Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 2nd January 2012, 10:59   #16

Re: Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150

Originally Posted by sharma_sanjeevi View Post
Thanks Pavan Anna. More Major Updates to share with you.

As discussed today morning, the Denting, Welding & Flooring started around 10:30 am today and finished ALL the above at 5:45 pm . Unfortunately forgot to take the Camera with me, so couldnt click pics of the process.

However, went again to the Garage, but it was dark there, everyone has gone due to Sunday. Clicked 2 Pics which i am sharing with you.

The Tinker did the flloring job with precision & denting was also very good & above all he was dedicated for my scooter today, as he was waiting for the spares of an accidental car to arrive, but it didnt happen. So i got lucky.

Now i need the following with your help:

1. Original Tail Light: Get me 2, i want to keep one in reserve.
2. Dicky Lock.
3. Original Clutch & Front Brake Levers.
4. Rubber Set.
5. Original front Mudguard fish.
6. Original Side Step: Vespa Written on it.
7. Badges & Stickers.
8. Original Vespa Chrome Rear View Mirror

Also, need guidance on selecting the paint. I will be going with the White Color, as it is the Original Color of the scooter. Let me know which paint brand to use.

Pavan, thanks a lot for helping me. if everything goes well and i receive the cosmetic items from you. The scooter will be ready by next weekend will be ready. But lets see how it goes..!!

Apologies if i have bugged you at a wrong time
Sanjeev, Thats a beautiful scooter you have got there. And she seems pretty much restorable without major issues. Looks like you already started working on her.
Congratulations and wish you all the best with your restoration. Looking forward to the final outcome.

Priyadarshan
priyadarshan.b is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:02   #17

Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Awesome..SS, looking forward to the pics..

I am on a similar hunt as well, a CJ3B petrol and a Bajaj Priya..

why Priya, because a Vespa 150 will be too much for me to handle and a Bajaj Priya will be the next best

if you come across something, please do let me know

Will a Bajaj 150 fit in your requirements? I heard about one for sale recently. I might be able to help you finding a Priya/Bajaj 150 since they both look same.

Priyadarshan
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:14   #18

Originally Posted by priyadarshan.b View Post
Sanjeev, Thats a beautiful scooter you have got there. And she seems pretty much restorable without major issues. Looks like you already started working on her.
Congratulations and wish you all the best with your restoration. Looking forward to the final outcome.

Priyadarshan
Thanks Priyadarshan

The scooter was in good condition when i received, mainly the work was on the flooring which was rusted. Apart from this, nothing on the engine front, it is working fine. But first fulfill the requirement of Anupam

Yes, the restoration has started, and by gods grace everything is going well.

And, i also want a Bajaj 150, for a friend of mine. Do let me know, in case you come across.
Old 2nd January 2012, 11:17   #19

Thanks Priyadarshan

The scooter was in good condition when i received, mainly the work was on the flooring which was rusted. Apart from this, nothing on the engine front, it is working fine. But first fulfill the requirement of Anupam

Yes, the restoration has started, and by gods grace everything is going well.

And, i also want a Bajaj 150, for a friend of mine. Do let me know, in case you come across.
Sure man.. I will look out for a 150 as well. Wish i get a vespa like yours..

Priyadarshan
Old 2nd January 2012, 12:56   #20

Nice find Sanjeevi.Wishing you a successful restoration.
Hyderabad has become a hub for Vespa 150 restorations and all the Vespa parts like the dual lens rear lamp cover,White beading set,Vespa footrest are available here.Let me know if you need anything for your restoration.
hillram is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2012, 13:11   #21

Originally Posted by hillram View Post
Nice find Sanjeevi.Wishing you a successful restoration.
Hyderabad has become a hub for Vespa 150 restorations and all the Vespa parts like the dual lens rear lamp cover,White beading set,Vespa footrest are available here.Let me know if you need anything for your restoration.
Thanks Ram. Good to see you on my thread.

Love your collection of the scooters and the HCSC also. Yeah, true Hyderbad has become a hub for Vintage Vespas. Thanks to the enthusiasts like you

Definitely would let you know, thanks a lot for the kind gesture.

Will keep updating the thread, as the restoration progresses.
Old 3rd January 2012, 09:25   #22

Update:

1. Body Paint Scraping started with the Paint Remover.
2. Dupont Paint purchased, pepper white (Light Off White) shade.
3. Zinc Oxide Spray.
4. Oil Putty.
5. Lacquer.
6. Thinner

Will post the WIP Pictures tomorrow, as the work progresses.

Again Posting the Question which i wanted to ask in my previous posts, kindly guide me for the below:
"Question to fellow experts: Is the provision for the Mirror on the Handle Original or is it a modification ?"
Old 3rd January 2012, 10:06   #23

Update:

1. Body Paint Scraping started with the Paint Remover.
2. Dupont Paint purchased, pepper white (Light Off White) shade.
3. Zinc Oxide Spray.
4. Oil Putty.
5. Lacquer.
6. Thinner

Will post the WIP Pictures tomorrow, as the work progresses.

Again Posting the Question which i wanted to ask in my previous posts, kindly guide me for the below:
"Question to fellow experts: Is the provision for the Mirror on the Handle Original or is it a modification ?"
hello Sanjeev,

I dont think thats an original provision. Never saw that on any of the scooters. Its probably a modification done by the last owner and i think it looks pretty smart one. May be you can think of continuing with that, unless you are obsessed with originality.

Priyadarshan
Old 3rd January 2012, 10:18   #24

Wonderful work.. I have always a dream of doing such restorations. Indeed these are result of passion and love towards scooters. Hope i do it sometime later in my life.

Off topic - please excuse me--Lovable memories. I learnt riding two wheeler in my dad's Bajaj Chetak 12V electronic 1997 model. I had to sell the scooter due to shortage of space for parking. Sold it with heavy heart. But still my dad's old CD 100 SS 1993 is going strong and it is very rarely used at my native place.
rki2007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2012, 10:23   #25

@Priyadarshan,

Thanks for the response. I will surely check that out once the Handle is scraped off the paint. In case that is a modification, the welding marks would be there.

Yes. It does seem to be a smart modification, if it is in reality. Would like to continue with this provision, as it would be easy to fix the mirror instead of wrapping it up on the handle.
Old 3rd January 2012, 20:11   #26

Will a Bajaj 150 fit in your requirements? I heard about one for sale recently. I might be able to help you finding a Priya/Bajaj 150 since they both look same.

Priyadarshan
Hi Priyadarshan,

yes very much interested , I see that you are in Pune, can you pl. PM your number

Old 4th January 2012, 16:16   #27

Update Time:

1. Body Color Scraping, almost completed. Work halted due to the Painter having slight fever.
2. The Handle will also be scraped today itself, pic attached.

Next Step: Probably tomorrow
1. Spraying of Zinc Oxide.
2. Putty Work & Scraping

Hope to complete the above tasks in this week & from next week onwards the painting and refitting of the scooter will start. Keeping fingers crossed

Uploading some of the Pictures, i clicked today:
Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02152.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02153.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02154.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02155.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02156.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02157.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02158.jpg  

Old 4th January 2012, 16:37   #28

Update Time:

1. Body Color Scraping, almost completed. Work halted due to the Painter having slight fever.
2. The Handle will also be scraped today itself, pic attached.

Next Step: Probably tomorrow
1. Spraying of Zinc Oxide.
2. Putty Work & Scraping

Hope to complete the above tasks in this week & from next week onwards the painting and refitting of the scooter will start. Keeping fingers crossed

Uploading some of the Pictures, i clicked today:
Nice going Sanjeev. Its good that you are doing a thorough job of scrapping off old paint. Just a suggestion. Get that Vespa 150 monogram removed and kept safely with you to prevent any damage to that..

Priyadarshan
Old 4th January 2012, 16:50   #29

Nice going Sanjeev. Its good that you are doing a thorough job of scrapping off old paint. Just a suggestion. Get that Vespa 150 monogram removed and kept safely with you to prevent any damage to that..

Priyadarshan
Thanks Priyadarshan.

Yes, i will ask the Painter to remove the Badge. Decided to Scrape off the old paint on the suggestion from Pavan Anna.

I hope the Final finish will be good after this. Lets hope for the best..!!
sharma_sanjeevi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2012, 17:07   #30

Thanks Priyadarshan.

Yes, i will ask the Painter to remove the Badge. Decided to Scrape off the old paint on the suggestion from Pavan Anna.

I hope the Final finish will be good after this. Lets hope for the best..!!

With Pavan Anna's advice you can definately be assured to achieve perfection and long lasting results. If possible, take the badge in your custody. A lot of treasure in terms of original parts, trims, monograms have been lost due to carelessness of painters/mechanics, probably because they dont understand the historical value and treat it as just another vehicle.

Priyadarshan