Old 11th May 2006, 15:23   #31

Originally Posted by sajo
If FE and longevity is what you are looking for, do not look beyond the Honda. The Baleno will be tooooo dated in 2016 (its already dated now),for you plan to keep your car for so long.
Hey Sajo,

Why do u say 2016. We are in 2006 and he plans to keep the car for seven years which means till 2013. I don't know whether the Baleno is dated, it sure is a kick-*** car and great VFM.
Old 11th May 2006, 15:25   #32

cheapest car ?? and i am seeing all above 7L. list, this is interesting.
Old 11th May 2006, 15:34   #33

Originally Posted by kewlferrari
Hey Sajo, Why do u say 2016. We are in 2006 and he plans to keep the car for seven years which means till 2013.
All the 3 cars will be quite dated in 2016 anyway. And with manufacturers like Honda, GM phasing out models as fast as within 3-5 years, even the new Aveo might not be there in a few years. And for all you know, the Baleno would still be sold - maybe with a modified backside.

I don't know whether the Baleno is dated, it sure is a kick-*** car and great VFM.
Spot on, kewlferrari. The very fact that it is considered alongside newer cars itself is testimony to its contemporariness and VFM (datedness be damned).
Old 12th May 2006, 09:43   #34

Wow so much info in just one day !!

hrag, the data you have with your car is mind boggling.

shuvc, i got a chance to meet some customers in honda showroom yesterday. Most of them said they are getting around 13 kmpl, so i think i should use 13 kmpl for my calculations. yet to check out on aveo/baleno.

I also saw a few guys mention about verna, will verna be launched with next 2 months time?
Old 12th May 2006, 11:05   #35

Originally Posted by Yamaha100
shuvc, i got a chance to meet some customers in honda showroom yesterday. Most of them said they are getting around 13 kmpl, so i think i should use 13 kmpl for my calculations. yet to check out on aveo/baleno.

I also saw a few guys mention about verna, will verna be launched with next 2 months time?
Well I guess I just gave some benefit of doubt to the legendary City FE

Verna should be launched soon but maybe around Sep/Oct ? Can't recall .. there's a first drive report in the current Autocar issue.

Another thought .. if you like the Honda, but find it a tad too expensive .. you could look at taking it on a 5 yr loan tenor .. that way you'll probably save about 1 L on interest, thus reducing your total cost .. also you'll be free to sell the car easily after 5 yrs - i'm sure you'll be itching to get another new car 5 yrs down the line
Old 13th May 2006, 14:35   #36

Shuvc, i went to maruti service station and spoke to a few customers their feedback was 10 kmpl. I could not meet any customers for aveo in gm service, this might be difficult as its been launched recently.

now assuming i will do 1.5 Lakh kms in 7 years....i have redone the computation...

Baleno VXi

OTR - 7.0 L
Purchase cost = 1600*7.0*7*12 = 9.4 L
Mileage - 10kmpl, Litres - 15,000, Fuel Cost - 15 L
Total cost = 9.4 + 15 = 24.4 L

City EXi
OTR - 7.8 L
Purchase cost = 1600*7.8*7*12 = 10.48 L
Mileage - 13kmpl, Litres - 11,538, Fuel Cost - 11.54 L
Total cost = 10.48 + 11.54 = 22.02 L

The price difference is 2.4 L more for baleno.

This makes honda exi a lot cheaper. Car-experts, assuming i maintain a car well, is there no good diesel car option, which i can compare with honda exi?
Old 13th May 2006, 15:47   #37

Car-experts, assuming i maintain a car well, is there no good diesel car option, which i can compare with honda exi?
I'm not sure why you have ruled out the Indigo from your list. It is a very good VFM proposition.

You sound like someone with his head firmly on his shoulders. Look no further than the Indigo LS/LX/SX if costs over the years are important and your running is bound to increase.
Old 13th May 2006, 18:36   #38

Baleno VXi

OTR - 7.0 L

City EXi
OTR - 7.8 L

Thats a nice calculation. You forgot one rule though - "A dollar today is worth more than a dollar tomorrow" i.e. if you save money upfront, which you save on Baleno; it is worth more that the equal potential future savings (spread across 7 years) on fuel with NHC.

~maniac

Last edited by serious_maniac : 13th May 2006 at 18:40.
Old 13th May 2006, 20:47   #39

That's right. It's called Net Present Value in Financial Managment.
Old 13th May 2006, 20:59   #40
ECM

First of all I cant understand a logic to hold a car for 7 yrs When technology is at rocket speed and new ideas comming and going, how can one calculate a resale value of cars after 7 yrs,Example-Baleno,when introduced road cost was more than 8 L I think,Today LXI's cost below 7 so those who bought in 99-2000 today may be selling at a price of 3-3.25 L.maximum and those who bought LXI today will sell it at 2L after same time span.(If they get 2L after 7yrs they will be lucky seeing the tech boom in auto industry).
I as u know a proud Baleno owner,plus points are FE,AC,Suspension,Comfort-here I glad to say seats in Baleno are more comfortable than the cars you've mentioned,try by yourself and dont listen to me.
Choice is yours.If you ask me I would advise you to buy a 2nd Hand Baleno of 2000 model coz it has super all japs parts and old Balenoz give more FE than current makes(proven theory by me as I have 3 Balenoz fm 2001 to 2006 models) but for that you need to hunt too much and if u are lucky you may get it at a price of around 3L or even below.I know you are buying a brand new car but just xchanged my ideas.
Old 13th May 2006, 21:39   #41

baleno quality has really come down lately and maruti has not been able to maintain the reliability as before. It dated too.

NHC is more expensive than all the cars in this segment.

HM-mitsubishi dealers will give discounts to sell at a lower price than baleno. But even lancer is old

The car to buy is Ford fiesta or chevrolet aveo. The cars looks fresh, are competitively priced fresh interiors, powerful 100+ hp engines. 10+ kmpl FE.Throw in better features like ABS and airbags too.

Its time the jap cars face reality and bring in well priced, powerful and newer cars with better features.
Old 14th May 2006, 00:13   #42

devarshi84 you've got a solid point.

Though Baleno will not be too old still Fiesta and Aveo might be good looking and have more resale value even 6-7 years from now. You will still feel proud to come out of the new wheels. The advantage of Honda may be more but only slightly more. But come to think about it you also pay close to 1.5 lacs - 1.8 lacs in interest for a NHC VTEC. So in actually a Honda costs close to 10 lacs which is too much of an investment for an engine ! Fiesta is also good ( Fiesta 1.4 is in 5 - 6 lacs range) though maintenance might be an issue, But then we can drive carefully. Can't we?
Old 15th May 2006, 09:45   #43

Shuvc, i went to maruti service station and spoke to a few customers their feedback was 10 kmpl. I could not meet any customers for aveo in gm service, this might be difficult as its been launched recently.

now assuming i will do 1.5 Lakh kms in 7 years....i have redone the computation...

Baleno VXi

OTR - 7.0 L

City EXi
OTR - 7.8 L

This makes honda exi a lot cheaper. Car-experts, assuming i maintain a car well, is there no good diesel car option, which i can compare with honda exi?

BHPian, thanks for all your suggestions.

If some one can help me to add one diesel car option to honda exi it would be great. i believe that diesel are supposed to have higher maintenance, so when u name a diesel car option plese mention the maintenance cost aslo.
Old 15th May 2006, 11:04   #44

You will have to knock-off another 70K from the Baleno Vxi price. There's a decent discount on it + insurance free & free MGA
Old 15th May 2006, 12:11   #45

You will have to knock-off another 70K from the Baleno Vxi price. There's a decent discount on it + insurance free & free MGA
the actual price of baleno vxi is 7.7 after discounts it has come to 7.0 in bangalore.