Old 18th September 2008, 14:47   #856

So ,

1) What happens to the 1.3 Ivtec we were talking about?

2) What will happen to majority of the indian public who are going behind the idsi model because of the mileage advantage?

Can he 1.5 ivect deliver the same / more mileage as the idsi?

Any reports on mileage front for the 1.5 ivtec?
Old 18th September 2008, 14:52   #857

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
ABS and airbags standard on expected 2 varients (s m/t and a/t)
1.5 i-vtec, 118 ps
14.3 kg-m
Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post
On the other hand, 118ps and 14.3kgm is just brilliant!!! Thats around 78.6ps/ltr which i think is the highest output for an NA engine under 25 lakhs.

I just hope it isn't too heavy.
118 ps = 118/1.0149 = 116.26 bhp.
Considering the engine at ( 73.0 mm bore, 89.4 mm stroke ) 1497cc, we get the specific output at 77.66 bhp/ltr. This will be highest on the lower side of Accord ( present generation manages more than this )

IMHO, this is pretty high for a 1.5 ltr engine with Indian fuel. The Fit in US will make 117 bhp. So I doubt this figure. However, going by the present standard of 180+ bhp from the 2354cc Honda Accord engine, it might be possible. The Fit in US will weigh 1130 kg, so this car can also be expected to be a bit heavier.

I hope they manage to properly tune it up as I have noted that in case of Accord, the latest generation has lost on fuel efficiency count.

Edit : I wrote that present generation Accord manages more than 77.66 bhp/ltr. Actually, it does not. The Accord manages 117.35 bhp out of 2354cc engine that makes it 75.33 bhp/ltr. So this engine in the 116.26 bhp format will make the highest specific output till approximately Rs. 25 lakh market.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 18th September 2008 at 15:04. Reason: Updating my earlier post.
Old 18th September 2008, 14:56   #858

Hey Sidindica where did you get these pictures ? Awesome photographs. Also something odd here, the pictures show Automatic Climate Control, but the City released in Thailand didn't have ACC. Also the model released in Thailand had right hand drive, this is LH drive.

I can only pray that the version launched in India has Automatic Climate Control, maybe Honda might feel pressure from the SX4 and introduce it as an option for the Indian release.
Old 18th September 2008, 15:00   #859

These photographs also show side curtain airbags. Looks to be an European concept release vehicle. They can't afford to launch a vehicle with side curtain airbags for the price they launched in Thailand.
Old 18th September 2008, 15:09   #860

Originally Posted by hrishig View Post
So ,

1) What happens to the 1.3 Ivtec we were talking about?

2) What will happen to majority of the indian public who are going behind the idsi model because of the mileage advantage?

Can he 1.5 ivect deliver the same / more mileage as the idsi?

Any reports on mileage front for the 1.5 ivtec?
1.There are hardly any talks about 1.3 VTEC. Though i would like Honda to launch it.

2. If im not mistaken i read somewhere that 1.5 VTEC does deliver good mileage this is as per Jazz 1.5 VTEC reports. Obviously you can expect slight drop for City since its a sedan. But im sure 1.5 VTEC wont disappoint in mileage.
Old 18th September 2008, 15:11   #861

While many people may not find the new grill very pleasing, I find it to be very refreshing approch to the grill design. Several planes blend very well to form flowing lines. Also, potential of making it in body colour is always present which can further improve the visual effect. Other than the grill, rest of the design is derived or borrowed.
Old 18th September 2008, 15:39   #862

Originally Posted by suman View Post
That sounds a tad low to me, especially since it comes with iVtec & (I could be wrong) I presume the high end one would have ABS, Airbags & Leather?

On second thoughts, I'm sure I'm wrong - can't imagine Honda becoming VFM overnight in India
10lac OTR would be my guess.

some good news:

1.5 i-vtec, 118 ps
14.3 kg-m
This model comes with audio with i-pod aux-in and usb port but NO CD PLAYER.
steering mounted audio controls and a seperate stereo remote standard .
automatic has paddle shift
it has beige interiors

the bad news:
no alloy wheels fitted from the factory.

soft press launch-september 25/26

cars will be available for display at diwali period or mid-november, at the time of commercial launch.
So one can buy those gorgeous alloys from them later?

great pics of new honda city
Would look wow in red with black interior.
Old 18th September 2008, 17:08   #863

Originally Posted by autoenthusiast View Post
Hey Sidindica where did you get these pictures ? Awesome photographs. Also something odd here, the pictures show Automatic Climate Control, but the City released in Thailand didn't have ACC. Also the model released in Thailand had right hand drive, this is LH drive.
Those pics are from Honda Europe press site, hence the LHD interiors and extra goodies. You need to register as a member of the press to download those hi-res images.
Old 18th September 2008, 17:35   #864

some good news:

1.5 i-vtec, 118 ps
14.3 kg-m
This model comes with audio with i-pod aux-in and usb port but NO CD PLAYER.
steering mounted audio controls and a seperate stereo remote standard .
automatic has paddle shift
it has beige interiors

the bad news:
no alloy wheels fitted from the factory.
Hey Sid, a dealer here in Blr also confirmed the same details. I believe the ground clearance may not have increased.

But an interesting feature that is coming is the real time mileage indicator that would also indicate how many KMs the car would run on the fuel that is available.

The paddle shift that is coming is like the one in Accord (would work in D mode also, unlike the one in Civic where it works only in S mode).

Another interesting bit is that we would be getting the white color option
Old 18th September 2008, 19:39   #865

no, those pics were not from the European honda press site but from,

Honda City (2009) with pictures and wallpapers
Old 18th September 2008, 19:48   #866

Considering the engine at ( 73.0 mm bore, 89.4 mm stroke ) 1497cc, we get the specific output at 77.66 bhp/ltr. This will be highest on the lower side of Accord ( present generation manages more than this )
Accord is 180ps (177.3bhp) and 2354cc so specific output is 177.3 / 2.354 = 75.31bhp/ltr, which is still lower than the 77.66bhp/ltr you calculated for the City.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 18th September 2008 at 19:49.
Old 18th September 2008, 21:55   #867

Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post

Accord is 180ps (177.3bhp) and 2354cc so specific output is 177.3 / 2.354 = 75.31bhp/ltr, which is still lower than the 77.66bhp/ltr you calculated for the City.
I did edit my post as soon as I verefied the fact. The updated/edited part is in bold in the following quote of post of mine.

How this happened is this.
Accord in US is available with 190 bhp engine ( along with 166 bhp from same engine ). Even after considering the figure as 190 ps i.e. 187.21 bhp, the specific output was coming out to be 79.52 bhp/ltr. Here I thought that in India, Honda has not detuned the engine and launched with the same state of tune. So I said that present generation Accord ( in India ) manages more. I soon verified this and updated my post.

Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post

Edit : I wrote that present generation Accord manages more than 77.66 bhp/ltr. Actually, it does not. The Accord manages 117.35 bhp ( here int the above post I have commited typing error, it must be 177.35 ) out of 2354cc engine that makes it 75.33 bhp/ltr. So this engine in the 116.26 bhp format will make the highest specific output till approximately Rs. 25 lakh market.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 18th September 2008 at 21:57.
Old 18th September 2008, 23:26   #868

Holy moly!

Those pics look positively drool worthy. Thank God.

The current Jazz+boot City ruined the proportionate looks of the OHC. Good to see them bring back proper sedan styling. Kinda sad to see them slap on the Accord grill on the City though. I'm a firm believer in every car having it's own identity and thus this policy (especially Skoda's - I saw a Superb today and I swore it was a Laura until I spotted the badging) annoys me to no end.

But the day I'll be celebrating is the launch of the Type-R here. I can dream, can't I?
Old 19th September 2008, 16:09   #869

Launch announced - Sept .25, Thursday, by Honda CEO Takeo Fukui in Delhi

Last edited by StarScream : 19th September 2008 at 16:10.
Old 19th September 2008, 17:00   #870

Originally Posted by StarScream View Post
Launch announced - Sept .25, Thursday, by Honda CEO Takeo Fukui in Delhi
Good news Starscream. cheers: Did you got some more info on the same like pricing etc.??