Old 7th June 2007, 08:50   #61

Yeah, seen that video, its Nasty !!
Old 7th June 2007, 11:23   #62

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Good luck finding a Cedia. Do keep us informed

Are you happy with your car ?? I assume it is stock as of now - you are not selling or are you ???
Old 7th June 2007, 11:26   #63

^^I love my car more than anything else . She's just 2 weeks old now. No way I'm gonna sell her ever . Bone stock as of now. However I shall upgrade the rubber next week to something better.
Old 7th June 2007, 11:26   #64

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Do keep in mind that with the car developing 200bhp or thereabouts, it'll be much easier for the Cedia's platform to handle that kind of loads compared to the OHC's platform.

What do you think is the MAX safe limit for the OHC in terms of BHP ? I am looking at a TC for sure. Other things I still need to take a call on.

Old 7th June 2007, 11:28   #65

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
^^I love my car more than anything else . She's just 2 weeks old now. No way I'm gonna sell her ever . Bone stock as of now. However I shall upgrade the rubber next week to something better.
Did you manage a good discount or it's the sticker price that you paid. Are you happy with the performance per se.
Old 7th June 2007, 11:35   #66

^^I got roughly 24k off the sticker price plus free sunfilm, mats and some small accessories. Stock performance is great in the mid and high end. The car is a little sluggish at the absolute bottom. Getting to around 30 takes a while but after that there's a huge burst of acceleration in 2nd gear and its really smooth from there on. So far have only revved her to 4000rpm or so as she only has around 1300km on the odo. However the area where the car takes the cake is handling... I did most of the bends on blore-mysore highway at an average of 110-120 and the car didn't feel unstable for even one bit. PS is butter smooth but always has sufficient feedback. Its really really easy to corner at high speeds.
Old 7th June 2007, 12:30   #67

Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
What do you think is the MAX safe limit for the OHC in terms of BHP ? I am looking at a TC for sure. Other things I still need to take a call on.
I would say 200-220 bhp is the max & even then you would need to strengthen some vital points in the chassis. Anything above that & you're looking at much more extensive work.
Old 7th June 2007, 12:43   #68

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I would say 200-220 bhp is the max & even then you would need to strengthen some vital points in the chassis. Anything above that & you're looking at much more extensive work.
is it possible to achieve 200-220 bhp in turbo charged Ohc ? or will have to transplant the engine ?
Old 7th June 2007, 12:47   #69

Originally Posted by Mugen_Power View Post
is it possible to achieve 200-220 bhp in turbo charged Ohc ? or will have to transplant the engine ?
Hi Mugen,

I think the bangy boys will be the best to answer that as they have been there and done it all before anyone else.

Viper
Old 7th June 2007, 12:57   #70

Originally Posted by viper View Post
Hi Mugen,

I think the bangy boys will be the best to answer that as they have been there and done it all before anyone else.

Viper
Why even Ranjit claims to have run 1 bar boost on B16A, that should be way above 200 bhp, if tuned correctly. But then, the car doesn't show up at the SRs, so we'll never know.

A good idea would be to start with strengthened mounts, chassis, driveshafts, bigger brakes and suspension. Or just ask Jitu
Old 7th June 2007, 13:07   #71

Originally Posted by ported_head View Post
Why even Ranjit claims to have run 1 bar boost on B16A, that should be way above 200 bhp, if tuned correctly. But then, the car doesn't show up at the SRs, so we'll never know.
Hey ported,

Has he told this to you or someone else. I am not aware of this so cannot comment.

viper
Old 7th June 2007, 13:28   #72

Hey ported,

Has he told this to you or someone else. I am not aware of this so cannot comment.

viper
Yes, I was present then. Ask him about the Yellow Type 1 OHC with the B16A.
Old 7th June 2007, 15:18   #73

Kya Jiggs, kai ko hamaari leta hai.

AFAIK, no one has done a 200 hp OHC turbo job. One OHC is running an Indian block and turbo, but I've never had the privilege of seeing it. The rest normally run D16s, which are really nice blocks in their own right. They look pretty much identical to the Indian blocks at first glance, and the cranks can hold upto 300 hp.
Old 7th June 2007, 15:38   #74

As I can see that there has been work done on a number of OHC's but not (m)any CEDIA's - the search for the CEDIA is going on. Let's see if I can land myself a used clean car within a reasonable price. If not then OHC is always an option.

The conclusion seems to be something like this :-

# 1. Exclusive + Good Mods @ higher price = CEDIA
# 2. Not so exclusive but good mods @ lesser expense = OHC

Old 7th June 2007, 16:43   #75

Akshay, wasnt the black zen with the CRX engine running 17psi boost (whats the difference in the two engines)? So I guess 200 can be achieved on an Indian OHC engine with upgraded internals. Wonder how much was the orange Vtec putting out?

Madhu's car should be putting out about 135bhp NA + 75shot of nos means 210bhp. Car did a 14.4 in bangalore. Jitu's b16 puts out close to 170+50 shot nos. Thats how I got to the theory that OHC can handle 200 bhp.

Jiggy, having done B16 TC installs in zen and OHC I guess you should be in a better position to tell us. Rather than trying to take a dig at someone!

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 7th June 2007 at 16:44.