Old 15th August 2024, 23:34   #1576

Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar

Spotted couple of them outskirt of Bangalore today at 10 p. m. today. Side profile looks bit weird because of the rear quarter glass area design, otherwise overall stance is pretty good. Both were doing pretty good speed looked very stable.
Latheesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 23:38   #1577

Originally Posted by sharmanova View Post
Official pricing is out:

Petrol:
MX1 RWD: ₹12.99L
MX3 RWD AT: ₹14.99L

Diesel:
MX1 RWD: ₹13.99L
MX3 RWD: ₹15.99L
MX5 RWD: ₹16.99L
AX3L RWD: ₹16.99L
AX5L RWD AT: ₹18.99L
AX7L RWD: ₹18.99L

Prices of other variants will be revealed soon. Can anyone elaborate how the pricing of MX5 and AX3L is same in Diesel RWD avatar, with the latter having more features than the former?

Test drives start from Sep 14th.
Bookings open from Oct 3rd.
Deliveries commencing in Dusshera.
Mahindra o Mahindra, why no 4x4 Petrol Manual? Think of your loyal Delhi base which is forced to not drive 2 year old diesels because of ever stringent emission norms - BS 6, 7, …., 20,….. x, …..,( takes in co2 and gives out water and crude oil).
Give us a 4x4 which can be driven for 10 years.
starlord is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 23:42   #1578

Very apt time for the launch, when most of the major cities are experiencing heavy water logging and sedan/crossovers/pseudo-SUV owners are already wanting to have an SUV with better water wading capabilities.
No better salesperson to market a proper SUV than the raingods themselves.The water wading capability slide in the launch presentation also hammers in this point.

(PS - Last year, same month I was almost sold on the Virtus, but M&M had the rain gods on their side who changed my mind from Virtus to ScorpioN)
Old 16th August 2024, 00:19   #1579

447 litre boot space as per the Autocar video and if loaded till roof the boot space is 644 litres. Boot space will be plenty enough for a family of 5. Can still add a luggage rack if required to amp up the style quotient as well.

whencut86 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 01:24   #1580

I am curious about the availability of variants in Petrol with manual transmission. Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-gvaqhlxw8aadcbe.jpeg

Above picture shows only 2 variants. MX1 and AX5 in petrol manual. So there are no MX3, AX3L, AX5L and AX7L Petrol Manuals?? They should have offered something between MX1 and MX5 (12.99 - 16.49 is quite the strech) They have offered Diesel Manual in every trim, why haven't they done the same for Petrol?
I along with couple of friends in my circle are fond of butch vehicles. Since we would be swapping alloys along with other mods as soon as vehicle is taken out of the showroom, it doesn't make sense to go for top end model especially when Mods itself are gonna run upwards of 10 Lakh. Just the Fuel alloys plus tyres swap cost 2.5 Lakh. Lift kit is another lakh. And these mods are essential even when you buy top model so why bother with top end. Base seems too bare bones. And MX5 seems strech. I guess MX1 is way to go provided they deliver within a year.

Last edited by Flyingdutchman : 16th August 2024 at 01:39.
Flyingdutchman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 01:33   #1581

It's disappointing to see Mahindra's focus on 2wd variants with something like the Thar.

I have a 3 door diesel MT convertible top 4wd and I cringe every time I see a 2wd Thar on the roads. But I don't blame them because 2wd is where they'll get their volumes.

They should come up with an "adventure edition" or something. With 4wd + M/T or A/T and have the harman kardon sound system, panoramic sunroof, black/brown seats and 18 inch wheels for the people who like to take the roads less taken (or no roads at all). Some of the extra gimmicky stuff can be left out for the city slicker variants.

The practicality of the 5 door and the better suspension are the 2 things I miss on my 3 door Thar. The roof gets opened only in the winter so I won't miss it that much.
abhinavsureka is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 02:27   #1582

As good the package is i just cannot come on terms with the roof design it looks hideous, out of place and a era too old.
Mahindra should have done something for the roof it has spoiled a great looking SUV, I don’t think so there can be any aftermarket fix to this as well.
Rajjaiswal92 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 02:35   #1583

Originally Posted by yd_gli View Post
...I can't put my finger on why but this gives an impression of a people mover and not an off-roader/lifestyle vehicle.
The 5 door scores very well on the practicality front, but what is lacking is the aesthetics part especially in the side view.

The design lines are not continuous and hence not pleasing to the eye. The first window is fine, the second window has that extra fitting line on its top and the third window triangular opening is much smaller compared to the first two. The symmetry and proportions are lacking and it makes it look like the windows belong to three different vehicles.

They could have styled the windows with a smooth flowing roof line and consistent rear window size appearance like in the quick edit below to illustrate the same.
A black masking of that extra body paint line above the second window along with the addition of body paint strip around the third triangular window will give it that much needed consistency in proportions and better aesthetics.
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-screenshot_20240816_022113_chrome.jpg  

Last edited by for_cars1 : 16th August 2024 at 02:48.
for_cars1 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 05:56   #1584

Originally Posted by for_cars1 View Post
The 5 door scores very well on the practicality front, but what is lacking is the aesthetics part especially in the side view.
True, I can't get over the size of the front and back doors, the second door looks like a jugaad, and this is where the design team should have focused, as the back door is the bone of contention for 5 door Thar.

Look at the aperture just above the side step, it is small, just about a foot wide ladies with saree will have a trying time getting inside?

Let's hope in real usage it's not a issue.
Vinod_nair is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 07:00   #1585

Originally Posted by Vinod_nair View Post
True, I can't get over the size of the front and back doors, the second door looks like a jugaad, and this is where the design team should have focused, as the back door is the bone of contention for 5 door Thar.

Look at the aperture just above the side step, it is small, just about a foot wide ladies with saree will have a trying time getting inside?

Let's hope in real usage it's not a issue.
Did you guys notice how half of the wheel well cladding opens up along with the door (second row door) ? It looks like a total Indian jugaad by Pratap Bose and team. How on earth can a design head approves such a design? This is another reason why he should be fired.
highwaypatrol is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 07:26   #1586

Mahindra released videos of MX5, AX3L and AX7L

MX5

AX3L

AX7L

Last edited by SteeringWheel : 16th August 2024 at 07:30. Reason: Couldn't embed video links
SteeringWheel is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 08:13   #1587

Originally Posted by highwaypatrol View Post
Did you guys notice how half of the wheel well cladding opens up along with the door (second row door) ? It looks like a total Indian jugaad by Pratap Bose and team. How on earth can a design head approves such a design? This is another reason why he should be fired.
This reminds me of the company in which I worked which started the marketing slogan Simple as the world had an impression that our products are very complex. I think Mahindra has to follow the Simple word in all their designs and not over engineer. Even the XUV 5OO has unnecessary curves where it is not required. In the case of ROXX, why they cannot make the roof line and door line parallel lines like in any SUV in the world. Why make it obvious to the world that it is Indian Jugaad. We need to make our design for international standards. Just look at the picture below between wrangler and ROXX.ROXX is trying to tell the world that it is Indian designed car. We could have done a better job. Anyways, it is my personal opinion and I am a great fan of Mahindra with ownership of top end Scorpio for 12 years.
Mahindra Thar Roxx is the official name of the 5-door Thar-img_2729.jpeg  

Last edited by Mystic : 16th August 2024 at 08:18.
Mystic is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 08:17   #1588

The kind of excitement Mahindra cars generate, just unbelievable. Looks at the pages post the price announcement. It is really good that the product and the sales also meet the expectations. I am sure they will acquire some European or American car manufacturers very soon. The earlier one did not go very well but they are more experienced, more confident and surely smarter. Another feather in our cap like BT shares for Airtel.
Old 16th August 2024, 08:30   #1589

Rip out that grill, replace with the Thar grill or similar, paint the entire rear quarter black (or put a vinyl), and lo and behold, a beautiful 5 door SUV.

Mahindra seems to have overdone the look of the vehicles and it lacks finesse.

Nevertheless, considering differentiated body type, the amenities, practicality with 5 doors, tough build and claimed improved suspension, this is a great bet for Mahindra. Will surely eat into the pies of soft-roaders like Creta, Seltos, Hyryder etc.
cityslicker86 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 08:33   #1590

All great with pricing and overall design except for the c pillar. My only gripe is the white upholstery. Mahindra need to get over these white shades trying to please masses and start provding colors worthy of a proper SUV for what it is really meant to be. We know this is not Maybach. Prefer something like Scorpio N atleast. Just my thoughts.

Last edited by ags82 : 16th August 2024 at 08:36.
ags82 is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com