Old 16th August 2011, 15:33   #16

Re: Buying a *used* budget Sedan

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
why??
purely for your reading pleasure, and, incase you plonk for it, also for 0 savings for the next few years, take a dekko:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...ge-bullet.html
I was very much inspired on the above transformation. But the maintenance part keeps me away from Sonata. From the other threads the max mileage I could find is less than 8kmpl in city.
Also I'm not keen towards any major mod job.
Old 16th August 2011, 19:35   #17

By the time you come in Oct/Nov,you'd have good options.
  1. A 2004 Corolla Auto would be the best choice,if you get a good example - 3.75L
  2. Then comes the Baleno 2006/07 -approx 2.75L
  3. Follow that with a 2007sx4 which could be yours for a little over 3.5L
  4. The Lancer is fantastic outside but interiors are v.v.bland
I am not suggesting the Optra here as you'd have a problem selling it later ; a very competent car though.

You can't go wrong with 1 and 2
vigsom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2011, 19:58   #18

Thanks all for the inputs.

I came across the following deal, through my friend
2003 Corolla H1
2nd owner
Chennai registered
66k in odo (i don't believe since the service records are partially available)
Golden kind of color (i don't know the exact name)
with decent interiors and exteriors
50% life left on tyres
No info available on the condition of mechanical parts as my friend is not a petrol head
asking price - 3.5 lakhs (negotiable)
Reason for sale - Booked Altis Diesel

Is this the market price in Chennai now? What should I check in specific to Corolla other than general checklist?
Old 16th August 2011, 20:42   #19

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
I came across the following deal, through my friend
2003 Corolla H1
50% life left on tyres
No info available on the condition of mechanical parts as my friend is not a petrol head
asking price - 3.5 lakhs (negotiable)
Reason for sale - Booked Altis Diesel

Is this the market price in Chennai now? What should I check in specific to Corolla other than general checklist?
Price seems ok but the H1 is not a great buy unless the car is in unbelievable shape ; my suggestion would be to go for H2/H5(manual) or H3/H4(auto) as these have great features which are absent in the H1

If the tyres are of 2008/2009 then the mileage of 66k is genuine.

Please check service records from a Toyota dealer ; that would give you some idea if something is beng concealed.Also check who the first owner was - bizman or Co Executive?

I have a 2003 H4 which I believe is in ok shape ; no service records,no owner's manual,no spare key yet go it because I felt it would serve my purpose of "sparing use" well
Old 17th August 2011, 14:45   #20

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
my suggestion would be to go for H2/H5(manual) or H3/H4(auto) as these have great features which are absent in the H1
I'm not looking for all bells and whistles, I can live with the basic features. Also I'm not a big fan of Auto Tranny
Also check who the first owner was - bizman or Co Executive?
No info about the 1st owner. How should it help??
I have a 2003 H4
Could you please comment on the average maintenance cost? That could help me a lot. Thanks in advance
Old 17th August 2011, 16:14   #21

You can check who the owner is thro the rc book

Since you've indicated you don't want bells n whistles,you can consider the H1;but look at at least 6-7 cars before you take a call.

If you get a good example,you'll need to spend only on routine maintenance ; that has been my experience .

Suspension components are strong,so need no attention even past 1 lakh kms on normal roads

Brake fluid needs replacement every 2 years,oil once in 10,000kms and coolant ,almost never

Typical cost of consumables -
  • Rs.350 for Oil filter
  • 4 litres of oil at approx 300 a litre max.(no need to go for 5W30 as mentioned in the manual,even 15W40 suffices)
  • coolant-just a top up as and when level drop is seen - nothing significant
Pretty affordable;unlike the Skodas or Civics

Tyres are pricey - approx 5000 each and so are the mirrors

Just be sure that the ac is well kept ; it is a nuisance to service the unit as the dashboard needs to be opened,AND MOST AC TECHNICIANS want to make good money on Corollas.

Last edited by vigsom : 17th August 2011 at 16:18. Reason: addn.
Old 17th August 2011, 16:26   #22

^^^
thanks for the info.
Except the tyres everything seems close to Maruti and pocket friendly. Let me look for other corollas as well.

PS: Civic is not so costly to maintain IMO.
Old 17th August 2011, 16:39   #23

Typical cost of consumables -
vigsom, while buying a used car, one should NOT be looking just at the regular consumables and oil. There wont be much difference between a 2 lac 800, and a 15 lac civic.

Its the spare parts price list you should be looking at while buying a used car.

It would be better if one would call the A.S.S and get the approx pricing of commonly replaced parts like the suspension components, the Air Conditioner parts, Bumpers, mirrors, headlights, brake pads etc.. Also, try to know the interval by which the parts are replaced.

Maintenance for a used car means the above and not just regular oil changes.

For example, an OE lower arm of the IKON costs ~2k, where as the baleno costs ~10k. A complete suspension overhaul, done for an ikon will cost ~20k at the A.S.S, where as the baleno will cost more than double that. but then, the regular and periodic maintenance is more or less the same.

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
Except the tyres everything seems close to Maruti and pocket friendly. Let me look for other corollas as well.

Last edited by dhanushs : 17th August 2011 at 16:41.
dhanushs is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th August 2011, 17:34   #24

If you get a good example,you'll need to spend only on routine maintenance ; that has been my experience .

Suspension components are strong,so need no attention even past 1 lakh kms on normal roads

Tyres are pricey - approx 5000 each and so are the mirrors

Just be sure that the ac is well kept ; it is a nuisance to service the unit as the dashboard needs to be opened,AND MOST AC TECHNICIANS want to make good money on Corollas.
Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post

vigsom, while buying a used car, one should NOT be looking just at the regular consumables and oil. There wont be much difference between a 2 lac 800, and a 15 lac civic.

Its the spare parts price list you should be looking at while buying a used car.

Good thought in bold, @dhanushs

Whatever I have posted is based on my 15 years of experience in maintaining my cars under my supervision and not by going to any ASC

I have also,based on my experience,mentioned areas of concern in this car.

If you look at an ACI issue of 2009,you'll be surprised to see that the Corolla parts are not shockingly priced at all ; and also they're available easily outside dealerships.

I had indicated in my post that a good example woud only entail routine maintenance ; hence the emphasis only on consumables ; and that has been my experience

It is now Mr.Boss' call to take my inputs or leave it
Old 17th August 2011, 17:53   #25

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
Exactly and I've been looking for the same.
Started collecting the info from other threads for NHC, Lancer, Corolla, Fiesta and Verna.

Will post the comparision very soon (analysis is helpful for myself and the data for others)

It is now Mr.Boss' call to take my inputs or leave it
Each and every bit of input is valid and always considered

BTW can you post the snap shot from ACI 2009? or any link to access the particular info?
Old 17th August 2011, 20:05   #26

I'd greatly appreciate if you could post a list of the cost of various spare parts of the Corolla on here or if you could PM me a link. I'm greatly interested in picking up a 2004/5 Corolla myself.
Old 17th August 2011, 20:27   #27

^^ You could check the July 2010 , March 2009 and Nov2006 issues of ACI for spare parts prices(Jul2006 for the Corolla and the later ones for the Altis).

But you'd need to update yourself with these prices as on date.

All the best !!!
Old 17th August 2011, 21:30   #28

Looks like nobody mentioned the Cedia. Have a look at it, an awesome 2.0 liter engine, a double digit mileage, decent features, looks nice and on top of that, fits in your budget (or maybe you need to extend it a bit).
Old 17th August 2011, 23:42   #29

Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
Looks like nobody mentioned the Cedia.
I agree it is one of the best driver's car. But only a few are available in the used market that too quoting more than 4 lakhs.

If I find one around my budget, certainly I will go for it.
Old 17th August 2011, 23:46   #30

mr boss..what are your priorities??i mean driving pleasure/comfort/reliability/style.and what is your maximum budget?city/highway use.