Old 26th May 2013, 18:02   #316

Re: JETTA TDI MT HIGHLINE Test Drive Experience

Mod Note : There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by GTO : 27th May 2013 at 13:32.
jinu_joseph is offline   Received Infraction
Old 27th May 2013, 02:43   #317

I am getting around 12.5 - 13.0 in city and around 16 on highways. Highway cruising is 120 plus this also included Yamuna expressway. Ac is 100 % used with lots of idling with Ac. Generally do delhi kanpur in half tank around 460 Kms.
Old 27th May 2013, 10:53   #318

Mine is an auto,i get only 8.5 in city and 11.5 in highways.have got 14 in highway but that was at speeds around 70 which is near impossible in cruze.

Last edited by GTO : 27th May 2013 at 13:33. Reason: Quoted post deleted
Old 27th May 2013, 11:42   #319

I have a 2012 Cruze LTZ but with MT. I always get a FE of above 11 in the city. On the highway, I can manage about 16 kmpl if on a sedate drive. However, this is a 5 speed gearbox.

The new Cruze has a 6 speed gearbox and a reworked engine. So this should be more fuel efficient even in the 6 speed AT version.
Old 27th May 2013, 14:09   #320
ZMG

It would be helpful if all the automatic owners mention there fuel efficiency and the conditions and the kind of traffic. For example it takes me 1.5 hours on a normal day to return home in the evening. The distance covered is around 20 km.
ZMG is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2013, 12:25   #321

Originally Posted by petroheadd View Post
Hello friends,

Story :... car has done only 13k over 2.5 years. I have my office provided car to pick me up and drop me .I use my car basically for party outings, night drives , sunday drives , etc.

The dilemma started when i wanted to upgrade my car . There is basically no need for it so the head is saying a simple "NO". My monthly run is almost nothing, the Beat is serving well , they why do i need to invest in a new car asks the head.

I can go for a bigger car by not bothering much, i would not be effected financially much, its always fun to own a nice car. My heart would not settle for a small upgrade ,if the head agrees to and the purchase is made withing the next 30 days then the possible open options are:

Chevy Cruze, Renault Fluence, Hyundai Elantra

If i keep the Beat for now for next 1 year or so i wo'nt mind going a segment higher

But somewhere i am still confused whether to upgrade or keep !
Rent a car. It's lighter on the pocket, hassle-free and you can get a different car every time. In the short run you *could* feel its abit expensive, but on the long run (looking at the way D segment sedans depreciate), its definitely more economical & convenient. Whatsay!
Old 12th July 2013, 14:42   #322

Re: Fish me out of this 15 lac soup!

Originally Posted by GrammarNazi View Post
Rent a car. It's lighter on the pocket, hassle-free and you can get a different car every time. In the short run you *could* feel its abit expensive, but on the long run (looking at the way D segment sedans depreciate), its definitely more economical & convenient. Whatsay!
Pray tell me where can i get D-segment cars on self drive hire in India ? Zip Car only offers Scorpio or Figo (3-series is prohibitively expensive)
Old 12th July 2013, 15:11   #323

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
...(3-series is prohibitively expensive)
And depreciation in D segment cars is also quite prohibitively expensive. They depreciate by 30% in year 1, and subsequently by atleast 5-7% every year. Keeping that in mind, rentals would be cheaper.

I'm quite sure that local travel guys can arrange for a D segment self drive car if paid well. Even Zoom cars (B'lore Zip cars) has a tie-up with some travels guy for self drive cars, they aren't doing it all by themselves.
Old 16th July 2013, 12:49   #324

Car in the 10-12 Lakhs Segment

Guys Pardon me if its an OT here,

I am posting it on behalf of a friend of mine.

A family of five are looking for a new car ( Sedan or SUV ) in the 10-12 lakhs segment. (MAX 13)

The car is supposed to be running on the not so flat regions of Kerala ( Patthanamthitta to be exact).

What they are looking for is a trouble free car with refined ride quality to maintain.

P.S: This person here is not interested about Duster / Ertiga ( which were my original suggestions).

So I would like to get an opinion of our experts in the forum.
Old 17th July 2013, 23:28   #325

Re: Car in the 10-12 Lakhs Segment

Originally Posted by TheHkrish View Post

P.S: This person here is not interested about Duster / Ertiga ( which were my original suggestions).
How about the Nissan Sunny ? Lots of space, decent ride quality and a goof engine. That should sum it up.
Old 15th August 2013, 13:35   #326

I am restarting this thread as the original argument of the thread is dated and I am not able to locate pertinent information for the same argument in today's scenario.

My Requirements:
On road price : upto 15 lacs
Engine: petrol
1st preference : power
2nd preference : comfort
3rd preference : gadgetery/features and looks

Options (as of now, please suggest others):
1. New Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI : price will be higher
2. Hyundai Elantra 1.8 : The rear suspension is not a multi link
3. Volkswagon Jetta 1.4 : there is no powerful petrol option

If possible I am looking at comparative among the above three. Any other good option coming in the near future. I will be looking towards a buy by Jan 2014.

Also, I am looking at a comparison between manual vs automatic keeping in mind an enthusiast driver. Does the paddle shift in automatics provides the same driving pleasure as a manual?

Is it a confirmed news that the new 2014 Elantra would have multi link rear suspension?

Old 15th August 2013, 17:28   #327

Originally Posted by TorquePeedo View Post
My Requirements:

Also, I am looking at a comparison between manual vs automatic keeping in mind an enthusiast driver. Does the paddle shift in automatics provides the same driving pleasure as a manual?

Is it a confirmed news that the new 2014 Elantra would have multi link rear suspension?
Unfortunately, only the above the 3 cars fit your requirements, and even among the 3, you'll most likely get the base models (considering 15L OTR).

1. A/T's with or without paddle shifts will cross 15L OTR considering the scenario today. Take a test drive yourself and check whether you like the paddle shifts or not. Nobody can help you there, it's a personal preference.

2. Amongst the 3 options which you have given, my vote for the elantra. You can buy the base model and upgrade the suspension aftermarket. That'll give the best of both worlds i.e. decent handling and comfort won't be compromised much. Newer elantra, whether it'll come with multilink suspension, not yet confirmed for India.

3. New Octavia will be better than Elantra for sure, but considering Skoda's history, they'll most likely launch the L&K version which is tad too expensive. If you are willing to wait till they launch the baser models, nothing better.

4. The jetta with a remap will solve all your problems.

Note, that every car (except the octavia) will need some mods to fit your requirements. If you wish to keep the car stock and yet want everything, only one car fits your budget: Fiat Linea T-jet. Period.

Alternatively, you can get good discounts on the soon to be phased out laura models, wherein all your requirements shall be fullfilled.

Simple_car
Old 15th August 2013, 17:57   #328

Originally Posted by Simple_car View Post
Unfortunately, only the above the 3 cars fit
4. The jetta with a remap will solve all your problems.

Note, that every car (except the octavia) will need some mods to fit your requirements. If you wish to keep the car stock and yet want everything, only one car fits your budget: Fiat Linea T-jet. Period.

Simple_car
I am a bit new to cars. Can you please explain to me a remap and how and where can i get it done, how much difference will it produce and at what cost?

Linea T-Jet petrol is 1.4L and 112 bhp only.
Old 15th August 2013, 18:45   #329

I am a bit new to cars. Can you please explain to me a remap and how and where can i get it done, how much difference will it produce and at what cost?

Linea T-Jet petrol is 1.4L and 112 bhp only.
Dear TorquePeedo,

Me explaining what a remap is will defeat the purpose of this thread.

Here are some of the threads on this forum itself:

1. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...-chipping.html
2. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...skoda-etc.html
3. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...remapping.html

Unfortunately, t-bhp rules don't allow me to post links from other forums. The above threads will give you a basic idea on remaps. Search online and browse other auto forums as well. Once you have a basic idea, then ask members over here how to go about this process, where to get it done etc.

I would further request you to not look at the on paper specs of a car while deciding. Pure numbers will never tell the true story.

Linea may be only 112bhp, but the way it delivers power has to be experienced. Plus, the bhp/tonne figure is a better parameter to judge a cars power.

Simple_car
Old 16th August 2013, 01:40   #330

My Requirements:
On road price : upto 15 lacs
Engine: petrol
1st preference : power
2nd preference : comfort
3rd preference : gadgetery/features and looks

1. New Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI : price will be higher
2. Hyundai Elantra 1.8 : The rear suspension is not a multi link
3. Volkswagon Jetta 1.4 : there is no powerful petrol option
Keeping in mind what Simple_car said, you should honestly consider the existing Laura vRS while they have it in stock.
With the superb discounts on offer, you might be able to get it within your budget (assuming it is on-road budget).
It has superb power (1.8L Turbo-petrol), is quite comfortable (though the suspension is stiff as it is tuned for better handling - needed to keep the performance in control), and the vRS has quite a bit of kit as well (sun roof, xenons, sports seats, 16" alloys, stiffer suspension, etc.).

The other option is to wait for the new Octy, but it is still to be seen how they price it. In my opinion, it will be priced slightly higher than what the Laura is selling for (without discounts). If the Laura vRS fits into your price bracket pre-discount, then I suggest waiting for the Octavia. If it doesn't, get the Laura vRS.
The 1.4L turbo petrol that's there in the Jetta (and probably lower variants of the new Octavia too) just wouldn't keep you as happy as the 1.8L in the Laura. Similar story with the Elantra, even though its also 1.8L.

PS: Check out for deals on the Maruti Suzuki Kizashi, as well as the Honda Civic if any stock is available.
If you're open to pre-owned, look for a low milage, still in warranty, petrol Superb TSi M/T or the V6. Even the Accord V6 might keep you happy.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com