Old 13th December 2012, 21:07   #211

Originally Posted by headers
Budget maybe 15..Have mixed opinions about the Laura, though I am inclined to it.

Need a Diesel due to daily travel. Spend around 5 to 7 hours a daily on the road, hence the comfort, road feedback, NVH, Handling etc are a big plus rather than looks or other features. A good GC is great to have.

A mobile connection synced to car OE audio is a must have feature. Not sure if the laura has it.

Need large service intervals atleast 10K, decent service backup in Chennai.

How is the Jetta compared to the Laura ?

Duster has pathetic interiors and I am not sure I'll be comfortable for a long time in it.
Agree to your opinion on Duster. I have driven the Laura and the new Cruze. It's a tough call and you will need to try both cars in city as well as on the highway before signing on the dotted line. Jett's does not fare well in comparison to either. At that price point, I would kill for a Laura RS as I prefer Petrols.
Pedaltothefloor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th December 2012, 22:23   #212

Originally Posted by headers View Post

A mobile connection synced to car OE audio is a must have feature. Not sure if the laura has it.

Laura is gonna get replaced with the new Octavia some time next year. So better to skip Laura for the time being.
nkg77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th December 2012, 22:48   #213

Budget maybe 15..Have mixed opinions about the Laura
Given your budget you should seriously consider cruze also for shortlisting. The seats are pretty comfy with ample lateral support, even the position of steering and controls is ergonomically designed for stressfree driving. You should TD the new cruze.

Even i ll not suggest you for a duster. Interiors not at like a 12 lakh car.
Old 14th December 2012, 09:32   #214

How about a pre-owned civic and converting it to CNG? With your budget, you can go for a 2010/ 2011 model and save a LOTTT of $$$ at the same time.

The GC for the Civic has been stiffened in the post 08 models. And there are VFM fixes to stiffen the soft rear as well which many people across this forum have opted for.

Service intervals will also range around the 10k mark as most people get their hondas' serviced every 10k or 1 year.

And we usually have a Honda Service centre in a city so, you will be covered on that front as well.

As they say, you can never go wrong with a Honda. Yeah, I am a Honda fanboy

All this only, if you are comfortable going the pre-worshipped way.

If not, let me suggest the new CNG'ed avatar of the Honda City to you.

Would not recommend the Laura as we have the new Octavia coming up pretty soon and to top it the horror A$$ stories.

And if none of the above recommendations work for you, Choose to Cruze

Last edited by MetalBuff : 14th December 2012 at 10:00.
Old 14th December 2012, 10:16   #215

Re: Fiat Grande Punto : Test Drive & Review

Budget maybe 15..Have mixed opinions about the Laura, though I am inclined to it.

Need a Diesel due to daily travel. Spend around 5 to 7 hours a daily on the road, hence the comfort, road feedback, NVH, Handling etc are a big plus rather than looks or other features. A good GC is great to have.

Duster has pathetic interiors and I am not sure I'll be comfortable for a long time in it.
I think after the Punto, the Cruze wouldn't impress you, because its only fast, not exciting enough!
Have driven the Laura and Jetta both, the Laura handles better, but i somehow liked the Jetta more, it has a big car feel to it, has more space than the Laura, is relatively new in the market, and I am in love with the way the Jetta looks, I dont mind a car being overpriced as long as it looks good! Typically male!
599gto is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2012, 10:18   #216

Re: Good options to upgrading from Punto?

If you are considering a Skoda,you should read this thread
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ev-motors.html

The Cruze is actually your best bet.The LT will come to about 16L+ OTR while the LTZ is 18.3L OTR.I don't think the LT has bluetooth audio streaming(not sure!!).If that's the case,you will have to stretch to the LTZ.Service intervals are 7.5k kms.

The Jetta is a brilliant car.But I don't think it will fit your budget.If you are considering the Jetta,you should know that my dad's client's brand new Jetta(Chennai based) had a transmission failure and was in shop for 2 months.I don't have any more details so I haven't posted about this incident in the forum.Do make note of Ajmat's experience as well.

Another worthy alternative is the Fiesta.I know it is one segment lower but it is one great car to drive.It might lack outright power but the sweet transmission and no turbolag is a treat.Plus it has a great OE system WITH audio bluetooth streaming.The top end can be had for 10.6 to 10.9L with current offers.Suggest you TD the car.I have left out the Vento since it lacks the bluetooth feature.

Originally Posted by MetalBuff View Post
How about a pre-owned civic and converting it to CNG? With your budget, you can go for a 2010/ 2011 model and save a LOTTT of $$$ at the same time.

The GC for the Civic has been stiffened in the post 08 models. And there are VFM fixes to stiffen the soft rear as well which many people across this forum have opted for.

Service intervals will also range around the 10k mark as most people get their hondas' serviced every 10k or 1 year.

And we usually have a Honda Service centre in a city so, you will be covered on that front as well.

As they say, you can never go wrong with a Honda. Yeah, I am a Honda fanboy

All this only, if you are comfortable going the pre-worshipped way.

If not, let me suggest the new CNG'ed avatar of the Honda City to you.

Would not recommend the Laura as we have the new Octavia coming up pretty soon and to top it the horror A$$ stories.

And if none of the above recommendations work for you, Choose to Cruze
CNG is not widely available in Chennai

Hope this helps

Last edited by KINI : 14th December 2012 at 10:20.
KINI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2012, 10:31   #217

Hold on (if you can) for the

# Polo 1.6 or the Linea 1.6.

# Fiesta 1.5 with a remap

Amongst D segments,

# Wait for the new gen Octavia or go for a MT Laura/Jetta

# Used 320D (the best bet IMO)

EDIT : Read brraj's reply. I do drive a Yeti as well. A brilliant drive indeed. The best of both worlds. At 120kmph, you would be doing 2,000 revs in 6th.

Last edited by Sheel : 14th December 2012 at 10:46.
Old 14th December 2012, 10:35   #218

Originally Posted by KINI View Post

CNG is not widely available in Chennai
Thanks Kini. Wasn't aware of the scenario in Chennai so, there go my suggestions out of the window :( .Darn! Even going for LPG might not turn out to be a better option than diesel in that case.

One can also wait for the Ecosport if, time is not a constraint and accordingly take a call

Originally Posted by KINI View Post

I have left out the Vento since it lacks the bluetooth feature.
We have the option of purchasing the Bluetooth device (which will enable Bluetooth streaming on the OEM fitment) from the dealer itself though, it is very pricey and will set one back by around 16000.

Also, read some time ago, here itself, about a cord available on eBay circa 1.5k. Performs the exact same functions as what the Bluetooth device should provided, the wires are not a problem.

Last edited by MetalBuff : 14th December 2012 at 11:00.
MetalBuff is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2012, 10:37   #219

My vote goes to Skoda Yeti for

- Handling n Braking at triple digit speeds
- ABS+EBD+ESP and many more
- Unlimited Performance options
- Diesel
- Mild off roading option
- Power of Jetta
- 180mm GC
- Easy to drive n park in city and good highway manners
- AWD
- Rough road package

As its manual no need to worry about DSG failures, and also any skoda vehicle comes with 4year skoda shield.

Last edited by brraj : 14th December 2012 at 10:49.
brraj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th December 2012, 10:53   #220

Since you have owned the Punto I believe only a Linea 1.6 MJD would satisfy you, but that would not hit our roads until 2014 and obviously you cannot wait so long. I would suggest the following: Ford Fiesta, Renault Fluence E4, Volkswagen Jetta. I think Fluence ticks all the boxes for you apart from price perspective.

Edit: After posting my reply, saw brraj's post. Yeti is definitely a good option.

Last edited by PranavDesai : 14th December 2012 at 10:56.
Old 14th December 2012, 11:05   #221

Originally Posted by brraj View Post
My vote goes to Skoda Yeti for

- Handling n Braking at triple digit speeds
- ABS+EBD+ESP and many more
- Unlimited Performance options
- Diesel
- Mild off roading option
- Power of Jetta
- 180mm GC
- Easy to drive n park in city and good highway manners
- AWD
- Rough road package

As its manual no need to worry about DSG failures, and also any skoda vehicle comes with 4year skoda shield.
+1 to that. Add Exceptional Mileage and no Niggles!

Originally Posted by PranavDesai View Post
Since you have owned the Punto I believe only a Linea 1.6 MJD would satisfy you, but that would not hit our roads until 2014 and obviously you cannot wait so long. I would suggest the following: Ford Fiesta, Renault Fluence E4, Volkswagen Jetta. I think Fluence ticks all the boxes for you apart from price perspective.

Edit: After posting my reply, saw brraj's post. Yeti is definitely a good option.
Have Owned SX4, Fiat Linea, Volkswagen Vento. Have driven the Fluence, New Fiesta and Laura Elegance. Have had a test Drive of The Duster, Aria, BMW X1. I Ultimately Bought the Yeti! Quite a Lot of Modifications / accessorization is possible. i have also installed the Bluetooth which integrates into the Radio Bolero and Auto Headlamps!

Last edited by Sunilrj : 14th December 2012 at 11:08.
Old 14th December 2012, 11:35   #222
VMG

Go for Cedia Sports if you are going to keep the car more than 5 years ( Resale value is not good for Cedia)
It is a great car in all aspects like Handling, Braking, Performance, FE, GC and so on.
Old 14th December 2012, 12:27   #223

Re: Fish me out of this 15 lac soup!

What would be a logical upgrade from a Punto 1.3 MJD EP? I need similar or better driving comfort, ride and handling and FE.

Thoughts ?
Well if you can stretch for the Jetta, it is just the right replacement option. I drove the Jetta for a few days last week and i have no reason except price not to recommend this car.

Reasons for my suggestion-
  • Laura is about to be replaced, only available in 110hp in MT.
  • Great dynamics, super flat ride with lots of grip, though not as eager and agile as Laura.
  • Lowest MT has the 140hp state of tune with the 6 speed 'box
  • Lots of space, front seats are excellent support, ergonomics top notch.
  • Lowest MT variant gets all the safety equipment.
  • My Laura DSG with this same engine is as efficient as my Punto(15kpl City, 18-22 Highway), so i guess Jetta MT will be close/similar.

Another car i never forget to suggest is Yeti 4x4. Drive it once, either you will absolutely love it or completely hate it, there will be no confusion.

Last edited by .anshuman : 14th December 2012 at 12:30.
.anshuman is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th December 2012, 13:36   #224

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Well if you can stretch for the Jetta, it is just the right replacement option. I drove the Jetta for a few days last week and i have no reason except price not to recommend this car.
Even though the Laura could get replaced next year, I feel the TDI Ambition with DSG is still a good option. And it could have much better discounts compared to the Jetta. The latter is indeed a great car, but that Less is more ownership thread from Ajit still have a haunting effect

And yes, the Yeti indeed is another great option.

Last edited by vb-saan : 14th December 2012 at 13:44.
Old 14th December 2012, 14:52   #225

@Headers: Listing some more options i forgot to include in my last post.

From slightly lower price bracket-
I am not a fan of either the Vento or Rapid, in absence of any other well sorted all rounders they finally end up being recommended. The dynamics and suspension are not a match to your Punto, and even the build is not solid as you would expect from a proper VW/Skoda car. If its only the dynamics you are after, the new Fiesta has got this balance just right but with lot of essential horsepower missing which robs it of FTD factor.

Since FE is important to you, i am not including T-Jet and TSI.

If Size is not of much importance to you, the new soon to be launched 4 Cylinder Polo TDI might of some importance to you. It surely will not be a upgrade from the Punto but the extra german horses might make you consider this one.

Duster is another option you might like to consider, handling is nothing great but Ride and Composure is excellent, overall dynamics feel is more like from a Sedan than a SUV. The 110hp variant is quite peppy. The massive GC will help you take this car to places Sedans and Hatchbacks can only dream of. If you can wait a quite capable 4wd variant will be out by the end of this year.

Last edited by .anshuman : 14th December 2012 at 14:55.
.anshuman is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com