Old 23rd April 2021, 07:21   #136

Re: Covid-19 pushes India’s Middle Class toward poverty | Job losses & business closures

He must have wanted to steal Remdesivir, which sells for a couple of thousand bucks now
Originally Posted by VKumar View Post
Thief Returns COVID-19 Vaccines With a Sorry Note
Sebring is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 12:22   #137

Re: Covid-19 pushes India’s Middle Class toward poverty | Job losses & business closures

Originally Posted by Zen2001 View Post
The private healthcare sector is India’s fourth largest employer, with 72 per cent of the total hospitals under it, and having 60 per cent of the total hospital beds in the country. Despite its role, the government has not understood what the private sector needs in terms of vision, investment or incentives.
Somehow, I do not have any sympathies for the private healthcare sector. In 2012 the consultation fee in Bethany hospital (Thane) was Rs 250. In 2020, the consultation fee became Rs. 750. Three times!! Have salaries increased three times? So forgive me if my eyes do not well up for private healthcare sector. I think the government should step in. But, it should step in to rein in the spiraling health cost rather then providing incentives to private hospitals.
ashlil is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 12:45   #138

Originally Posted by ashlil View Post
Somehow, I do not have any sympathies for the private healthcare sector.
True! I had once visited a heart surgeon for his second opinion on my dad's - soon to be performed - bypass surgery in 2018. He read the file for less than 30 seconds, said "yes, he requires a bypass surgery" and chargned me INR 2k.

I myself got a heart attack then and there

Last edited by RavSam : 23rd April 2021 at 12:47.
RavSam is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 13:02   #139

In 2012 the consultation fee in Bethany hospital (Thane) was Rs 250. In 2020, the consultation fee became Rs. 750. Three times!! Have salaries increased three times?
This is what I was charged for a video consultancy which lasted for ~ 5 minutes.

I have accepted this as a norm, no two ways, the charge is high, but, there is no governing body as such, plus, you have hospitals to choose from. Not that, someone forced me there.

Covid-19 pushes India’s Middle Class toward poverty | Job losses & business closures-whatsapp-image-20210416-11.07.19.jpeg

Though would prefer to pay less, but, everyone would want that.

Last edited by Sheel : 24th April 2021 at 08:06.
Sheel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 13:06   #140

So forgive me if my eyes do not well up for private healthcare sector. I think the government should step in. But, it should step in to rein in the spiraling health cost rather then providing incentives to private hospitals.
Originally Posted by RavSam View Post
He read the file for less than 30 seconds, said "yes, he requires a bypass surgery" and chargned me INR 2k.
Lot of people share the same sentiments. I once ,took my wife to Aditya birla hospital in Pune. She had low grade fever and it was not going away even after 3-4 days. Doctor suggested us to get admitted. We were like who gets admitted for fever man? I asked him what is the need for admission, he said for giving some antibiotics. We did not say any thing, just ran away from there.

What I heard is, even doctors are given targets in big hospitals, and may be there pays are linked to it, so they are forced to prescribe un-necessary tests, medicines and even hospitalization. May be people working in hospitals can confirm this. Not doctors, but capitalism is to be blamed here.
INJAXN is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 13:20   #141

. I think the government should step in. But, it should step in to rein in the spiraling health cost rather then providing incentives to private hospitals.
Government should step in, but not to regulate prices but rather it should provide comparable medical facilities at nominal costs. This is something Kerala is doing very well. Other states should emulate them.
joslicx is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 13:35   #142

For those advocating government intervention, would you like if the govt. also fixes your salary based on some govt payscale? And for business, the govt. fixes the profit margin?
It is a free market and you are free to choose the hospital you want to go to.

I am mentioning this only in relation to the fees charged for the consulting/rooms/tests etc. I totally agree on the ethics(or lack of ) of prescribing unnecessary tests for the patients to keep the lab and equipment busy.

P.S. I am not a doctor or related to medical field in any capacity.
m8002? is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 13:52   #143

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
This is what I was charged for a video consultancy which lasted for ~ 5 minutes.

I have accepted this as a norm, no two ways, the charge is high, but, there is no governing body as such, plus, you hospitals to choose from.
I faced something similar and decided that unless it is a very specific emergency, I will shop around for doctors on practo just like we do for buying products on flipkart or Amazon. Patient reviews and consulting fees are clear on practo, lybrate and Justdial like platforms.

Also, my experience with Telemedicine (Tata Health) was bad because the doctor said that they do not trust home measurements of BP, glucose etc. He told me to visit a local doc or get tests done. Telemedicine can only succeed when you know the doc beforehand or need a prescription for a known illness. If I have to go to another doctor to get a blood oxygen measurement (which is taken by the same genneric meter sold on Amazon) then what's the point of paying for a virtual consultation.

Finally, I think it is necessary to visit new doctors who struggle to get patients (but graduated from good universities) instead of the established ones because only with competition will prices come down.

Last edited by Nissan1180 : 23rd April 2021 at 13:53.
Nissan1180 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 14:47   #144

Originally Posted by Nissan1180 View Post
Telemedicine can only succeed when you know the doc beforehand or need a prescription for a known illness. If I have to go to another doctor to get a blood oxygen measurement (which is taken by the same genneric meter sold on Amazon) then what's the point of paying for a virtual consultation.
I hear you, but the funny thing that I experienced was - a telemedicine consult diagnosed something in me that had been mis-diagnosed and wrongly treated for 10 years via in-person consults! When I was posted overseas, my employer provided a free telemedicine service and I complained of dry cough for no reason all through the year every year. The doctor asked me some questions and then nailed it by saying I have acid reflux. They suggested a change in diet and I've been cough free ever since...

Edit: Moreover, a doctor from this very forum has been effective teleconsulting for me and family (out of the kindness of his heart and nothing else) during this pandemic as we've gone through MIS-C & COVID in some of our family members.

Last edited by locusjag : 23rd April 2021 at 14:49.
locusjag is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 15:11   #145

You
Somehow, I do not have any sympathies for the private healthcare sector.
You have no idea my friend state of health care before private healthcare started in 1980. Why do you patronise private healthcare? Why don't use government hospital? Why should government control private healthcare?

Government doesn't provide any incentive to private sector these days. Most of small hospital are in red and will be sold or shut down in few years. Even corporate hospitals are feeling suffocated working in our country due to too much negative attitude of government and people.

Because of the socialist mindset, lot of doctors have again started to migrate abroad for better work environment.

True! I had once visited a heart surgeon for his second opinion on my dad's - soon to be performed - bypass surgery in 2018.
You want the best so you are paying top money. BTW doesn't IT consultant or any consultant charge according to experience or for that matter top lawyers charge in lakhs for just 2 mins of hearing. Does anyone battle an eyelid for it?
Try getting a super specialist appointment in UK at a drop of hat and then you will understand how lucky you are.

Originally Posted by INJAXN View Post
Lot of people share the .

What I heard is, even doctors are given targets in big hospitals, and may be there pays are linked to it, so they are forced to prescribe un-necessary tests, medicines and even hospitalization.
Nobody can force you to get admitted or prescribe unnecessary test. The rising consumer cases is making doctors practice more defensive leading to increase in number of test.
As I said earlier if you feel private doctors are fleecing you then please use government hospital services.

Originally Posted by joslicx View Post
Government should step in, but not to regulate prices but rather it should provide comparable medical facilities at nominal costs. This is something Kerala is doing very well. Other states should emulate them.
I agree. But Kerala is small state compares to other Indian states so model can't be replicated easily

Originally Posted by Nissan1180 View Post
I faced something similar and decided that unless it is a very specific emergency, I will shop around for doctors on practo just like we do for buying products on flipkart or Amazon.

Also, my experience with Telemedicine (Tata Health) was bad because the doctor said that they do not trust home measurements of BP, glucose etc. He told me to visit a local doc or get tests done.

Finally, I think it is necessary to visit new doctors .
Please shop for doctors that is way to go but don't be pre conceived that person graduating from top medical college are best. This my friend I am talking from personal experience. Don't expect doctors to lower consultant fees because of competition as many of them will leave practice of it is not profitable to them.

Every doctor will have opinion based on his judgement however to call it a bad experience is going bit too far in criticism.

What you are paying is for experience, years laboured for medicine and no amount of money can bring the lost years.

P.S:
1.What I concur from some of the posts is people want private healthcare at government hospital rates.

Last edited by FrozeninTime : 23rd April 2021 at 15:40.
FrozeninTime is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 16:43   #146

Originally Posted by FrozeninTime View Post
You
You have no idea my friend state of health care before private healthcare started in 1980.
I have a very good idea about state of the health care before private hospitals started to mushroom. In fact, I remember it fondly. The doctors used to stay in quarters provided inside the hospital compound and I had visited several times in midnight. The doctors saw us for free and gave us medicines for free.

Why do you patronise private healthcare? Why don't use government hospital?
Because the quality of the government hospitals went down the hill once private players came in. They were great in 1980s and I wish they had maintained their standards.

Why should government control private healthcare?
They should not. Rather, health care should not be privatized just like army or fire brigade or police. Somebody is profiting off somebody else's misery and it is a pity that we have moralized it.

Most of small hospital are in red and will be sold or shut down in few years. Even corporate hospitals are feeling suffocated working in our country due to too much negative attitude of government and people.
Another reason why healthcare should not be privatized, if private hospitals cannot survive even after charging astronomical fee.

Because of the socialist mindset, lot of doctors have again started to migrate abroad for better work environment.
I have seen this argument in every single case. Not only doctors. Apparently engineers, professors, scientists and every other professional is leaving country.

You want the best so you are paying top money. BTW doesn't IT consultant or any consultant charge according to experience or for that matter top lawyers charge in lakhs for just 2 mins of hearing. Does anyone battle an eyelid for it?
Cost of justice in India is being debated by many concerned. IT consultant's charge is too little and too socially inconsequential to raise any eyebrow.

Try getting a super specialist appointment in UK at a drop of hat and then you will understand how lucky you are.
Why do you need to see a super specialist at the drop of a hat? Go to GP. If needed he will recommend you to a super specialist. The system works find. Better than Indian system, anyway, by any statistics.

I agree. But Kerala is small state compares to other Indian states so model can't be replicated easily
It is not really very small. It is just like any other stater in India and the model can be replicated. But, I doubt anybody has the will.

P.S:
1.What I concur from some of the posts is people want private healthcare at government hospital rates.
What I want is great care from government hospital so that there is no need to go to a private one. At least I get some care when I need in exchange for all the tax that I am paying. It should not be a sin to expect great care from public hospital.

Last edited by ashlil : 23rd April 2021 at 16:49.
ashlil is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 16:53   #147

I have a very good idea about state of the health care before private hospitals started to mushroom. In fact, I remember it fondly. The doctors used to stay in quarters provided inside the hospital compound and I had visited several times in midnight. The doctors saw us for free and gave us medicines for free.

What I want is great care from government hospital so that there is not need to go to a private one. At least I get some care when I need in exchange for all the tax that I am paying. It should not be a sin to expect great care from public hospital.
Our priorities as a country aren't focused at all towards healthcare. We spend less than 2% of our GDP on healthcare while US spends at least 10X or over 20%. I think all the citizens should come together and demand from the government that this needs to change. I just don't have any words about the tragic loss of lives right now due to shortage of oxygen, beds and drugs. While defense is critical, it can't be solely prioritized ignoring healthcare

Expecting government hospitals to provide world-class healthcare won't work unless the funding allocation in the budget changes. Government doctors are very much capable if not more capable than the private doctors considering the breadth of cases they treat. No wonder all VVIPs want a bed in AIIMS. However these doctors aren't magicians. They need the required hardware or infrastructure to function. Also there is a shortage of doctors in the country requiring more medical colleges.
sid_deb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 17:28   #148

True! I had once visited a heart surgeon for his second opinion on my dad's - soon to be performed - bypass surgery in 2018. He read the file for less than 30 seconds, said "yes, he requires a bypass surgery" and chargned me INR 2k.

What a wonderful place we live in, where people complain about a Dr. charging for his experience, but nobody bats an eyelid and even admires when the below post was made about a relatively new actor. It is high time we give credit outside Cricket and Bollywood.

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Well, as per reports he charged 20 crores for a 10 day shoot. So he is definitely well into the big league now. Urus, even though is a big purchase, will not be a far fetched one for him. Also, reportedly he paid a substantial sum to get it imported by air.

Last edited by Jaguar : 23rd April 2021 at 17:32.
Jaguar is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 17:42   #149

What I want is great care from government hospital so that there is no need to go to a private one. At least I get some care when I need in exchange for all the tax that I am paying. It should not be a sin to expect great care from public hospital.
Firstly, you are trying extrapolate your fine experience with government healthcare in 1980s to whole of India. You were lucky due privileged position not because healthcare was great. I have witnessed how great our healthcare was 1980s and being in medical field I have better understanding about present, past issues.

Secondly, even in UK there are private hospitals co existing with NHS. People choose NHS because they have trust.

Thirdly, you have quoted me out of context regarding super specialist to drive your own agenda. The OP consulted a super specialist and was unhappy with consultant fees for which I have justified the fees.

Last edited by aah78 : 23rd April 2021 at 22:56. Reason: Quote trimmed.
FrozeninTime is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2021, 18:06   #150

Secondly even in UK there are private hospitals co existing with NHS. People choose NHS because they have trust.
Just by the-the-way... Brits do tend to trust the NHS, despite it's many faults and failings, but they are like to be choosing it because they actually don't have a choice. That's everyone without great wealth and/or excellent (often employer-provided) private health insurance.