on the explanation...

originalamit is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 19:17   #1630

Originally Posted by originalamit View Post
a really poor explanation of the weird hump on the door... not convinced on the explanation
In all fairness, there's nothing he could've said. Having to have to explain a design is perhaps the worst spot you can put a designer on. Imagine being a designer, pitching your design in a meeting, and feeling the need to say "Let me explain".

Mahindra shouldn't have agreed to do this, in my opinion.
BullettuPaandi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 19:17   #1631

This is how the international media dubs the Thar ROXX!

Mahindra Thar Roxx Is A 4-Door Wrangler Clone Starting At $15.5K In India
While this is Mahindra’s first crack at a five-door Thar, the styling’s blatant nods to the Wrangler harken back to the ’40s—when they were cranking out Willys Jeeps in India under license. Some things never change, do they?
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-screenshot-20240816-191431.png

Link:
volkman10 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 19:38   #1632

Originally Posted by highwaypatrol View Post
Did you guys notice how half of the wheel well cladding opens up along with the door (second row door) ?
During a typical Kerala monsoon, the wheel well and cladding of your vehicle can get extremely muddy, and the story is the same throughout the subcontinent.

Picture this: you drive your family to a wedding venue on a rainy day, pull up to the portico, and as the rear door opens, it releases caked mud and dirt. It can even soil the attire of the rear-seat riding finance and prime ministers of our households! The Thar rocks indeed.

There's a Fiat ad, standard reference for queens vs vehicle designs:

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 16th August 2024 at 19:52.
sandeepmdas is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 20:29   #1633

Originally Posted by originalamit View Post
a really poor explanation of the weird hump on the door... not convinced on the explanation...

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=4r0JF3Kajoc
Exactly, these are all made up things to justify that hump/notch, just like Apple endorsed their notch in iPhone.

In one of the interviews he also mentioned that leatherette seats are better for cleaning so it is better suited for lifestyle vehicle, so in a way he is justifying white leatherette interior theme.

I would reiterate myself, Thar ROXX is purely a monetary exercise to let Mahindra gain market share in >12.5 lacs bracket. Mahindra mentioned they want to create a bigger portfolio based on Thar brand in 3-5 years and make Thar a mainstream brand for them.
varunswnt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 20:51   #1634

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
This is how the international media dubs the Thar ROXX
I'd like to see the look on the face of the Americans when someone tells them this is safer than an overpriced wrangler!
shortbread is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 21:31   #1635

Originally Posted by sandeepmdas View Post
During a typical Kerala monsoon, the wheel well and cladding of your vehicle can get extremely muddy, and the story is the same throughout the subcontinent.

Picture this: you drive your family to a wedding venue on a rainy day, pull up to the portico, and as the rear door opens, it releases caked mud and dirt. It can even soil the attire of the rear-seat riding finance and prime ministers of our households! The Thar rocks indeed.

There's a Fiat ad, standard reference for queens vs vehicle designs:
It comes standard in every Scorpio

But there is a rubber trim to keep the muck away, as long as one opens the door wide and gets down from it, its fine.

Although the ad looks like the car broke down and the queen was frustrated with it, considering its a Fiat, well , nothing to see here boys!
Kosfactor is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com