Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th December 2013, 02:22   #1
Senior - BHPian

EcoSport TDCi: Tuning Box or Remap?

Hey guys,

I have been researching into this topic since 2 months now and am still confused as to which modification is safe for the engine. Have seen many threads on the same but none specific to Ford (Diesel tronics vs petes vs racechip vs remap).

Thank you

All your valuable inputs are welcome

Last edited by GTO : 20th December 2013 at 13:46. Reason: Typo
ecosport rules is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th December 2013, 07:04   #2
BHPian

re: EcoSport TDCi: Tuning Box or Remap?

You lose your warranty with remap, so I would recommend to go with a tuning box. Remap is an expensive proposition too.

The advantage with tuning box is that you can remove it before leaving the car for service and fix it back on your own.

I've heard good reviews on Diesel tronics from customer care perspective. And the device comes with a remote for couple of different modes (FE or power kinds). Havent used one myself.

May be you can add a voting with the different options and see how it goes
HillMan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th December 2013, 07:43   #3
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by HillMan View Post
You lose your warranty with remap, so I would recommend to go with a tuning box. Remap is an expensive proposition too.

The advantage with tuning box is that you can remove it before leaving the car for service and fix it back on your own..

May be you can add a voting with the different options and see how it goes
Thank you very much Hillram
Do you by any chance know the exact mechanisms involved in each tuning box namely

1.DIESELTRONICS by race dynamics
2.Petes
3.spider.
4.Racechip.

-What is the adverse effect on the engine minor or major?
-Why don't the manufactures themselves do this as it appears quite simple?