Old 20th January 2008, 15:00   #391

briefly, I have to run, don't use 'anyways', it is not correct.

More later maybe if no-one else contributes
Old 20th January 2008, 15:10   #392

Ohne Dich ist alles doof
Sam, in your Deutsch, are all nouns properly capitalised? My elementary German says not. BTW, does Dich need a capital D? Apologies if I am wrong.
Old 20th January 2008, 15:20   #393

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
briefly, I have to run, don't use 'anyways', it is not correct.

More later maybe if no-one else contributes
Thanks Thad.
twenty characters
Old 20th January 2008, 15:21   #394

A common improper use one frequently comes across these days is "You are kindly requested to ...". Every time I hear it at airports I wonder why the announcer wants to proclaim his/her kindness. May be one is a kind soul; but kindness is something one ascribes to others (out of modesty). The correct usage should be "You are requested to kindly ......proceed to security check" (etc).
Old 20th January 2008, 15:36   #395

Originally Posted by Sagittarian View Post
Sam, in your Deutsch, are all nouns properly capitalised? My elementary German says not. BTW, does Dich need a capital D? Apologies if I am wrong.
Sie haben es recht! The first letter in is not capitalized for words other than nouns, unless if the "Dich" is referring to "Gott", and "Sie" is respectfully referring to "you" in general ("sie" is "they" or "she", depending on the rest of the sentence).
Old 20th January 2008, 23:35   #396

"You are kindly requested"...

Me to!!! Me to!!!

In fact, "Please go to the security check," would do fine for me. Less is more
Old 22nd January 2008, 15:39   #397

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Sie haben es recht! The first letter in is not capitalized for words other than nouns, unless if the "Dich" is referring to "Gott", and "Sie" is respectfully referring to "you" in general ("sie" is "they" or "she", depending on the rest of the sentence).
If the dich refers to a particular person you are addressing, then it is capitalized. Otherwise not. My signature refers to someone.

But this is not a YetiGuide® to posting in proper German is it? lol
Old 22nd January 2008, 15:47   #398

Prepone is an valid word in Indian English.
And I thought one uses "an" before a word starting with a vowel
Old 22nd January 2008, 16:46   #399

don't use 'anyways', it is not correct.
Just a doubt — who defines what is "correct"? Commonly accepted usage, I suppose. By that yardstick, "alright" is quickly gaining acceptance though I make it a point to spell it as "all right".

In many instances, context is what defines what's right and wrong. "Anyways" is not wrong if used in a casual context, such as a letter to a friend. It's best avoided in your term paper though.

On the other hand, there may still be purists who insist that splitting an infinitive is gross. Or claim that "it's me" is wrong. I don't agree with either.
Old 22nd January 2008, 18:16   #400

In the last couple of years I have started noticing this usage of "My bad" for "My mistake". Where is this usage from? I don't remember hearing it before that.

If you notice the administrative English in government letters, it is simply torture. They have the most screwed up English there.

Last edited by Samurai : 22nd January 2008 at 18:18.
Old 22nd January 2008, 18:20   #401

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
In the last couple of years I have started noticing this usage of "My bad" for "My mistake". Where is this usage from? I don't remember hearing it before that.

If you notice the administrative English in government letters, it is simply torture. They have the most screwed up English there.
My bad
Meaning
My mistake - I'm to blame.
Origin
This slang term originated in about 1970. At that time, i.e. pre the widespread use of the Internet, slang terms often circulated at street level for many years before being adopted by anyone who felt inclined to write them down. That's clearly not the case any longer of course and any word or phrase that is widely known is dateable quite precisely via website logs.

My bad
Old 22nd January 2008, 21:15   #402

How about starting a sentence with "According to me..". This is also quite frequently heard in conversations. "According to" can be used when you are referring to another person, but when you are referring to yourself you say "In my opinion.." or something like that.
Old 23rd January 2008, 10:16   #403

does this thread give meaning to words that i don't know ?
Old 23rd January 2008, 11:21   #404

How about starting a sentence with "According to me..". This is also quite frequently heard in conversations. "According to" can be used when you are referring to another person, but when you are referring to yourself you say "In my opinion.." or something like that.
I, Myself, Personally....

Generally it is better to cut out redundant words.

There are times in a conversation when it is necessary to stress that what you are about to say is your opinion only. Otherwise, it is one of those things that goes without saying.

Give someone a stage and a mic, and they immediately think that more words is better.

I would like to thank you for... Go one, then!

No, less words is better! That way your audience just might remember what you said.

Repetitive catchwords/phrases are a real killer. I remember a sales presentation in which the guy used the words 'very simply,' every minute or two. I don't remember anything else about it. In conversation this sort of thing makes a person boring; in business it makes them ineffective. Why don't trainers know this, and pass it on?
Old 23rd January 2008, 11:31   #405

Originally Posted by chetan View Post
does this thread give meaning to words that i don't know ?
Pls give it a try Chetan.