Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 5th September 2009, 11:53   #1
BANNED

The Furniture Thread (Home/Office)

Ok i feel a bit stupid opening this thread as i am a total noob when it comes to furniture.

I am looking for some decent Cane Wood Furniture in Bangalore. Any pointers?

Also is Cane == Bamboo all the time or do they use different types of wood? How to make out if it is genuinely bamboo?
Old 5th September 2009, 14:28   #2
Team-BHP Support

Spit: Why cane furniture ? Not very comfortable in my opinion !

Last edited by Eddy : 5th September 2009 at 14:43.
Old 5th September 2009, 14:39   #3
BANNED

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Spit: Why cane furniture ? Not very comfortable in my opinion !
Oh this is for an open balcony not inside the house, where rain and other moisture might affect it.

Don't want to go plastic or metal.

I understand bamboo doesn't rot easily in rain. So was looking at this option.
Old 5th September 2009, 14:44   #4
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
Ok i feel a bit stupid opening this thread as i am a total noob when it comes to furniture.

I am looking for some decent Cane Wood Furniture in Bangalore. Any pointers?

Also is Cane == Bamboo all the time or do they use different types of wood? How to make out if it is genuinely bamboo?
Hi Spitfire, let me put in my two bits:
First of all, Cane, Bamboo, and WOOD are three entirely different materials. Wood is what comes from the body of a tree, and is largely used for making furniture. Cane is a type of stem, just as bamboo is a type of stem, but the similarity ends there. While bamboo is stiffer and harder, and used more for scaffoldings, pandals, shamianas etc, cane is more flexible, therefore used to make furniture.
Now what kind of furniture are you looking for ? If it is generally sofas, chairs, beds, etc, I would recommend the following: