Old 7th February 2008, 13:12   #481

Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Prima facie you should be at par. However, do be careful and avoid spelling mistakes like you have in your text above - 'preparation'!
Short and sweet sentences with adequate punctuation.
Thank you anup sir,would keep that advice in mind.Sorry for posting the wrong spelling that too in the guide to proper english section .So concerning the TOEFL no other special preparation required.
Old 7th February 2008, 14:03   #482

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Correct punctuation would be even better
You missed a period, Thad. Lest I should sound as if I'm implying you're due for a pregnancy test, maybe I should eschew the Americanism.
Old 7th February 2008, 14:07   #483

Originally Posted by Edsel Rulez! View Post
You missed a period, Thad. Lest I should sound as if I'm implying you're due for a pregnancy test, maybe I should eschew the Americanism.
Bravo! lol

I believe Thad substituted the period with a wink.

Now if only we could do that with all the girls, we would all be happier during those glorious 4 days that we all look forward to every month.
Old 7th February 2008, 16:54   #484

Thing is, of course, I wasn't taking an exam!

This punctuation business is thorny. It is not just a case of scattering some breathing points in a long sentence, but not everyone seems to agree on all the rules.

As for the ladies; a wink is always in order, although often met with a full stop.
Old 7th February 2008, 17:25   #485

Originally Posted by revvedup View Post
Thank you anup sir,would keep that advice in mind.Sorry for posting the wrong spelling that too in the guide to proper english section .So concerning the TOEFL no other special preparation required.
You're welcome.
I notice you're not leaving a space after punctuation marks. There is a rule that requires you to.
And people's names must begin with a capital letter.
I think that should do for now. There are more 'mistakes' in your post; let's see you spot them.
Old 7th February 2008, 20:52   #486

This was seen by me in the subtitles of a Hindi movie.

Mr.X was secretly in love with his co-worker Ms.Y. A male friend of Mr. X called him a 'secret lover' of Ms.Y. What he meant of course was different, but what he was suggesting was that Mr.X is sleeping with Ms.Y.

Last edited by Mpower : 7th February 2008 at 20:54.
Old 7th February 2008, 20:54   #487

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Mr.X was secretly in love with his co-worker Ms.Y. A male friend of Mr. X called him a secret lover of Ms.Y. What he meant was different but what he was suggesting was that Mr.X is sleeping with Ms.Y.
Mr. X was secretly in love with Ms Y. Therefore they are sleeping together right? What else do secret lovers do? I am most intrigued.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 7th February 2008 at 20:55.
Old 7th February 2008, 21:01   #488

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Mr. X was secretly in love with Ms Y. Therefore they are sleeping together right? What else do secret lovers do? I am most intrigued.
I thhink he meant it was a secret kept even from Ms Y.

EDIT: we can start another thread about the subtitles. i have seen subtitles with absolutely no sense in hindi movies.

Last edited by vivekiny2k : 7th February 2008 at 21:02.
Old 7th February 2008, 21:02   #489

Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
I thhink he meant it was a secret kept even from Ms Y.
Ms. Y did not know that Mr. X was sleeping with her? Even more interesting.
Old 7th February 2008, 21:03   #490

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Ms. Y did not know that Mr. X was sleeping with her? Even more interesting.
sam bhaiya, aap bhi na....
Old 7th February 2008, 21:04   #491

...What else do secret lovers do? I am most intrigued.
They love secrets, of course!

Now, as correct Internet English usage is growing as we use it, what is the team's opinion on the correct placing of the smiley: before or after the punctuation mark? Or does it depend on the smiley?

They love secrets, of course !
Old 7th February 2008, 21:05   #492
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Sam, Mr.X is SECRETLY in love. The important factor being the ADVERB ADJECTIVE. Thus confirming that Ms.Y is unaware of the feelings that pound through his pants. Which in turn would signify that he still hasn't slept with her, unless she was ok with providing services for a small fee, in which case the only secret kept from his friend would be the amount that Mr.X paid for the services. I'm sure Mr.X would have told his friend that he did sleep with her. LOL!!!

Last edited by nitroxx : 7th February 2008 at 21:22.
Old 7th February 2008, 21:07   #493

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
he was suggesting was that Mr.X is sleeping with Ms.Y.
But this is a good suggestion is it not? Therefore the male friend of Mr. X is a true friend. And this is no secret now.
Old 7th February 2008, 21:08   #494

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post

They love secrets, of course !
I think I'd stick to placing the exclamation mark after the sentence. Then placing a smiley.

The second option doesn't look right to me.
Old 7th February 2008, 21:20   #495

Arre guys, this is Indian style one way love where the guy hasn't told the girl, but he has confessed his feelings only among his male friends. His male friends are calling him secret lover, as if he is having an affair with a married lady.

Last edited by Mpower : 7th February 2008 at 21:22.