Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 30th June 2014, 15:43   #46

re: Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga

Originally Posted by JoseVijay View Post

Hope we will soon have some side profile pics as well..
Here are some side profile pictures.
Courtesy - motortrend
Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-bentleysuvprototypefrontthreequarters.jpg  

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-bentleysuvprototyperearthreequarters.jpg  

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-bentleysuvprototypesideview.jpg  

naveen.raju is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th August 2014, 15:28   #47

Bentley has codenamed this SUV as ' FALCON '

However there is no official word on the final name for the production model.
Old 13th January 2015, 11:11   #48

Bentayga is the name of Bentley's first SUV.

“Bentayga is a name that reflects what we know our SUV will do better than any other car in the world – combine the best automotive luxury with outstanding performance to take the Bentley experience to new environments”, Wolfgang Dürheimer, Chairman and CEO of Bentley Motors, comments.

The natural world, along with the company’s founder, inspired its name. Crowning the Northern Hemisphere, to the north of Bentley’s birthplace in England, is the dramatic beauty of the Taiga, the world’s largest transcontinental snowforest. To the south, the rugged peak of the Roque Bentayga in the subtropical Canary Islands draws attention from all directions and a challenging climb rewards with spectacular panoramic views of a rich and diverse landscape.
Press Release

Bentayga
Old 14th January 2015, 13:06   #49

Bentley has officially stated that their first luxury SUV will be name the "Bentayga". The SUV concept that was initially named the EXP-9F, is the British car maker's attempt to "combine pinnacle luxury and performance."

Link to Team-BHP news article

Last edited by Tushar : 14th January 2015 at 13:08.
Old 14th January 2015, 14:44   #50

Originally Posted by Tushar View Post
Bentley has officially stated that their first luxury SUV will be name the "Bentayga".
[/center]
Am I the only one who found the name funny?

> What do you drive man?
> I drive a 'Bentagya'..

Not cool!
man_of_steel is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 14th January 2015, 14:49   #51

Originally Posted by man_of_steel View Post

> What do you drive man?
> I drive a 'Bentagya'..

Not cool!
Nope, save for a few "geniuses" at Bentley, I'm sure just about everyone finds this name repulsive.
Tushar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2015, 19:09   #52

Re: Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga

> What do you drive man?
> I drive a 'Bentagya'..

Not cool!
It's better than saying " I drive a Pagani hyuyuyyaha".
Judging by the aesthetics of the concept that Bentley came up with and the fact that it is a Bentley Q7, 'Bentley tah Gaya'. Would be interesting to see if it can beat the Range Rover SVR.
Old 14th January 2015, 19:49   #53

Knowing what "Bantai" means in Hindi, I hope to hear this, "Bhai, Bentley Bentayga (bantai ka) Gaadi Hai"

But, if Skoda can dare to launch their "Laura" here, Bentayga seems better.

The production version (unless it's just to cover the test car up) looks better than the concept.
Old 14th January 2015, 20:53   #54

They do seem to have got rid of some of the rather awkward lines. Whilst large wardrobes may provide the inspiration for Bentley, RR, etc, they are adept at making them into beautiful large wardrobes.

I'm not entirely convinced by this but, should anyone want to give me one I certainly won't refuse.
Old 16th January 2015, 07:45   #55

> I drive a 'Bentagya'..
Is that a typo or did you real mean to say 'Bentagya'? Since the name is a bit weird, I am not able to make out.

Apparently, its named after ‘Roque Bentayga', a rugged peak in the Canary Islands.
deetjohn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2015, 10:08   #56

Originally Posted by deetjohn View Post
Is that a typo or did you real mean to say 'Bentagya'? Since the name is a bit weird, I am not able to make out.
It was a typo! Infact, I never realized that the typo happened until you pointed out!

The name is weird enough to care though! But who am I to complain? My country has a bike named 'Mojo'!

Last edited by man_of_steel : 16th January 2015 at 10:12.
Old 16th January 2015, 11:26   #57

The new Q7 has just been unveiled; and this will be the perfect 'one-up' from the Q. Also, I think being ridiculously ugly is becoming a per-requisite for costing a bomb and being luxurious. The GL is the only exception I think. That machine is handsome!

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
It's better than saying " I drive a Pagani hyuyuyyaha".
IF I had one, I'd just stop at Pagani, mate.

It was a typo! Infact, I never realized that the typo happened until you pointed out!

The name is weird enough to care though! But who am I to complain? My country has a bike named 'Mojo'!
The name is very very weird indeed. Sounds like an anti-inflammatory ointment. That said, I'm glad they didn't follow VW or Toyota and call it the 'Cross Continental'. Would that have been better?

Cartman is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th March 2015, 07:04   #58

Bentley Bentayga sheds the fake body panels and now only with the fake head and tail lamp decals.

It's reported to have a V8 and W12 engines and an hybrid version. They promise it will perform on and off road capable of a top speed of 200mph.

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2016bentleybentaygasuvcsp1.jpg

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2016bentleybentaygasuvcsp2.jpg

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2016bentleybentaygasuvcsp4.jpg

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2016bentleybentaygasuvcsp35.jpg

Courtesy - Carscoop
naveen.raju is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th May 2015, 07:13   #59

Bentayga interior teaser. Comes with headup display, night vision, touch sensitive start/stop button and many more.

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2015bentleysuv1.jpg

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2015bentleysuv2.jpg

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2015bentleysuv3.jpg

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2015bentleysuv4.jpg

Bentley EXP 9 F concept SUV. EDIT, named Bentayga-2015bentleysuv5.jpg

Source - youtube
naveen.raju is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th May 2015, 20:15   #60

Is it just me or does the Bentayga look really bland? I get those are fake lights all around and maybe with the real lights looks will improve. But the overall shape of the SUV seems really dated. Compared to a new gen RR or a Cayenne or evn an AMG GL this really seems ordinary, which a Bentley should not.

Last edited by ashwin1224 : 11th May 2015 at 20:16.