Old 24th January 2017, 13:29   #31

Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post
A Honda CBR 250R gets over 26HP and the Yamaha only managed about 20HP from a similar displacement??
But then the CBR250R at 1.71 lakhs -non abs is a good 52k dearer.

But then yes the CBR250R is a "Dhoom Bike"

Think the FZ25 would be a good relaxed bike... and probably a better tourer than the CBR250R.

But yes Torque could have been better upto around 23-24 Nm from that 250 cc. Power at 20Ps is ok .. unless one wants a speed demon (peak power comes more into picture at the top end)

Last edited by payeng : 24th January 2017 at 13:38.
payeng is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2017, 13:30   #32

re: Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh

I have been on the lookout for an upgrade on my FZ16 for sometime now and I was really hoping to stick to Yamaha with the FZ 25, but quite disappointed with the launch

A Honda CBR 250R gets over 26HP and the Yamaha only managed about 20HP from a similar displacement??

OT - I will probably hold on until the "Rumoured" CBR 250RR is launched in India now.
It will run rings around the CBR 250R. Not for outright performance but as far as handling and braking goes. I had one for 5 years and I am getting this.
Sheel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2017, 13:38   #33

John Abraham launches the new FZ25. Neat pricing, but I feel Yamaha missed a trick by not including ABS from the word go.

Tech Specs and a few snapshots from the launch event.

Source : Twitterati & xBHP thread (http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/news/363...9500-a-21.html)
Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-yamahafz250pressrelease2.jpg  

Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-yamahafz250pressrelease1.jpg  

Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-yamahafz250indialaunch2.jpg  

Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-yamahafz250indialaunch7.jpg  

Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-newyamahafz2521.jpg  

Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-newyamahafz2530.jpg  

Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-23f2ff9359713c314a626c07ada2f038.jpg  

Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh-newyamahafz2518.jpg  

Last edited by uday.ere : 24th January 2017 at 13:51.
uday.ere is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 24th January 2017, 13:44   #34

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
It will run rings around the CBR 250R. Not for outright performance but as far as handling and braking goes. I had one for 5 years and I am getting this.
True Handling of the CBR250R isn't that great.

But a humble Diamond frame (one of the simplest of motorcycle frames) can't be compared to the solidity and sharpness of perimeter frames.

Case in point - Although the FZ16 handles good.. it can't be compared to the sublime perimeter of the R15

Last edited by payeng : 24th January 2017 at 13:46.
Old 24th January 2017, 13:58   #35

Originally Posted by payeng View Post

Case in point - Although the FZ16 handles good.. it can't be compared to the sublime perimeter of the R15
On paper, yes. But I have different opinions as far as these both go. I found them equal, R15 was different of course but the FZ was very reassuring. Couldn't pick either between two and I owned both simultaneously.
Old 24th January 2017, 14:09   #36

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
On paper, yes. But I have different opinions as far as these both go. I found them equal, R15 was different of course but the FZ was very reassuring. Couldn't pick either between two and I owned both simultaneously.
Am speaking from riding feel not just from specs sheet.

The FZ handles pretty good for its simple frame but nowhere close to perimeters

Handling sharpness feel can be a bit subjective depending of you want, either to zig zag in traffic (for that nothing beats a scooter actually) or corner like on a race track.

But for proof - Just perform an extreme panic braking experiment on a bike with perimeter frames (NS/RS/R15/Dominar). The stability with which these bikes stop can't be matched with ones with humble frames (with one exception - the Ninja 300).

Last edited by payeng : 24th January 2017 at 14:13.
payeng is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2017, 14:12   #37

I think we ought to start discounting the names that highlight displacement. To me the name, FZ25 looks like a brilliant ploy to make people feel they are upgrading to a so called big bike.

Everything on this bike to me is just a nudge above the FZ16 and made just right to fill the gap in the Yamaha India portfolio that was open for donkey years. Nothing ground breaking here - Yamaha is just playing catch up. Nothing wrong with the offering when i read the spec sheet but the only thing that plays out as its advantage is that its the "latest" out there.

The NS200, P220, R15, FZ25, RTR200 are all make near abouts 20bhp / 20NM so essentially Yamaha made sure they join the mix.

From a market standpoint, Bajaj has got the offering and then the pricing for Dominar so spot on that everything priced around 1.25lacs ex., is not a Royal Enfield and doesn't measure up is going to find it difficult to make seriously good numbers.

For Yamaha, this will help it sell a few thousand more bikes a year maybe?
Nilesh5417 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th January 2017, 14:19   #38

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
I think we ought to start discounting the names that highlight displacement. To me the name, FZ25 looks like a brilliant ploy to make people feel they are upgrading to a so called a Big Bike
Majority don't care what the specs sheet read anyway.

The FZ16 with its plastic muscles and SBK Mimicking FAT rear tyre makes less than 14 Ps... and for RE bikes the Exhaust note is much bigger/important than the spec sheets

It's all in the HEAD (not the Brain most of the times) of the consumer

Last edited by payeng : 24th January 2017 at 14:35.
payeng is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th January 2017, 14:41   #39

You sure about ABS?
- Looking at the detailed images, even I couldn't find the ABS rings. I was referring to a article from Financial Express, wherein they have mentioned that both these features(ABS and FI) are standard. Here is the link:
http://www.financialexpress.com/auto...-fz250/519916/
Old 24th January 2017, 14:58   #40

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
... Yamaha is just playing catch up...
Precisely. IMO they are trying to replicate the D200-RC200 duo. If R15 V3 is launched at 10K premium over FZ25, this would make more sense. The former for track junkies and the latter for city riding.
Old 24th January 2017, 15:15   #41

Any idea what could be the Ex showroom price & OTR in Bangalore. Also, which is the best show room in JP Nagar/Jayanagar/Bannerghatta road/Kanakapura road to check out the bike.

KK
Old 24th January 2017, 16:13   #42

Re: Yamaha teases new naked motorcycle. EDIT: FZ25 launched at Rs. 1.20 lakh

I have been on the lookout for an upgrade on my FZ16 for sometime now and I was really hoping to stick to Yamaha with the FZ 25, but quite disappointed with the launch

The CBR 250, among other things, has liquid cooling which helps it run a higher compression ratio, squeezing out more power from the same engine capacity. The technology is similar to what the R15, the FZs stablemate has which pumps out 17 hp from 149cc. The power ratings should not be a dampner I feel as at this price point, it should be a decent cruiser and yamahas are built better than the two other competitors that I can think of for the FZ25, the apache 200 and pulsar AS 200
hothatchaway is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2017, 17:15   #43

Am speaking from riding feel not just from specs sheet.

The FZ handles pretty good for its simple frame but nowhere close to perimeters

But for proof - Just perform an extreme panic braking experiment
First thing first, am not doubting your claims and neither pushing mine

Lower kerb weight and tight wheelbase should play its role too, no?

*CBR has dual over head camshaft as well.

Last edited by Sheel : 24th January 2017 at 17:17.
Old 24th January 2017, 18:05   #44

Think the FZ25 would be a good relaxed bike... and probably a better tourer than the CBR250R.

)
Can you please explain how?

I am a bit disappointed with the power output. 20bhp out of a 250cc engine & a 5 speed gearbox. :(

200cc bajaj NS makes 24 bhp and it is 20k cheaper. KTM's have spoilt us all.

But for the price it demands, i am sure it will find a lot of buyers who want to upgrade from a fz16.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 24th January 2017 at 18:11.
Old 24th January 2017, 18:17   #45

On the other hand, it still is surprising that even after half a decade of new launches the CBR250R still holds the crown for being the most preferred touring vehicle along with the enfields. The reason KTM & Dominar come next to the CBR is due to lesser tank range.

Originally Posted by kthrottle View Post
- Looking at the detailed images, even I couldn't find the ABS rings. I was referring to a article from Financial Express, wherein they have mentioned that both these features(ABS and FI) are standard.
Initially, even I got foxed when they(Financial Express) mentioned ABS as a standard. But later watched the telecast of the launch where ABS was not mentioned as part of the features.