Old 20th December 2007, 11:45   #16

Originally Posted by BlackPearl View Post
may I know why not?? Fiat is one of the most prestigious companies in Europe and has won the coveted Eurpean car of the year award more than any other company. Then what is wrong with Fiat for which somebody wont pay 9-10 lacs?
I agree that Fiat is doing great in Europe now. It has won the most no of "European Car of the year" awards, no doubt.

But what is its image in India? Fiat has done so much to tarnish its image here that it actually needs no competitor to bad mouth it. I really doubt if people will be willing to put in their hard earned million rupees into the Fiat basket, no matter how good the car is. I have read certain rave reviews of Linea and I was hoping that Fiat would price it competitively, but TOI thinks otherwise. But, as Finney says, it is TOI.

And this comes from a very happy Palio owner (close to 4 years now).
Old 20th December 2007, 11:55   #17

what ?? palio will have swift's diesel engine and it will be priced @ 4.5 lakhs only ?

guys i cant belive on my eyes plz confirm
Old 20th December 2007, 11:58   #18

Originally Posted by nicejits View Post
what ?? palio will have swift's diesel engine and it will be priced @ 4.5 lakhs only ?
On the contrary, Swift has Fiat's diesel engine. Palio would thus have it's own engine !
Old 20th December 2007, 12:02   #19

Well, I have put in half million in Palio 1.6 sport. I am happy with the way it has been serviced till date and I found this to be very very much reliable.

So what next comes to my mind is why not a million on Fiat in next 2 years? Bravo although sounds tooooo much for 12 to 14.

Linea is the best option I would opt for.

The Croma / Idea are also a nice cars.
Old 20th December 2007, 12:11   #20

Fiat - 7 Launches - 24 months

Had decided on the Palio Stile 1.6 (my earlier thread 5 Lakhs & few Thousands more) when I saw this in today's Economic times.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...ow/2635720.cms

Feb 2008 - 1.3 Palio Multijet Diesel - 4.5 Lakhs
May 2008 - Cinquecento (CBU Import) - 12 Lakhs
July 2008 - Bravo - 15 Lakhs
Sept 2008 - Linea - 10 Lakhs
Mid 2009 - Grande Punto - 5 Lakhs

CBU Programme
---------------
Ferrari - PRICELESS!!!!
Alpha Romeo

Now question is Do I wait till Jan and pick up the Palio Stile 1.6 (no delivery now) or wait till Feb and get the 1.3 Multijet Palio !!!

Vivek
Old 20th December 2007, 12:23   #21

Originally Posted by scorp 1 View Post
On the contrary, Swift has Fiat's diesel engine. Palio would thus have it's own engine !
Then i guess palio diesel will eat swift diesel's sale ... whst abt maruti and fiat's agreement , Did maruti guys not though of this problem when they took fiat's diesel engine ?
Old 20th December 2007, 12:34   #22

Not very good news, from my perspective. Was hoping the GP would be here by mid-08 as announced earlier. Gonna be a long wait till mid-09, and the design won't be fresh any more then :(
Old 20th December 2007, 12:40   #23

Originally Posted by Firebird View Post
Well, I have put in half million in Palio 1.6 sport. I am happy with the way it has been serviced till date and I found this to be very very much reliable.

So what next comes to my mind is why not a million on Fiat in next 2 years?
You would. But how many others will put in their hard earned million on Fiat brand? Come to think of it, Fiat does not enjoy such a great brand equity in India as the Hondas and Toyotas.

I am unable to understand Fiat's strategy here. On one hand, it is trying to project Palio as a bread and butter car (if you were to call it like that, going by the sales figures). It indeed is a good strategy to bring in the 1.3 JTD, which is long due. But on the other hand, it is trying to convince people that it is a niche brand. (500 for 10-12 lakhs, Bravo for 12-14 lakhs). Is this not sending a confusing signal to people? Is Fiat trying to put its two feet in two ends of the spectrum?

If you look at it, even Yamaha is doing something similar with all those 125cc machines trying to lug around alongside those R1s. No wonder these two companies have found synergies in the motobike space

PS: I have invested in products of both these companies....
Old 20th December 2007, 12:47   #24

Originally Posted by scorp 1 View Post
Source : ET 12/20/2007
Author : Adil Jal Darukhanawala
pfft..Looks like Adil had more "Daru" along with his "Khana", last night

Isn't he the chap from Overdrive??
Old 20th December 2007, 13:48   #25

wait for the 1.3 Multijet but of course, awesome engine, new transmission, great mileage, what else do you want ??
Old 20th December 2007, 13:48   #26

Originally Posted by RAINMAKER View Post
Now question is Do I wait till Jan and pick up the Palio Stile 1.6 (no delivery now) or wait till Feb and get the 1.3 Multijet Palio !!!

Vivek
Simple - If you can, wait until Feb '08 and pick up the gem cheers:
Old 20th December 2007, 14:06   #27

Wow, I thought Fiat was dead.
12 and 15 lakhs look pretty pricey. Do you think the market is willing to pay that much for the same brand that made the Bombay taxis.
Not saying they are bad cars, but I just don’t see people paying six figures for a Fiat.
I hope the Grande Punto comes sooner, it’s a neat car.
Old 20th December 2007, 14:16   #28

Originally Posted by nicejits View Post

guys i cant belive on my eyes plz confirm
PLease remeber when a paper quotes the price of the car (to be launched/still unconfirmed from the company)it is generally the "price of the base car"
no insurnace ,registration and sometimes even octroi not included.
Add to that the fact that that would be the base model too
so i expect the car to be priced maybe slightly less than the diesl SWIFT
(maybe 5.-5.25 Lacks and that too its base model!)
Old 20th December 2007, 14:18   #29

2 same thread within 3 hours only

See this my friend:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...24-months.html
Old 20th December 2007, 14:35   #30

Im gonna book the " Cinquecento". when they open booking/start taking orders for the cbu import