Old 6th July 2023, 16:19   #1261

Re: Maruti Jimny Review

Finally got a call from Tyre dealer stating that stock has arrived for Yoko Geolander AT LT215/75 R15. Reached the shop to replace the spare.
  • Cost for Yoko Geolander AT LT215/75 R15 - ₹7200 per tyre
  • Buyback for stock Bridgestones - ₹6000 per tyre
  • Difference paid of ₹1200 per tyre
  • Paid a total Cost for all 5 tyres - ₹6000

There was another Yoko Geolanders AT 215/75 R15, however these were non-LT ones & don't come with white lettering on the side wall

Maruti Jimny Review-yokohamageolander-.jpg
Maruti Jimny Review-yokohamageolander-1.jpg
Maruti Jimny Review-yokohamageolander-2.jpg

Existing
Maruti Jimny Review-spareoriginal.jpg

After replacement
Maruti Jimny Review-sparenew.jpg

Last edited by highwaycruizer : 6th July 2023 at 16:26. Reason: Addition to the post
highwaycruizer is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 17:08   #1262

Originally Posted by ecosport rules View Post
This is the best looking snorkel for the Jimny,the small quarter panel behind the bonnet is replaced by the ABS part of the snorkel.
This design of snorkel is OEM supply part of Suzuki Japan. Similar design is common in Italy, Brazil. Don't think anything like this is available in India.

The A pillar blind spot won't increase in this layout and looks so clean.

Originally Posted by highwaycruizer View Post
Paid a total Cost for all 5 tyres - ₹6000
You got a good buyback price. Mere 6000/- for tyre upgrade is totally worth it.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 7th July 2023 at 09:48. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Kindly use the Quote+/Edit functionality to quote multiple posts.
gargville is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 17:13   #1263

Originally Posted by ecosport rules View Post
This is the best looking snorkel for the Jimny,the small quarter panel behind the bonnet is replaced by the ABS part of the snorkel.
Loved the way it has come out.
Dr Kumar, are you getting this for your Jimny? If yes, please share link or contact details. This looks awesome
highwaycruizer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 18:54   #1264

Originally Posted by gargville View Post
This design of snorkel is OEM supply part of Suzuki Japan. Similar design is common in Italy, Brazil. Don't think anything like this is available in India.

The A pillar blind spot won't increase in this layout and looks so clean.
This is being widely called as the OEM snorkel by everyone not just here on tbhp but also on desi youtube and elsewhere; but this is not OEM snorkel. This is bravo snorkel originally made in spain and now copied in China. The bravo snorkel enters the engine bay by removing the panel between apillar and bonnet but it does need some trimming of metal supports attached to the body structure behind the fender. On the plus side does not need holes in the apillar. Users abroad have reported a droning sound with this type snorkel.

The OEM Jimny gen 4 snorkel looks like a bravo snorkel, but on close look we can see it extend a bit downwards vertically and does not take the route of the bravo snorkel by removing the panel. It extends a bit down hugging the panel and the fender and gets inside the fender through a hole which has to be made in the fender panel and travels forward from behind the fender joining the airbox intake tube at the front. When TJM/Ironman snorkels extends alongside the outer part of the fender towards the front adding bulk, the OEM snorkel takes the path forward from behind the fender.

Performance wise the bravo snorkel would be the most stifling of all the types due to the number of twists and turns the duct takes to reach the airbox for aesthetics sake. The other three OEM, TJM, Ironman takes relatively straighter path to the airbox.
Sankar is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 20:02   #1265

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
This is being widely called as the OEM snorkel by everyone not just here on tbhp but also on desi Youtube and elsewhere...
Thanks Sankar for info. Are you considering a snorkel for your Jimny?

Also found that people have already installing similar flat type snorkel in Jimny 5 door.

This is also on my list. Right now trying to understand how it works specially in rainy days.
Old 6th July 2023, 21:21   #1266

Press both knobs on the speedo console for a few seconds and it will take one into settings. Then use the RHS knob to select options. Three settings I found useful are:-

1) IS/Auto start-stop settings. Selecting comfort has prevented random engine offs at signals etc. It was a nuisance.

Hi, I was able to find the other things that you've mentioned, but couldn't find the Auto start-stop setting in the menu anywhere. If at all possible could you please take a picture. Would be very helpful. Thank you.
Old 6th July 2023, 23:14   #1267

Originally Posted by gargville View Post
Thanks Sankar for info. Are you considering a snorkel for your Jimny?
No snorkel for me, its stock water wading capability is more than enough for my use. Before snorkels its the diff breathers that need attention if one is going swimming with it. Diffs will be under water much before water reach the stock air intake. As for looks I like the snorkelless look.

Originally Posted by sammysossa View Post
Hi, I was able to find the other things that you've mentioned, but couldn't find the Auto start-stop setting in the menu anywhere. If at all possible could you please take a picture. Would be very helpful. Thank you.
Maruti Jimny Review-is_ac.jpg

Maruti Jimny Review-is_ac_comfort.jpg
Sankar is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 23:19   #1268

Ah, I see. It seems that this is tied to auto climate control. Since mine is the Zeta variant, hence I don't get this option. Thank you for the pics.
sammysossa is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th July 2023, 23:34   #1269

Originally Posted by highwaycruizer View Post
Finally got a call from Tyre dealer stating that stock for Geolanders has arrived
4[/ATTACH]
Many congratulations on your new drive and tyres.
I have done 1000kms till date on these tyres,very happy with the performance.
Both wet and dry braking is nice.
Gives more confidence while cornering.
Maruti Jimny Review-1687692823341.jpg  

Last edited by ecosport rules : 6th July 2023 at 23:36.
ecosport rules is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 06:39   #1270

Aren't the doors supposed to unlock by default after we stop the car? Is there some setting that I need to change?
Turbanator is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 08:57   #1271

Aren't the doors supposed to unlock by default after we stop the car? Is there some setting that I need to change?
Yes,MID has a customizable menu.
To enter press both buttons at the corners of the speedometer.
There are quite a few options to choose from.

You can choose to lock and unlock doors at different instances.
Lock door sync with speed or sync with gear shifter.
Unlock door sync with gear shifter or ignition off.
Let us know what was more comfortable for you.

Happy Jimnying
ecosport rules is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 09:09   #1272

This guy is claiming the fuel efficiency to be under 10KMPL in Delhi's traffic and with light pedal ! May the Jimny owners in this forum please confirm if this is true ?

VivekWalia1986 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 09:29   #1273

Thar 5 door would be a better value for money any day if Jimny's fuel economy is also less than 10KMPL

Last edited by VivekWalia1986 : 7th July 2023 at 09:33. Reason: Repeat post updated
Old 7th July 2023, 09:40   #1274

Originally Posted by VivekWalia1986 View Post
This guy is claiming the fuel efficiency to be under 10KMPL in Delhi's traffic and with light pedal ! May the Jimny owners in this forum please confirm if this is true ?

https://Youtu.be/7wJgqo3k6KE
Have a look at those tyres. They are bound to hit mileage. Also, a car's mileage does increase after the 5-6000 kms mark if the initial kms are driven well.

So far what i have seen, people are reporting between 15-17kmpl on highway and 11-14kmpl in city and towns
prashant316 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 7th July 2023, 10:05   #1275

Originally Posted by VivekWalia1986 View Post
This guy is claiming the fuel efficiency to be under 10KMPL in Delhi's traffic and with light pedal ! May the Jimny owners in this forum please confirm if this is true]
Yes,my average for the 1000 kms driven thus far is 9.5kmpl.
This is mostly city with spirited driving most of the time.

My best guess is that highway efficiency should be around 12kmpl.

I am generally fine with the above fuel efficiency figures,can't expect more.

Last edited by ecosport rules : 7th July 2023 at 10:06.
ecosport rules is offline   (5) Thanks