Team-BHP > Road Safety

Old 14th March 2021, 06:06   #76

Re: Unsafe driving by YouTube reviewers for channel views

Originally Posted by rajivr1612 View Post
I took a liking to FK initially but later fizzed out. Dangerous driving aside, I don't see much of daily drive cars reviewed by him. Nowadays I watch V3 Cars - no ear busting BG music & to the point reviews.
I totally agree, this is one of the better channels.

One think that always strikes me while seeing videos which have views greater than 10k is that they are almost always fawning videos, and small things are pointed out to make it look like they are impartial.

The most egregious of them is Geekyranjit who made his following in bland, insipid IT videos and now has become a car expert, regurgitating manufacturer spiel.
srikanthp3 is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 11:19   #77

I see two key ways to stop this kind of crazy, death-inviting nonsense:-
  • Stop the bad things - report such videos immediately for the horrific content.
    By this, irresponsible content posters will be taken to task.
  • Start the good things- Request Team-BHP to publish video reviews online.
    By this, aam junta will know what’s genuinely good and objective when it comes to automotive reviews
JoshMachine is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 11:53   #78

I think its very much a responsibility of the viewers as well to report such videos to police to stop such irresponsible behavior, putting everyone at risk.

There was a incident similar where a rider posted a social media post doing 299KMPH on a Yamaha R1 on Electronic city flyover in Bangalore, and later was taken to task by police by tracking him down.

Posting the link for reference - https://www.news18.com/news/auto/ben...o-2726679.html
sridhar24 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 12:17   #79

"Itna hard nahi hoti hai" (or something) ~ famous last words of this guy, probably.

Watch the bloke hold the camera in one hand and the steering wheel with half of his other....what do we say...

About FK, I had a nice chuckle when debating about him with a fan-boy on the YT comment section of a different video. I normally don't engage trolls online, but that was too golden an opportunity to resist. Wish I could recall what exactly he kept rambling on about, would make for a nice group laugh.
TheHelix0202 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 13:00   #80

There are others on YT like StreetBurner, HellRider and RiskOnTheStreet who post videos of street racing, stunt biking, swerving in and out of traffic like maniacs and pushing their bikes to the limit.

Simply reporting to police will not work since they will gladly pay the fines and be on their way. Unless YT takes a stand a pulls down their videos these people will continue to throw caution to the winds and risking their own lives as well as lives of other motorists.
devilking is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 13:47   #81

There are numerous Youtubers who do these stunts all the time for name, fame and little money, FK is the most famous of these and obviously gets more views and is hated by us, the sane people.

People do not have time to read lengthy reviews, do not have resources to drive or ride cars and bikes, they live their fantasies through these Youtubers, hence the following. Few others would like to call themselves 'car/bike lovers' and prove their love to their family and friends, by following these vloggers. As long as people watch these kind of videos, vloggers will keep making these videos, we can't do anything about that. Lets face it, Youtube will do nothing, if you hate it, the video will 'trend', cops have enough headaches to deal with and they are busy arranging protocols and issuing challans, on top of that, few of these vloggers are not only influencers but also influential.

And we are also a bit of hypocrites ourselves, our views are driven by narratives, we write 'driving enthuastically on the highway' to hide our high speeds, we may not be maniacs, but from time to time we do stuff we wont be able to admit here. At the end of the day, not giving attention to these attention seeking vloggers is the best thing that we can do!
tchsvy is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 16:58   #82

I feel like we haven't got the point yet, the reason people watch these Youtubers isn't to judge or assess a car and make an informed purchase decision, it's just entertainment for them. They may brand themseleves as "Reviewers" as much as they like, heck even we have named this thread as such! but the fact is they shall never be the ones providing information to those who seek it, and will rather be there for the people who want to watch something for the heck of it. I feel like we need to approach this topic from this perspective. Also, we can try to, but reporting them shall quite unfortunately not achieve anything in the long term unless serious rash driving is being shown (Like a few videos above), otherwise it'll be down for a day or two and be reinstated later. After all the views they get is also money for Youtube itself, and I'm sure they'll let passive-aggressive driving slide.
superguy282 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 19:04   #83

One point I wanted to add from the review perspective which I feel all these You Tubers are missing is the driving aspect of the car. They are always trying the new cars on Highways and giving feedback of 0-100, top speed and all of those stuff while a key aspect of the cars drive in city with Bumper to Bumper traffic is missed out. I feel its equally important to explain how the car drives in B2B traffic, how easy it is to creep, hows the pull of the car at slow speeds, frequent gear changes etc.
swarnava.ch is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 19:25   #84

Originally Posted by swarnava.ch View Post
One point I wanted to add from the review perspective which I feel all these You Tubers are missing is the driving aspect of the car.... B2B traffic, how easy it is to creep, hows the pull of the car at slow speeds, frequent gear changes etc.
There is a channel by the name DDS on YouTube. I think those brothers do a good review. Have seen them review cars like how we would use them in daily life.

(Disclaimer: Not associated. Was checking their channel out for some driving technique videos)
RavSam is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 23:57   #85

Wish to express my thanks and gratitude to mods and members who are contributing on this thread. Might be I am able to throw some light from an end user’s perspective regardless of my used car experience (linea) I purchased in the month of August’20. Trying to share everything I could in bits and pieces over here.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-...ml#post4886775 (Does it make any sense to buy the Fiat Linea T-Jet in 2019?)

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-...ml#post4891550 (Does it make any sense to buy the Fiat Linea T-Jet in 2019?)

Originally Posted by RavSam View Post
There is a channel by the name DDS on YouTube. I think those brothers do a good review. Have seen them review cars like how we would use them in daily life.

(Disclaimer: Not associated. Was checking their channel out for some driving technique videos)
On similar lines with RamSam, within 15 days of ownership I reached out to DDS / Free Advice {Ravi & Rohit} for the purpose of sharing my used car experience. Intent was to just share thoughts, checkpoints and homework I did over past years that may help others exploring genuine options in used car market. There were no commercial interests, also I wish to inform that I am not associated with any youtuber/channel over any streaming platform and have no interest promoting any channel on this forum.

Mods may delete / move post to appropriate thread if required

Reason I reached out to them
1. From and end user’s perspective I find their videos quite genuine with core issues addressed to the core.
2. They are responsive.
3. They’ve built good credibility over the years amongst viewers.

Got prompt reply from Ravi {DDS} and he was eager to meet in Gurgaon for detailed shoot. I promised I will be meeting him over the week as per my office commitments. We {as in myself, Ravi and Rohit} met cordially near Leisure valley park Gurgaon in Sep'20. There were many questions asked - how is my experience going, how much price I paid, what aftermarket works I did, what was the outcome of car’s inspection etc. I promptly answered as much I can and then only, they got convinced for a detailed shoot.

As they shoot car reviews in Hindi I was skeptical where to post this video (as most of our members know English). May be this thread holds relevance.
Here is the link below.

This video went live in Jan’21. Until then they suggested to keep driving as much as possible since it’s a used car unexpected issues may show up. It was eventually a good suggestion as I experienced one minor breakdown (hose pipe leakage, coolant drained out, radiator flush) in the middle of my Delhi – Pune journey. By god’s grace issue was resolved within 2-3 hours time and it’s been another 10,000 kms I've driven Linea without trouble.

I checked comments for about 5-6 days, most of viewers responded positively. Surprisingly, within 2-3 days after it went live, some youtubers (don’t wish to take names) reached out to me over Telegram/WA inviting me on their channel. I politely declined each and every request with a thanks message as my intent was very clear. I’d no interests in promoting channels. Experiences are shared for helping each other and not for commercial interests.

Last edited by OneToughRider : 15th March 2021 at 00:02. Reason: typo
OneToughRider is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 15th March 2021, 00:15   #86

Originally Posted by RavSam View Post

Been following them since the start. Their videos are simple and informative. They about the stuff that matters such as the reliability of the car, ASS experience, and how has the car held up during long-term ownerships. Definitely among my favorite youtubers.
adityagurjar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th March 2021, 03:16   #87

Originally Posted by vishy76 View Post
And ofcourse, his blind supporters who are out there to defend him in the comment section when you point this out are another lot of fools altogether.
I do Follow, Support him (from time to time and less so today) and have realized he does not appreciate if you Comment or say something that goes against what he does. Forget high speed runs, he once jumped out of the driver seats of what appeared to be a Mahindra Thar, to prove that it can drive (or move) itself. Was basically trying to show how much torque the vehicle had. I'll admit, the jeep was probably moving at 5kmph when he jumped out and there was someone inside the jeep (on the front passenger seat) filming his antics with a song playing on the side. I did advice him not to do it and it did not go down well. That is when I realized there is little use in correcting such people. They are in it for just the Followers, Likes and nothing else.
sandeepmohan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th March 2021, 04:09   #88

I have always loved the reviews and ownership threads posted on TeamBHP, but the Video post in the OP is nothing but hooliganism or car bashing. No one in their sane mind will ever put their car to so much stress in a day.
And the strange thing is that this YouTube has garnered around 7 Lakh views already and this is kind of an encouragement for the YouTuber to churn more videos of such kind. Not the best way to promote a vehicle.
swunkjyn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2021, 07:57   #89

What is amazing and unfair in unthinkable ways is that you could be doing 1kmph over the actual highway limit and still be charged 1000 Rs in fine at speedcams within minutes, whereas folks like these walk and drive freely even after breaking the limit several times over for everyone to see.

Our country's laws are not only ambiguous but also purely for the sake of political gain out of sheer convenience.
haldar_siliguri is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 15th March 2021, 12:20   #90

In an age of growing competition, even within Youtubers, this is bound to happen. Sensible people probably start ignoring such Youtubers, but you will still find many subscribing to them. The larger than life attitude and wannabe styles just attract too much attention, read followers. And then once you have a million subscribers, even companies can't ignore you.

To point out, I am especially annoyed with drag race videos filmed on normal roads for cars, and more so for bikes. Young Youtubers get on newly constructed highways/espressways showcasing mindless drag races between any two bikes or cars. The other day I saw a drag race between a Thar and a Compass aired on one of the channels.

The problem is that they become famous and influence many more to do the same. One such Youtuber from around Agra I guess and who has a bike channel became famous due to drag races on newly constructed expressway. Now he has attained influencer status and gets to drive Kawasaki H2 etc. Result, I see so many "Me Too Youtubers" now doing the same thing.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com