Old 12th August 2024, 15:04   #121

Re: Scoop! Tata Curvv test mule spotted in India. EDIT: Curvv.ev launched at Rs. 17.49 lakh

Continuing on the pricing and feature analysis, comparison - https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...l#post5820029; (Citroen Basalt Review) I still feel Basalt needs better pricing. I still don't see the 7.99 as a killer one as the base model is not basic; its barren. Don't see a major target audience other other than the core taxi segment for aftermarket CNG use or a car exclusively for family driver for errands.

Here is a comparison with the base variant of another not so hot selling car in its segment.
Core positives with this competition is just more boot space and slightly better ride.

Citroen Basalt Review-compare.png

Last edited by dipen : 12th August 2024 at 15:06.
dipen is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 12th August 2024, 15:20   #122

Infractions: 0/1 (4)
Re: Citroen Basalt Review

This is a superb product from citroen. I am particularly impressed with the shape, it gives a glimpse of BMW X6. The interiors are also nicely done. However the trump card is the pricing... From 7.99 lac onwards and on road of around 9 lacs something this car is superb VFM. However they should have fully loaded the car with features and some of them are glaring misses like sunroof, push button start etc.
mack.mehul is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th August 2024, 19:34   #123

Re: Scoop! Tata Curvv test mule spotted in India. EDIT: Curvv.ev launched at Rs. 17.49 lakh

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
Continuing on the pricing and feature analysis, comparison - https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...l#post5820029; (Citroen Basalt Review) I still feel Basalt needs better pricing. I still don't see the 7.99 as a killer one as the base model is not basic; its barren.
What you say as Basalt being barren in base You trim is completely justified. But I must also mention that the E variants of Verna/Creta are not feature loaded either; they are similarly barren. I guess pricing it lower than 8 lacs would do harakiri for them. It's the 4m+ segment, where the taxes are more. So I don't think it can be priced lower. And the Kushaq is priced at almost 2 lacs premium to the Basalt. So its possible for Skoda to include more features .

Last edited by Mitadru : 12th August 2024 at 19:37. Reason: Post formatting
Old 12th August 2024, 20:54   #124

Infractions: 0/2 (11)

Originally Posted by Mitadru View Post
What you say as Basalt being barren in base You trim is completely justified. But I must also mention that the E variants of Verna/Creta are not feature loaded either; they are similarly barren. I guess pricing it lower than 8 lacs would do harakiri for them. It's the 4m+ segment, where the taxes are more. So I don't think it can be priced lower. And the Kushaq is priced at almost 2 lacs premium to the Basalt. So its possible for Skoda to include more features .
While the Basalt is much cheaper, it's definitely built to a cost and compromises on performance compared to the Creta and Skoda. For instance, the base Basalt's naturally aspirated engine simply can't compete with the turbocharged GDi of the Kushaq or the 4-cylinder turbo petrol in the Creta. Additionally, the interior quality of the Basalt doesn't match the more premium offerings. Although their lengths might be comparable, the cheaper Basalt caters to distinctly different customer segment in my opinion.
shortbread is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th August 2024, 23:10   #125

If I have to list the 1 Best and 1 Worst thing about Citroen Basalt; then following is my view as to how I look at it:

- The Best Thing - This Car does not have SUNROOF which makes it my choice! (I feel that Sunroof is a useless feature for India)
- The Worst Thing - This Car does not have CRUISE CONTROL - Which is 1 feature asking me to stay away from this car!

That sums up my observations about this car

Last edited by Paritoshkalra : 12th August 2024 at 23:11.
Paritoshkalra is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 00:31   #126

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
While the Basalt is much cheaper, it's definitely built to a cost and compromises on performance compared to the Creta and Skoda.
Stellantis is the global brand that owns Citroen (and Jeep ) and they are sitting pretty on a pile of cash in India with their engine & auto parts export business from India. They have a long plan for India and they are willing to play it slow, steady and easy.

I feel Citroen is testing waters in Indian auto sector. They have brilliantly priced their entry / base price model at INR 7.99 L Ex-showroom and that's just a start. They haven't figured yet about the Indian penchant for gizmos in the car, but eventually they will figure it out (Hyundai and Kia went through this process) and offer products tailored for India. It's a trial and error or say hit and miss for Citroen now and eventually they will figure it out and get the pulse of the Indian customer.

Citroen is here for a long haul and they have confidence and belief in Indian diaspora/customers. They are trying to gauge the Indian mind and eventually they will.

Sometime in future, once Citroen learns it's lessons, the average Indian customer will get his/her ADAS L2, 360° Panaramic camera, sunroof and more from Citroen and everyone is happy.
ashkamath is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 07:46   #127

You absolutely spoke my mind! I had only two filters while searching for new cars - cruise control and proper automatic. The lack of cruise control seems to be a big miss and is keeping me away from the TD. Sunroof does not seem to entice me either.

Originally Posted by Paritoshkalra View Post
If I have to list the 1 Best and 1 Worst thing about Citroen Basalt; then following is my view as to how I look at it:

- The Best Thing - This Car does not have SUNROOF which makes it my choice! (I feel that Sunroof is a useless feature for India)
- The Worst Thing - This Car does not have CRUISE CONTROL - Which is 1 feature asking me to stay away from this car!

That sums up my observations about this car
gopalggk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 11:38   #128

Originally Posted by ashkamath View Post
Stellantis is the global brand that owns Citroen (and Jeep ) and they are sitting pretty on a pile of cash in India with their engine & auto parts export business from India. They have a long plan for India and they are willing to play it slow, steady and easy.

I feel Citroen is testing waters in Indian auto sector. They have brilliantly priced their entry / base price model at INR 7.99 L Ex-showroom and that's just a start. They haven't figured yet about the Indian penchant for gizmos in the car, but eventually they will figure it out (Hyundai and Kia went through this process) and offer products tailored for India. It's a trial and error or say hit and miss for Citroen now and eventually they will figure it out and get the pulse of the Indian customer.

Citroen is here for a long haul and they have confidence and belief in Indian diaspora/customers. They are trying to gauge the Indian mind and eventually they will.

Sometime in future, once Citroen learns it's lessons, the average Indian customer will get his/her ADAS L2, 360° Panaramic camera, sunroof and more from Citroen and everyone is happy.
I think just an addition of IRVM, 360 degree camera and Cruise control will make it a good car. I am not too sure if ADAS is really useful in Indian conditions.
Palio_2005 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 14:09   #129

Infractions: 0/2 (11)

Originally Posted by ashkamath View Post

I prefer their current strategy of chasing the value conscious customer and offering them a cheaper alternative rather than a feature packed one. Citroen will struggle in the mainstream rat race if their cars are priced anywhere close to competition. Like I mentioned before for consumers seeking high-tech, safety-oriented, and feature-rich vehicles, numerous alternatives are available. I like Citroen's current strategy of targeting the value-oriented segment. Citroen is a budget brand abroad and that's what they do best.
shortbread is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 17:36   #130

Citroen Basalt Full Brochure Leaked — variant-wise Features.

- The nifty little adjustable under-thigh support will remain exclusive to the Basalt top model with the turbo petrol-automatic powertrain only.

- The normal petrol will come in the lower two variants only while the turbo petrol will only come in the higher two trims. Both the Basalt turbo variants will also get a 6-speed torque converter automatic transmission option.

- Turbo variants will get some exclusive features like:

Sliding front armrest
Auto AC
Rear AC vents
LED projector headlamps
Centre cabin lamp
2x rear USB ports with fast charging
Rear defogger
Premium roof liner

The base model of the You variant gets the following notable features as standard:
Citroen Basalt Review-1.png

In the Plus variant of the Basalt gets the following additional features:

Citroen Basalt Review-2.png

In the Max top model of the 2024 Citroen Basalt, we get the following additional features:

Citroen Basalt Review-3.png

Brochure leaked:

Citroen Basalt Review-.png
Citroen Basalt Review-b.png
Citroen Basalt Review-c.png
Citroen Basalt Review-d.png

Link:
volkman10 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 21:27   #131

I keep hearing how the C3 Aircross and the Basalt handle during people's TD, but the only thing that keeps me from looking at them is the lack of cruise control. I am OK with not having a push button start at the highest trim, but I NEED cruise control.

So, my question is can we add aftermarket Cruise Control (do we even get such kits in India?) and what are the repercussions of doing that? Will it void the warranty? Will other systems start malfunctioning?
smilealways24 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 22:06   #132

Based on the leaked feature list, the NA top variant is grossly under kitted.

Key Missing features in the NA top model
1. Led Projector headlamps
2. Auto AC
3. REAR AC Vents
4. Front arm rest with sliding and storage
5. Rear view camera (This is absent for both NA top and turbo mid variant)

No wonder the base model started at Rs. 7.99 lakh because it is bare bones.

Also still no news on the pricing of top model AT. It is much awaited so that appropriate comparison of feature vs price cam be made.
ferrarirules is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th August 2024, 22:48   #133

Citroen has been charging about 1.05L for the turbo engine over NA engine on C3 and about 1.30L for the AT over MT on C3 Aircross.

Ballpark pricing could be (give or take 20k)

You NA MT - 7.99L
Plus NA MT - 9.49L
Plus Turbo MT - 10.99L
Max Turbo MT - 11.99L
Plus Turbo AT - 12.29L
Max Turbo AT - 13.29L
Comrade is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th August 2024, 10:23   #134

After reading many comments here I am curious to know how can the lack of cruise-control feature be a deal-breaker for buyers.

I have cruise-control in my Carens, but I hardly get to use it. Even on express-way it is difficult to maintain speeds for long. I believe there is a separate thread on use of cruise-control in India.

For me, it cannot be a deal breaker for a car at the price that Basalt is offered at.
Knightrider is online now   (28) Thanks
Old 14th August 2024, 11:48   #135

I think Cruise-control is essential for most of us. I definitely need it. Even if its for 5 mins I get to step off the gas pedal so I can give some rest to my leg after coming out of a horrible traffic snarl into the open road. But that's just me! I am hoping in the future Basalt would offer one. All in all I like Basalt for what it offers w.r.t price. It is a value for money product, no doubt. More such products in India, the merrier. Many thanks!
ags82 is offline   (2) Thanks