Old 30th June 2024, 18:05   #226

Re: 2024 Kia Sonet Facelift Review

Due to pressure from Nexon and XUV 3x0, Sonet has recieved updated features in lower trims. Here is the brochure.
File Type: pdf New Sonet Ready Reckoner Updated.pdf (1.91 MB, 311 views)
Raghu2284 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th June 2024, 18:58   #227

Originally Posted by Raghu2284 View Post
Due to pressure from Nexon and XUV 3x0, Sonet has recieved updated features in lower trims. Here is the brochure.
Well, these updates were done in April 2024 along with a price hike. No new updates since then.
ashvek3141 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2024, 00:19   #228

Originally Posted by Raghu2284 View Post
Well mate, your brochure was not the latest, but the update was. My sincere apologies.

Kia has indeed re-jigged it's variant line-up for the Sonet ( & Seltos too) coupled with a significant price hike.

A new 'lower' GT Line variant - 'GTX' introduced in automatics w/o the following features and priced approx. a lakh cheaper than the GTX+.
- No ADAS
- No rear spoiler
- No BOSE sound system
- No ambient / mood lighting.

The most VFM HTX variant too sees some key additions with a price hike of 13k & 17k INR for the DCT & D AT respectively.

Added features are:-
- Crystal cut alloys
- MUCH NEEDED rear wash wipe
- Wireless smartphone charger.
ashvek3141 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2024, 07:19   #229

Originally Posted by ashvek3141 View Post
Well mate, your brochure was not the latest, but the update was. My sincere apologies.

Kia has indeed re-jigged it's variant line-up for the Sonet ( & Seltos too) coupled with a significant price hike.

A new 'lower' GT Line variant - 'GTX' introduced in automatics w/o the following features and priced approx. a lakh cheaper than the GTX+.
- No ADAS
- No rear spoiler
- No BOSE sound system
- No ambient / mood lighting.

The most VFM HTX variant too sees some key additions with a price hike of 13k & 17k INR for the DCT & D AT respectively.

Added features are:-
- Crystal cut alloys
- MUCH NEEDED rear wash wipe
- Wireless smartphone charger.
I guess Kia is facing more heat from XUV3XO, hence they have added rear wash wipe from HTK(O) variant of Sonet.

Better late than never, Kia has finally woke up and added the much needed feature in Sonet.

If I were to buy a Sonet D AT, then it'd be between HTX (thanks to the addition of rear wash wipe) and GTX (can live without ADAS).

Oh, BTW, are you getting updated HTX variant of Sonet? Asking because I've seen your post asking for VIN number in another thread.
Old 2nd July 2024, 08:28   #230

Originally Posted by car_guy1998 View Post
I guess Kia is facing more heat from XUV3XO, hence they have added rear wash wipe from HTK(O) variant of Sonet.

Better late than never, Kia has finally woke up and added the much needed feature in Sonet.
True. It is very evident that the sub 4m SUV market is heating up.

As a matter of fact, I failed to understand what was Kia’s reluctance to provide this basic safety feature in their cars (even from the base variant). But as you rightly said - better late than never!

If I were to buy a Sonet D AT, then it'd be between HTX (thanks to the addition of rear wash wipe) and GTX (can live without ADAS).

Oh, BTW, are you getting updated HTX variant of Sonet? Asking because I've seen your post asking for VIN number in another thread.
Well, my car had already reached the dealership on Saturday and I had even remitted the funds post my PDI yesterday to invoice the car; but their system was under updation due to these changes and the invoicing couldn’t go through.

Moreover, the SA didn’t have any update on the changes and I thought that it was yet another price hike! Was a little annoyed too. But after coming home, I went through their website and noticed all these changes!

As a matter of fact, the GTX DCT now makes a solid preposition for me (w/o the ADAS). It’s barely 70k more than what I’m paying for the HTX D AT & 50k more than the now ‘updated’ HTX D AT variant.

The updated HTX also puts me in a fix, because with just 20k on-road I get alloys & the much needed rear wash wipe which is missing in the currently allotted car!

Net net, I think it’s wiser to let go off the allotted HTX D AT for now. I’m thinking of picking up the GTX DCT, coz anyway my running doesn’t warrant a diesel per se & I was only going for it for that sweet drivetrain. Needless to mention about the other issues pertaining to the BS6 Diesels, etc.

I’ll speak to my SA later in the day; let’s see how it goes. But my eyes are kinda fixated on the GTX DCT now.
ashvek3141 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2024, 08:48   #231

Well, my car had already reached the dealership on Saturday and I had even remitted the funds post my PDI yesterday to invoice the car; but their system was under updation due to these changes and the invoicing couldn’t go through.

Moreover, the SA didn’t have any update on the changes and I thought that it was yet another price hike! Was a little annoyed too. But after coming home, I went through their website and noticed all these changes!

As a matter of fact, the GTX DCT now makes a solid preposition for me (w/o the ADAS). It’s barely 70k more than what I’m paying for the HTX D AT & 50k more than the now ‘updated’ HTX D AT variant.

The updated HTX also puts me in a fix, because with just 20k on-road I get alloys & the much needed rear wash wipe which is missing in the currently allotted car!

Net net, I think it’s wiser to let go off the allotted HTX D AT for now. I’m thinking of picking up the GTX DCT, coz anyway my running doesn’t warrant a diesel per se & I was only going for it for that sweet drivetrain. Needless to mention about the other issues pertaining to the BS6 Diesels, etc.

I’ll speak to my SA later in the day; let’s see how it goes. But my eyes are kinda fixated on the GTX DCT now.
If I were you, I'd go and get the Diesel AT variant just for its powertrain.

And, letting go of the HTX variant, which the dealer allotted to you, will make sense IMO as you'll be paying just 20k more for rear wash and wipe and crystal cut alloys and you won't regret it later for getting the updated variant.

I'm quite tempted to get the HTX variant due to the addition of these features. My next option would be GTX variant since it doesn't get ADAS, which I'm okay with.

Why I'm suggesting you get the updated variant as we had experienced this during our Hycross purchase, where it came with 6 airbags just few days after purchasing our vehicle as ours came with 2 airbags (ours is VX variant btw). Due to this, we have decided to get the car with updated features as I'm willing to keep our cars for more than 5 years.

Now, sitting in the fence, whether I should go for Sonet D AT or XUV400 EV or XUV3XO D AT as the replacement for my City iDTEC, which has run 1,87,000 Kms. But, purchase would happen next year only. I don't mind getting a Petrol (sedans mostly) considering our less usage as I stay out of country now (presently in India for vacation) or if I intend to move back to India for good in another 1-2 years, then I'd consider getting our last Diesel car.

Last edited by car_guy1998 : 2nd July 2024 at 09:04.
Old 2nd July 2024, 11:43   #232

Originally Posted by car_guy1998 View Post
If I were you, I'd go and get the Diesel AT variant just for its powertrain.

And, letting go of the HTX variant, which the dealer allotted to you, will make sense IMO as you'll be paying just 20k more for rear wash and wipe and crystal cut alloys and you won't regret it later for getting the updated variant.
No doubt about the excellent drivetrain of the D AT and having experienced it for close to a year and 11k kms, I can swear by it!

But, in the hindsight I'm somehow not quite happy with the BS 6.2 Diesels. Not sure what is the thing with the Ph-2 Diesels.

Moreover, since my daily running has reduced considerably now (~ 20 kms a day), it primarily doesn't warrant a diesel for me. Plus, we have 2 other Petrol cars in the garage.

Just read about the DPF issues of a fellow BHPian due to his short commutes and this brings in more doubts about the Ph-2 diesels.
Not to forget the fear of the impending bans that can come anytime as per our dearest Government.

But yeah, as you rightly said, even if I choose to pursue the HTX D AT, it makes sense to forgo the allotted car and opt for the updated variant just for the alloys & the rear wiper. I feel those 20k on-road are worth it.
The only regret I will have is that the allotted car came with Apollo tires instead of the sh***y MRF's.
ashvek3141 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2024, 17:34   #233

Official features revision details.

2024 Kia Sonet Facelift Review-1.png

2024 Kia Sonet Facelift Review-2.png

2024 Kia Sonet Facelift Review-3.png
Old 2nd July 2024, 19:30   #234

Given that rear wiper/washer has been added HTX, any way the dealer themselves can retrofit the same in existing HTX variants? Has anyone checked on this.
Old 2nd July 2024, 19:52   #235

Originally Posted by m2maddy View Post
Given that rear wiper/washer has been added HTX, any way the dealer themselves can retrofit the same in existing HTX variants? Has anyone checked on this.
In my experience, the general tendency of Kia dealers is to avoid retrofitting the parts to existing models.

They don't even recommend to install the GTX+ spoiler in the HTX stating that they wouldn't take any responsibility of warranty claims due to this modification, even at their authorised garages.

On a side note , I do understand how customer's can feel short-changed by these features additions in limited span of time; it's kinda catch-22 situation. I just happened to miss this by a whsiker!

Last edited by ashvek3141 : 2nd July 2024 at 19:54.
Old 2nd July 2024, 20:14   #236

Here is a useful comparison on the Kia Website

https://www.kia.com/in/our-vehicles/...are-trims.html

The New GTX is updated there, it happens to get a black roof and also KIA Connect
2024 Kia Sonet Facelift Review-kia.png  

Last edited by BSASLR : 2nd July 2024 at 20:15.
Old 2nd July 2024, 22:03   #237

In my experience, the general tendency of Kia dealers is to avoid retrofitting the parts to existing models.

They don't even recommend to install the GTX+ spoiler in the HTX stating that they wouldn't take any responsibility of warranty claims due to this modification, even at their authorised garages.

On a side note , I do understand how customer's can feel short-changed by these features additions in limited span of time; it's kinda catch-22 situation. I just happened to miss this by a whsiker!
True indeed, these are basics, they should atleast retrofit it if the customer is ok with it.
m2maddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2024, 11:45   #238

Updated Sonet brochure with revised variant / features line-up.

Sonet_Wild_Reborn_Brochure_2024_Mobile_240703_101130.pdf

Official price list not received by the dealers yet.

Last edited by ashvek3141 : 3rd July 2024 at 11:46.
Old 4th July 2024, 09:22   #239

Official features revision details.
The addition of a rear wiper, washer, and LED headlamps to the Sonet HTK+ variant is indeed good news. I am already frustrated from the waiting period of the 3X0 (booked it on 15th May) without any clarity on the delivery time line, Sonet price hike ruined my day yesterday as it’s my second choice. I was in the impression that its just another price hike without any feature changes. However, the updated Sonet HTK+ variant now offers a more comprehensive package and I am happy to pay 16K more for this
Old 4th July 2024, 10:43   #240

Originally Posted by ksavai View Post
Sonet desperately needs DCT petrol version in middle.

There are just two options HTX and GTX and price difference is around 3L.

They can easily get HTX+ model with upgraded infotainment and alloy wheels which makes it good value for money
Now they do have GTX model for DCT which is competing with 3XO AX7 model.
What do you think of that comparison with almost same price point?

Sonet GTX advantages
- Ventilated seats
- 360 camera
- Electric seat adjustments
- Arguably better infotainment and instrument cluster

3XO AX7 advantages
- more powerful engine
- Panoramic sunroof
- leatherette dashboard
- Wireless android auto
- Bigger feel from inside and outside
- premium audio (dont know if its better)
- Dual tone
- Auto wiper

any point I missed out?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com