Old 26th September 2005, 13:13   #76

Wait till you have some clarity on Fiat India status. There are some news/rumour/inside stories floating around in media around closure of fiat India.
Old 26th September 2005, 13:18   #77

thats been doing rounds for quite some time!!!!
but is there any authenticity to that?????
i still feel a bit attached to the petra!!! i don't know why????
guess because i learnt to drive on a fiat!! ...
but if it is going to be a pain for me to get it serviced, then i would rather not go for it!!!
i mean availability of spares as a major concern... and not the way the guys at the service r going to respond....
if they shut shop, then the spares would be a real headache, wouldn't it be???
advices please,
ak
Old 26th September 2005, 13:23   #78

Originally Posted by AvinashKeezh
like alloy wheels, spoiler, elect controlled RVMs, rear seat head rests and so on .... where as the ikon does not have those!!!!
1. Make a list of the features in the Petra ELX, the Ikon EXi and the Baleno LXi (if you want to bring it back into the picture)
2. Put a tick beside the features that makes a difference for you, those that you would really want in your car.
3. See which car satisfies most of the ticks (it is very difficult to get everything in one package - isn't that how life is ?
4. If your heart still wants the car which has a fewer number of ticks, see if the additional features can be had aftermarket. And if so, how much would the mods cost ?

That exercise would give you some facts to base your decision on. It is another matter that you might end up following your heart and buy the one with the least number of ticks !!

In your specific case there is a price difference of approx 35K between the Ikon and the Petra. For that price you can probably put on alloys and the spoiler on the Ikon. eRVM and head rests - how much do you need them ?
Old 26th September 2005, 13:23   #79

i mean availability of spares as a major concern... and not the way the guys at the service r going to respond....
if they shut shop, then the spares would be a real headache, wouldn't it be???
advices please,
ak
That will be a problem. But as pointed out, please wait to see the real picture. If Fiat is not going, then stick to the Petra. If the Tatas are taking over then stick to the Petra.

But if you cannot wait then buy the Ikon, though Ikons have this nasty habit of becoming ever more costly to maintain as time goes by.
Old 26th September 2005, 15:46   #80

Originally Posted by typeOnegative
That will be a problem. But as pointed out, please wait to see the real picture. If Fiat is not going, then stick to the Petra. If the Tatas are taking over then stick to the Petra. But if you cannot wait then buy the Ikon, though Ikons have this nasty habit of becoming ever more costly to maintain as time goes by.
Yes. I agree with that. If I am in your shoes, I would do the same.
Old 26th September 2005, 15:57   #81

goodies? what goodies?? you may ask...
like alloy wheels, spoiler, elect controlled RVMs, rear seat head rests and so on .... where as the ikon does not have those!!!!
please advice

ak
Dude, our friends here have been giving you good advice. If however you feel that alloy wheels, spoilers, ERVMs and rear seat headrests are more important than servicability, availability of spares and general peace of mind, go ahead. Its your money at the end of the day.

The other option would be to wait and watch, but then thats an approach without a logical end since you can wait forever as new models keep appearing on the horizon...at THIS POINT IN TIME, picking up a Fiat is recommended only if you are the gambling sort. There are far too many stories and rumours going around for a person to plonk down 6 lakhs on them...

Last edited by Steeroid : 26th September 2005 at 16:03.
Old 26th September 2005, 16:47   #82

steer,
lemme see if i can get some more bargains from the fiat guys, i would need more assurance from them regs the availability of spares.. so once that is figured out, i should not have much problems in finalising the deal...
and about the stories, most of them are circulated by non-fiat owners, i don't know, so if you take the percentage of happy fiat owners and compare with the percentage of other car owners, you would definitely have a lot bigger ratio in favour of the fiats... (which some would also say, is because of the less munber of fiat cars).. ..
but if TATA-FIAT is something to look forward to, then i feel the alliance would be a boon to the fiat owners, atleast in the short term..
hope i make up mind...

ak
Old 26th September 2005, 18:09   #83

don't know if the formatting is going to be good ... but here's the comparo!!!
Features Fiat Petra 1.6 ELX Ford Ikon 1.6 Exi
Engine Displacement 1596 CC 1597 CC
Max Power 100 PS 92 PS @ 5500
Max Torque 132 Nm 130 Nm @ 2500
Euro Compliance EIII EII
A/C with heater Yes Yes
Tinted glasses Yes Yes
Body Coloured Bumpers Yes Yes
Electronically adjustable RVMs Yes Manual
Fire Prevention System Yes No
Anti-Submarine Front & Rear Seats Yes NA
Power Steering Yes Yes
Power Windows (All around) Yes Yes
Child Lock in the rear windows Yes Yes
Collapsible Steering Column Yes NA
Central Door Locking Yes Yes
Digital Clock Yes No
Wheels 14 " Alloys 14" Extra (~20,000)
Rear Window Defroster Yes Yes
Height adjustable front seat belts Yes NA
Stone Guard Yes NA
Chrome Plated Radiator Grill Yes Yes
Front & Rear Ashtray Yes NA
Dashboard Dual (Fake wood) Metallic finish
Instrument Cluster with white dials Yes Yes
Tachometer Yes Yes
Rear seat neck restraint Yes No
Rear spoiler with lamp Yes Extra (~7500)
CA/CD Yet to finalize Extra (~9000)
Pre-wired speakers 6 Speakers 4 Speakers
Boot Release Manual Electronic
Boot Capacity 500 Lts 400 Lts
Fuel Capacity 45 Lts 45 Lts
Turning Radius 5.1 m 4.9 m

Cost OTR 5.9 L 5.7 L (+ Extras so eq model would be 6.1 atleast)

Last edited by AvinashKeezh : 26th September 2005 at 18:14.
Old 26th September 2005, 19:03   #84

The Ikon is EII ?

And you mentioned 5.53 L somewhere (with corp discount) ..

How long can you wait for this purchase ? 1 month , 3 months , 6 months ?
Old 26th September 2005, 19:16   #85

Arrey buy it and be done, yaar. Are you asking us for opinions or trying to sell us yours? Buy!
Old 26th September 2005, 19:47   #86

Steeroid, just noticed that you became senior T-BHPian. Congratulations!
Old 27th September 2005, 08:13   #87

LOL

when I first read that post It looked like you are angry that Steeroid became a senior before you.
Old 27th September 2005, 10:42   #88

Originally Posted by Steeroid
Arrey buy it and be done, yaar. Are you asking us for opinions or trying to sell us yours? Buy!
neither!!! dilemmas are pretty bad things to be in!!! you would know if you are in it ...
congrats on you promotion tooo!!!
BTW which one did you want me to go for?

ak
Old 27th September 2005, 11:15   #89

BTW which one did you want me to go for?

ak
Whatever you want to go for after listening to all the advice doshed out so liberally...like I said, the money is yours and therefore the decision is yours.
Old 27th September 2005, 11:28   #90

With the features you are quoting, AK, the Petra is the obvious choice. Provided you are sure about Fiat India.