Team-BHP - A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report

-   Long-Term Ownership Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/)
-   -   A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/124525-solemn-promise-chevrolet-spark-m200-41k-kms-report.html)

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02782.jpg

NOTICE: This introduction is from a Child's view point(was 8th back then). Thanks for your patience!:)

Summer 2008, Dad and I used to ferry mommy to her work place in our dear old 99 Matiz. A Cute, Little, Chunky Chevy Spark parked in a green grass lawn covered in Ice Blue Metallic was staring at us with a pleasing baby smile you might have seen above!

Situations Changed. Days Passed. Matiz Aged. Progress had to be made. Other cutie had to come, why not it be a Matiz again? I was making a relevant point to mom and dad. Buy a Matiz in Chevy disguise.

I tried to please mommy by showing various adverts in The Hindu, stating “30K off on Chevy Spark, Buy yours now!” She was convinced and had a discussion with Dad. Let’s go check it out, said she! Gosh! That was FAST!

We head for the Chevrolet Show floor but never expect the eye candy we were about to have. Mint Green, Victory Red, and Blazing Silver colored Sparks were lined up in a fashionable manner. That was brilliant. We moved on to the Manager’s Desk. To our surprise dad’s client was the Manager. They were discussing some elderly stuff so I was interested in checking the Spark. The time has indeed come, went to the Mint Green Spark felt the surfaces, played with the knobs, took a look at the sun glass holder, the passenger side under seat tray about which I felt fancied about. I can still memorize that time, I was checking out the under seat tray and my mom and dad were calling me for the test drive.

We did a fast test-drive in a Red Spark LT; I was toying around with the power window switches in the backseat anyway! Dad seemed to like the car, while mom was already taking a look at the color palette. She tried hard to decide between Cashmere and Platinum. So she wanted to see both of them in person. They were ready to get us both the cars for “Color seeing” from their yard in a day’s time.

We went after 3 days, to check the colors. Platinum was zeroed. Were about to make the booking amount but they were ready to give us the car on the same day. I was about to explode!

Next stop? Accessories. I was checking out the accessories so actively that thrice I took the total show room upside down. After piling all the accessories at one place, I could see mom and dad making the necessary paper work and payment. Eh! Car’s ours now! I felt. More “mine” than “ours” though. He, the manager called me, asked me some questions which I don’t remember because my eyes were on the mighty maroon Corvette on his table! He handed me “I Love My Chevy” Soft Toy. I was kinda depressed as I was expecting something altogether. What was I expecting? :D

Still I don’t get how it all happened in a fraction of time: going there, taking test-drive, checking the color, getting the car. Anyways,the day of April 30th, 2008 was memorable and one heck of an experience though.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-tbhpor12001.jpg

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-tbhpor12002.jpg

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-tbhpor12003.jpg

^Background Pictures from chevrolet.co.uk

NOTICE: crazydriver please don’t beat me up for being inspired from your thread!

Friend: Wow, that’s a, err, Chev-ro-lett:Frustrati, right?
Me: Umm, a Chev-ro-lay Spark.
Friend: American, isn’t it?!
Me: You know it ain't. Grrrrrrr!
Friend: Why buy a car that winks at everyone?!
Me: Oh come on man!, they've stopped airing those commercials now. Why would I buy this car, you tell me.
Friend: Typical Indian people go by person-X's/colleagues suggestion(Everyone would have suggested us an Alto, I bet). But since your father wouldn't do that he gave the Spark a try, was convinced and bought it straight.

^Conversation between me and one of my friends on the day we have bought the car.

This conversation might seem high for our age but we were/are CAR FREAKS!
Example? Exchanging AUTOCAR Mags instead of School Notes!, Rip open our Matiz and put it back with Fevi-kwik!

Questions Faced:

Casual Passers: Mileage kitta dethi hai? Alto se bhi zyada? Oh oh!, Yeh, nano hai kya? (I cried all that night!)
Friends: Why buy the same car again?
Dad’s Colleagues: Saar, you must have bought the Swift instead. See I’ve bought the Swift for 6 and sold it off for 4.8. Resale Value!
Family: You have made a wrong decision when GM is all falling apart. (In 2009)

NOTICE: High resolution images can be opened in a new tab by clicking on the image. Thanks!

Exterior Winks and Smiles

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0449.jpg

Designing a good looking small car is a tough task. Redesigning a car that has earned the “98 World’s Most Beautiful Car” Title is tougher even. Designers at GM Daewoo have done a commendable job while bringing out this new M200 Matiz aka Spark. It doesn’t look anything from Terrestrial Space, but it doesn’t fade into the rest of the crowd either.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0420.jpg

The chunky headlamps, the creased bonnet lines, the subtle smile give a feel good form at the front. The raked front windshield astonishes you for its span. Either of the front doors is so huge, you’ll never find a problem with ingress, egress. You’ll notice the side lines originating from the indicators and terminating above the fuel filler cap. The ORVMs are an evolution from the ones on the M100 Matiz. They turn the other way around, which is quite useful.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0376.jpg

The rear is where designers have taken a bold step. Yes, the huge tails. My friend calls them a rip off from Nissan GT-R. And as GTO says, it adds character to the car. The fogs are integrated into the bumper itself. This Chevy comes in some very trendy shades, thanks to GM India. The Paint quality/depth is top notch and finish is good.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0527.jpg

Interior Makes You Go Cooperish

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02843.jpg

Circles. Yes, circles are what you see everywhere once you get inside. The general shape of dash, vents, knobs, Horn Pad and not to forget the steering wheel!! Etc; are all circular. Quality of materials is very good on the dash, steering wheel, grab handles. Everywhere else they are average. You’ll not find any miss aligned panels, thank god! But the power window stitches are BUILT to LAST. Finding a comfortable driving position is easy. Ergonomics are nothing to boast about or to ask about in a car of this size. But you’ll be OK.

You’ll not find bare pillars exposing paint from the inside. Everything is neatly tucked and covered with plastics. Much like False ceiling, Vinyl flooring and Wall papers to prevent loss of cooling in our AC rooms.
Silent from the Outside, Super Silent from the Inside

The NVH are so well taken care of, you don’t hear the engine pulling you. Feels much like you have some electric propulsion system underneath. The clutch pedal, the steering wheel, or any other mechanically associated instruments DONOT vibrate or rattle. But you’ll hear some rattles, squeaks in your long term.

Name:  DSC02786.PNG
Views: 9750
Size:  12.9 KB

5 years of Hell/Heaven?
So how does this Matiz fare? Flick able, Peppy, Comfortable, Compact, Extremely Silent are the words which are very appropriate.

Comfortable driving position? Check.
Light steering and clutch, comfortable pedal positioning? Absolutely.
995cc Engine? More than enough for city runs.
Good A/C cooling? Yes, respectably.
Comfortable for four? It is.
Adequate luggage space for short trips? Yea.
Spot on, Cheap to run and maintain? Yes.
Spares? Dirt Cheap.
A.S.S? Good.

Service Record:
A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-exp.jpg

What else would you expect? Reliability? My car has clocked 41K as of today, except for the suspension replacement; I’ve got no other major repairs/replacements done and it has NEVER let me down. Never used the tow hook is all I can say!

Even on the coldest morning, turn the key for 1-1.5 seconds it springs back to life. Cooling in hot summers? Sun blinds will surely help. City dwellers, believe me you won’t regret buying this hatch. Spare part rates are reasonable. 2200 is reasonable for 2 shock absorbers, considering you’ll have to spend >700rs for Dove Shampoo + Conditioner + Hair dye. Any disturbing practices by the dealer/service guys? Not at ALL.

Would you buy this car again? Yes, provided my needs are the same. Recommend it to amateurs? Yes. Plan to sell the car? No, will keep it for another 5 years.

Drivability

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0686.jpg

The Spark is strictly a city ride. Period. Immediate throttle response in the low RPMs, Instant torque in the Low and Mid RPMs make it ideal for city runs. Driving it isn’t complicated at all. Unlike other diesel hatches you need not move to 1st at every Speed Breaker or similar obstacles (Characteristic petrol engine behavior). You’ll be happy to ride along in 2nd and 3rd gears in city. In 3rd, you have pretty much all you wanted. Zoom over small speed breakers, slightly bad roads, over taking other cars in city – the car doesn’t feel strained at all. You can comfortable do 65kph in 3rd. I can thoroughly assure you, it is fun to drive in the city.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02949.jpg

Highway runs aren’t very exciting nor are they very lifeless. On our Indian roads, you have more than what you’d ask for. Comfortable, silent cruising in 80-100kph range can be done with ease. It struggles to maintain its momentum on the other side of 100. From my experience, you’ll have the most fun in 3rd and 4th gears.

NOTICE: From here is a little intro, the story of buying HU etc; to jump to the review directly scroll down.

What on the face of the earth would be more pleasurable than music? The colors of sound produce an incredible feeling. It’s like a Turbo spooling at our heart. The soothing effect, the feeling of being disconnected from our tensions, pains is delightful. One very strong reason which makes me want to drive my car is the above. So after being enlightened about music, I started to itch about ICE. Amps, Subs, Comps, what not! Everything started itching me and not to forget the simplest cables. So with a seriously low Vitamin M, I went on to achieve THIS

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02786.jpg

Ingredients of my ICE; (Prices on RHS)
HU: Sony MEX-BT3950U INR 9.7k
Front 4”ers: JBL GT5-S204 INR 1.59k
Rear 6”x9”ers: Polk Audio db690 INR 5.49k
Others: Jabra DRIVE INR 3.1k

It’s quite obvious that I need to have a good HU before I go full blown with my sub, amp etc. So with a kind face, I went to my dad;

Situation: Dad was watching TV back then and seemed to be cool.

Me: Our CD player is not working. I had to get it repaired 3 times with my pocket money. Punnam (accessory shop vendor) offered me a good deal on a new Sony Player.
Dad: No, new CD player is going to cost me a bomb. Don’t you see how thin I’ve become with your car care?!
Me: (with a super wide grin) He (Punnam) said we could trade in our present CD player and buy a new Sony USB only player for 2700.
He ignored me anyway.

Later that evening I went on, collected some gold plated RCA cables, Nokia earphones from our poorly maintained store room. Sat before my ex-PC and went on to make my own AUX cables… only in vain. So I grabbed the AUX cable used on Intex speakers on which I always had an eye. Took my Samsung Galaxy 3, installed Winamp, put it in auto-rotate mode, dumped some songs into it, put a SIM card which had a data plan and grabbed some black rubber bands. Connected my phone via the AUX cable and then strapped the phone onto the HU panel with 4 rubber bands each on both sides. Voila, touch screen HU, with Winamp playlist, Equalizer, Internet Radio etc. What an accomplishment, I patted myself. Clearly, I was happy, but dad wasn't. I expected him to appreciate me for my creative (ok may not be!) work. He ordered me to remove all the stuff. Back to where I came from. How pity!

Next morning he surprised me, said me to go to Sony Exclusive and checkout the CD player he ordered. We didn’t buy it from Punnam because the Sony Excl. owner was a client of my dad. Punnam was kinda sad with me. Oops!
Got the sealed box, unboxed it carefully and then did the install myself in hot sun; drenched in sweat nevertheless satisfied.

Sony MEX-BT3950U REVIEW:

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02793.jpg

This HU, has remarkably good level of detailing. The cool blue illuminations, the layout of buttons are standpoints. Playability with AAC, MP3 is standard and if you connect it to a Smartphone it can certainly play everything as the phone decodes it. Compatible with iPod/iPhone, Walkman, Bluetooth, USB along with Twin AUX ports makes it very versatile. Mod friendly with x2 Pre-out and x1 Sub-out. Other features include Quick Browser, Phonebook Access. Power figures are 52Wx4 (Peak) and may be >17W RMS. Another standpoint is the level of tuning we can do (May be it’s because my previous HU wasn’t offering much to tune). Position setting makes music more driver or passenger centric.

“The unit can change the localization of sound by delaying the sound output from each speaker to suit your position, and simulate a natural sound field.”

This effect is instantly noticeable and is a pleasure to live with.

DM+ enables the depth in music and for those who travel alone and don’t have a sub, the RBE(may be its full form is rear bass enhancement) feature works great. But those who rely on USB’s for playing songs won’t be delighted. Music via USB is not very filtered as it does with CD’s or AUX modes. The quick browser is very good and it would have been exhaustive with normal next/pre. buttons.

The HU works in harmony with the phone, once it detects the phone in a certain radius it connects automatically and the display shows, network strength, unread messages, charge level and other cool stuff. Once you get a call, it automatically pauses music and a ringtone(different from that of the phone) can be heard. Microphone sensitivity is good and the speech volume alone can be adjusted without interfering with music volume.
I’m fine with the quality of materials everywhere except that of the volume knob which feels dirt-cheap.

GT5-S204+db690 REVIEW:

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0665.jpg

Previously the car had Panasonic CJ-A1000, one which went kaput in early 2011. So went to Punnam, he was about to install some Sony 4”ers but a box caught my attention. JBL GT5-S204 were they, went for them instead which I don’t regret at all. These are very cute, built to last speakers and can take volume load up to 20-24 points without producing distortion. Power figures stand at 30W RMS and 120W Peak. The bass delivery is mild and is very much appreciated.

Here comes 2012 and the music freak in me awakes. I began to feel the necessity to have a sub in boot and an amp. Punnam opened another Accessory Outlet and there were a Sony sub and amp sitting in there at front. 6k was what he quoted and the Vitamin M person in me felt “that’s a steal!”. Asked dad when mom wasn’t home (you know how they are!)And he green lighted. Took 6k and went to Punnam and thought of getting it right away. But then, I started caring about brand value, and took a decision not to but
Sony sub+amp package.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0667.jpg

Come March 2012, my board exams were on, everyone, I was busy grazing our books but the car guy in me wouldn’t stop disturbing me. So, I logged into Carstudio and ordered a Polkdb690 for INR5640. He, the car guy was happy, happier!! They arrived via professional couriers; my dad collected them while I was at school. First Impression of dad’s were, “man these are solid” (May be because of the size and heaviness). I reversed the car into the parking place, opened the boot, fitted and fired them. Aaaw, the voice+bass, it’s so refined, “Sean Kingston-I Can Feel It” was the perfect song to put them to test.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0682.jpg
A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02905.jpg

Again, Punnam was unhappy for what I’ve done. I didn’t make purchase from him. Anyways, He can understand that as he couldn’t source me the Polks.

Jabra DRIVE REVIEW:

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0670.jpg

The Jabra DRIVE is a gift from my sister (to my dad) way before we had the Bluetooth enabled HU. I still use it with my phone in the car. The sound is crisp and the instrument is no-show with only 4 buttons. I recommend it for others who don’t have a BT enabled HU.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02906.jpg

Dear BHPians, I’m sorry if I missed anything and you are very welcome to ask any questions/make suggestions related to the above. Be it pictures, or any other. On the other hand, did I make a right decision turning down the sub+amp package? The package was same as the one installed in this.

Signature Team-BHP style!

Small yet Significant Things:
Indicator stalks on left and Wiper stalks on right might be a thing to get used to for newbie’s.

Petrol filler cap on the driver’s side. Might cause a problem in tight/small petrol pumps.

Silencer on the left hand side is unconventional.

Audio freaks may not be happy with the speaker positioning in the front dash.

Excellently controlled NVH. You’ll barely hear engine running.

Raked A Pillar reduces sight.

Centrally Mounted Speedo is distracting for many.

First batch of cars may not have the present degree of localization(?). Please don’t get scared by seeing weird Korean signs in your car. The timing belt and most of the parts on my car have GMDaewoo printed all over.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03087.jpg

All Sony HU’s get the same remote. So if you lose yours don’t get nervous. Ask your Accessory Vendor to get you any Sony remote.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0683.jpg

If you got an aftermarket Antenna, make sure you get it well tightened as it leaks water during heavy rain.

Clean your Polks regularly as they donot have mesh covering. Also take special care while placing something over your parcel tray.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0523.jpg
Say hello to fellow BHPians buddy!, Hai!

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02967.jpg
A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03094.jpg
Parking in Tight Spaces, Made Easy.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02969.jpg
Oh Yea, I'm gonna get some better Number Plates. agree:

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03082.jpg
Daag Acche Hai!

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-img_0447.jpg
Aftermarket Antenna(In my case, Trimmed). May leak H20 into your cabin. Give it a Check.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03089.jpg
I have my Fuse Box cover, Just in case you wanted to know. lol:

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03090.jpg
Trouble finding space for your bigger horns? I tucked them near the Coolant Reservoir.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02795.jpg
Simple Speedo Begging for Tacho.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02792.jpg
Behind the Wheel, all at a place.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02804.jpg
Quality Plastics on the Dash. Air Vents are Solid.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc02866.jpg
2 Cams, Vehicle Papers, Books, Some Medium Boxes. No Lappies or iPads Please.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03120.jpg
Yes agree:, I'm out of my mind. If not, Why the heck will I go for a Performance Filter on a "Spark"!? Check Out!

To put the words right out of my mouth, I'd now bash Internet for making me have countless 'sleepless' nights. Aaye, Don't get the formula? Internet=TBHP=Car Lovers,Modified Cars=Endless Wishes for Admirers... The counter effect? You'll end up sleepless,day dreaming. In the worst case (as mine), you'll be making a wishlist for your car. And it'd be mile long. Well, that's Enough said!

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03127.jpg

Had a hard time explaining why my family! would be needing a K&N Filter. Anyway's they were kind enough to get me one. My elder sibling bought it in USA via Ultrarev.com.

The kit has the Filter, Various Mounts, Screws, Washers, Plumbing required along with Instructions (Other wise, I would not have fitted it myself) . It's time consuming. Safely assume you will have to spend 1-2hrs for the procedure. Don't forget to disconnect the negative terminal of the battery while carrying out such work.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03123.jpg

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-dsc03125.jpg

Positives:

The most noticeable change after the K&N will be the smooothness. Engine settles smooth at lower rpm and feels less strained across the band. It feels much more positive and “seamless” to drive the car around.

Don’t expect the car to rumble as if it’s got a V8. The car’s got “stock silence” at idle and at lazy city speeds. But as you progress, the car gets aggressive with its sound note.

Growls as you toy with the car around. You hunt down others down the road, their ears will surely notice.

Negatives:

Oil based unlike OEM Paper based. Oil + Dust=Pain for the eyes.

Most importantly you’ll have to check the mounts now and then.

Have to be careful while I get the car water serviced.

Long term effects are unknown. It’ll mess up with the Mass Airflow Sensor, if my car has one!

Finally, I’m happy with the investment I’ve made. As I’ve stated above, it makes the car more “refined”. Easily flick able around the city; overtaking is a pleasure with a “very mild” turbo like whoosh.

NOTICE: Please feel free to ask any number of questions regarding the car. Thanks!

On a personal note, I’d like to thank TBHP for providing me a sound backstage for posting this review. In particular, thanks GTO for advising me to add the driving experience part. If I’ve missed anything I’ll be glad to add them on your advice. Please feel free to ask questions regarding the car. Thanks!

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Long-Term Ownership Section. Thanks for sharing!

Cool. 41K kms in the Spark. I liked the retro-look photographs and your style of writing :thumbs up And now since it's 41K kms old, you can modify it (perfomance & looks) to your heart's content. The only 2 things which I don't like about the Spark is the centre speedo meter and the the 2 spoke steering wheel. Do they still make it as a 2 spoke steering wheel?

Originally Posted by W.A.G.7 (Post 2879294)
Cool. 41K kms in the Spark. I liked the retro-look photographs and your style of writing :thumbs up And now since it's 41K kms old, you can modify it (perfomance & looks) to your heart's content. The only 2 things which I don't like about the Spark is the centre speedo meter and the the 2 spoke steering wheel. Do they still make it as a 2 spoke steering wheel?

Thanks W.A.G.7.:) The effects on the photographs were added at picmonkey.com. Yes, I've been gunning at modifications for almost an year now, but the problem is the lack of aftermarket support and unavailability of certain parts in India.

Yes, the center speedo is a little awkward, but hey it would have looked out of place if it were behind the wheel(since everything else is in symmetry, circles). Yes,they still make the 2 spoke steering wheel.

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-c1.jpg

A Solemn Promise - Chevrolet Spark M200 - 41K kms Report-c2.jpg

I'd like to add the Pod Tachometer from the Ritz if anyone helped me. Where do I connect the wires on the ignition coil? Thanks!

OT: Cant we use MasterCard to make the payment while buying TBHP Stickers?

Nice post! I share your love for Spark. My Spark is bit older than yours, now completed some 70000 km (June 2007 purchase). No serious issue till now. So you can look forward to trouble free future.

Btw, you were in 8th standard when you bought Spark, you must be now at 12th standard/18 years. So are these your driving experiences? (considering you must have started driving recently) Who is financing all these mods that you are planning?

Hi. A very detailed and exhaustive review about the car. Going by your thread you just passed 12th standard(lol or maybe 10 th!) and you really seem to have great knowledge and info on cars. Keep up.
The one thing i am interested to know is how are NVH levels and tire noise at speeds >80 kmph? Also two of my friends happen to own sparks which are 3-4 yrs old and both of them mentioned a screeching sound from belt/pulleys at startup which lasted for maybe 2 minutes(maybe because of belt slipping or tensioner). They had to go to the a.s.s to rectify the problem. I sincerely hope it doesnt come up in your car and the car gives you a hassle free ownership because the car is very VFM and chevy brand is quite reliable.
thanks

Originally Posted by radek (Post 2880415)
Nice post! I share your love for Spark. My Spark is bit older than yours, now completed some 70000 km (June 2007 purchase). No serious issue till now. So you can look forward to trouble free future.

Btw, you were in 8th standard when you bought Spark, you must be now at 12th standard/18 years. So are these your driving experiences? (considering you must have started driving recently) Who is financing all these mods that you are planning?

Thanks! Do you face the problem of end can(muffler) rusting? Although the muffler in Chevy Spark is of Walker make, it doesn't stand well against conditions in India. My SA reported that, mufflers on 2007,2008,2009.5(?) are rusting badly. I temporarily got it welded. You got it replaced?

Originally Posted by abhinavinc (Post 2880529)
Hi. A very detailed and exhaustive review about the car. Going by your thread you just passed 12th standard(lol or maybe 10 th!) and you really seem to have great knowledge and info on cars. Keep up.
The one thing i am interested to know is how are NVH levels and tire noise at speeds >80 kmph? Also two of my friends happen to own sparks which are 3-4 yrs old and both of them mentioned a screeching sound from belt/pulleys at startup which lasted for maybe 2 minutes(maybe because of belt slipping or tensioner). They had to go to the a.s.s to rectify the problem. I sincerely hope it doesnt come up in your car and the car gives you a hassle free ownership because the car is very VFM and chevy brand is quite reliable.
thanks

Yes, I'm 12th. Thanks!. From my experience NVH is on the lower side at speeds >40kph. My car wears Apollo Acelere, which produce a lot of noise on concrete roads. On bituminous roads, its OK, can live with them.

About the belt slipping of the pulley, I do hear the screeching sound when I end up in a pothole full of water. May be it's the water causing the belt to slip on the pulley. But whenever this happens it lasts max for 3-4 seconds. Never have I experienced screeching sound upon start up. Yes, the ownership has been hassle free :).

Lovely review and i love the retro style pictures. How are the polks performing? I am not allowed to put a SUB in my alto :p , so i am looking for good rear fills. Any suggestions?