Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

Old 8th February 2009, 15:30   #91

Originally Posted by HPP View Post
Please read the thread. Everything from your post is covered and a lot more. This is also covered.. but a full road course is the goal, with the 1/4 mile track being much easier to implement quickly/early on.
Also a 1/4th mile track is more feasible econimically for a start-up..!!

HPP - Get well soon !!!

Also as far as my progress goes, i have started enquiring about the ATVs.
Got the rates for Polaris and some Chinese ATV.
Polaris is around 2.75 Lacs and Chinese/Taiwanese is around 1 Lacs.
Need to get some more info. Also can anyone tell me how much land would be required if we want to build the drag strip. i think length of strip would be around 1.2 KM. Please correct me if i wrong.
Old 8th February 2009, 23:28   #92

Though I am not the right person, lets do a small math.

staging = 50m
drag strip = 402m
braking= this is the one I am not sure of. In the recent held drag race in hyderabad, the braking distance was 800m but some one did comment that 1000m is an ideal thing. But the 800m was sufficient to stop shabbir's supra but somebody said heard a Nissan GTR guy wanted 1000m for braking and hence he didnt participate.

So lets keep 1000m for braking to be on safe side. In all, the length could be 1.5KM, but if 1.2KM is sufficient, you will save a lot of money for 0.3km.

Raj.
Old 9th February 2009, 00:19   #93

No way a Nissan GTR will need 1000 mtrs to stop. According to what I heard that car was still being run in and hence did not take part.
Old 9th February 2009, 01:38   #94
HPP

Originally Posted by gonecase_01 View Post
Also a 1/4th mile track is more feasible econimically for a start-up..!!

HPP - Get well soon !!!

Also as far as my progress goes, i have started enquiring about the ATVs.
Got the rates for Polaris and some Chinese ATV.
Polaris is around 2.75 Lacs and Chinese/Taiwanese is around 1 Lacs.
Need to get some more info. Also can anyone tell me how much land would be required if we want to build the drag strip. i think length of strip would be around 1.2 KM. Please correct me if i wrong.
Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post

staging = 50m
drag strip = 402m
braking= this is the one I am not sure of. In the recent held drag race in hyderabad, the braking distance was 800m but some one did comment that 1000m is an ideal thing. But the 800m was sufficient to stop shabbir's supra but somebody said heard a Nissan GTR guy wanted 1000m for braking and hence he didnt participate.

So lets keep 1000m for braking to be on safe side. In all, the length could be 1.5KM, but if 1.2KM is sufficient, you will save a lot of money for 0.3km.

Raj.
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
No way a Nissan GTR will need 1000 mtrs to stop. According to what I heard that car was still being run in and hence did not take part.
GTR has good stopping power, I'm sure it's ability to stop within the designated space was not the reasoning behind not competing.

About the length of the track in total. All tracks are different length overall, but here is the tech info from one US track, and a link to another site with information below this info:

Total Length: 3600 ft
Track Width: 60 ft
Elevation: 15 ft
Track Surface: 190 ft concrete pad, Asphalt after (Both new Spring '05)
Shutdown Area: 2300 ft (Repaved '04)+ 2000ft additional grass runoff area
Burnout Area: 100 ft
Pit Area: 50+ Acres
Tower: 3 story located on RIGHT side of the starting line
Staging Lanes: 5 lanes 1000 ft long, 2 jr dragster lanes 300 ft long
Race Fuels: Sunoco Blue, Purple & alcohol
Guardrail: Double Armco steel railing
Equipment: Vacuum truck, jet dryer, & Dorothy
Emergency Equipment: On permises BLS ambulance
Seating: 1700 Spectator side, 1000 pit side, VIP suite 30 capacity

Dragstrip Layout

So according to all this, the length of the land should be in the 4000ft(1.22km) range at a minimum to allow space around the track(shutdown length will be under 1/2 mile). However I did read that some tracks allow 1/2(2640ft or .8km) a mile up to 3/4 mile(3960ft or 1.21km) for the Shutdown area. I'm sure the longer shutdown area is for top fuel dragsters, so I doubt we'll need that for a while in India. But somewhere in the 4510ft(1.37km) range may be the right choice(1/2 mile shutdown area).
Old 9th February 2009, 11:38   #95

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post

staging = 50m
drag strip = 402m

Raj.
So if i calculate using 1.5 KM as the length and 200 m as the width of the overall area, it comes out to 0.3sq km and when i convert this to acres it comes out to around 75 acres . That is a lot of land.

Anyways as far as my idea is concerned i have checked on the following link and it comes around 7 acres, so i guess for a fun dirt track around 10-15 acres of land would be sufficient.

Wikimapia - Let's describe the whole world!

So all those team-bhpians having 10-15 acres of land around mumbai please come forward...
Old 9th February 2009, 11:53   #96

Starting up a private drag strip in BLR!! sounds sweet!! But accept it guys the cops will ruin that place. And more over ask you to close it down at 11.00 PM dead. so whats the point? they got to change this cranky rule they have got. Thats killing the life of a damn good city with a lot of business potential. but as always, "who cares?"
Old 9th February 2009, 23:00   #97
DKG

70 acres is spot on. Right size for a drag strip, offroad park and go karting etc
Old 9th February 2009, 23:57   #98
HPP

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
70 acres is spot on. Right size for a drag strip, offroad park and go karting etc
But will need a lot more if a road course is part of the future pans.
Old 10th February 2009, 09:52   #99

You missed what I posted earlier. Waterford Hills, one of the most challenging roadcourses in the country, done in under 75 acres:

Google Maps
Old 10th February 2009, 10:04   #100
HPP

Originally Posted by ananthkamath View Post
You missed what I posted earlier. Waterford Hills, one of the most challenging roadcourses in the country, done in under 75 acres:

Google Maps
Whats the length of the track? Looks technical, but not fast. Up by me, we have Brainard and Road America. Brainard is 2.9 miles, but the front strait is around a 1/2 mile rolling into a 140mph banked turn(FUN!!!!!!!!!). And Road America is around 4 miles of heaven.

I'd like to build something with some scale, that may attract international racing series. However, I do like to know that getting away with 75 acres is achievable. I know some tracks have around 300-400 acres.
Old 10th February 2009, 10:48   #101

Whats the length of the track? Looks technical, but not fast. Up by me, we have Brainard and Road America. Brainard is 2.9 miles, but the front strait is around a 1/2 mile rolling into a 140mph banked turn(FUN!!!!!!!!!). And Road America is around 4 miles of heaven.

I'd like to build something with some scale, that may attract international racing series. However, I do like to know that getting away with 75 acres is achievable. I know some tracks have around 300-400 acres.
Then may be you will see me losing feasiblity in the acreage itself yaar...
I dont think getting this much land (i.e 75 acres) would be possible for me.

Now i can put my baby up for adoption. But wait can i setup a dirt track for fun in around 10 acres? Cant I?

Last edited by gonecase_01 : 10th February 2009 at 10:49.
Old 11th February 2009, 11:53   #102
HPP

Originally Posted by gonecase_01 View Post
Then may be you will see me losing feasiblity in the acreage itself yaar...
I dont think getting this much land (i.e 75 acres) would be possible for me.

Now i can put my baby up for adoption. But wait can i setup a dirt track for fun in around 10 acres? Cant I?
Yes, I'm sure you can make a dirt track that would be fun within 10 acres.
Old 11th February 2009, 12:42   #103

Yes, I'm sure you can make a dirt track that would be fun within 10 acres.
Thats what even i am thinking... lets hope i get appropriate land for it.

Update on the Track Course:

We are planning to use stones and concrete for creating the framework for the terrain, on which we will add 1 feet of mud/soil.

Any comments on the idea??
Old 11th February 2009, 13:36   #104

Check this forum for setting up mud tracks

Dirt Track Racing - The Dirt Forum, Dirt Track Tech, Dirt Track Racing.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com