![]() |
Originally Posted by sdp1975
(Post 4991428)
:thumbsdown:thumbsdown PF interest above 2.5 lacs made taxable in the budget. Many salaried folks iwll be affected. They could've chosen a higher limit at least |
Originally Posted by sdp1975
(Post 4991428)
:thumbsdown:thumbsdown PF interest above 2.5 lacs made taxable in the budget. Many salaried folks iwll be affected. They could've chosen a higher limit at least |
Originally Posted by NevGin
(Post 4991475)
I don't know what they were thinking when they even thought of this. If it irks them that much then change the ROI and bring it closer to the PPF. Just a senseless decision. Does this stay or will this still be under consideration ? |
Originally Posted by fordday
(Post 4991507)
Now what are my options to bring that money to my current PF account? Let me know if anyone faced this. |
Originally Posted by raksrules
(Post 4991520)
I am dumb with taxation and all. Here, does it mean that say I have put Rs. 2,50,100 (2 lakh 50 Thousand One Rupees) in one year through my personal contribution to EPF and VPF, the interest earned on Rs. 100 at whatever percent (~8%) is taxable? But the interest on Rs. 2.5 Lakh is not? |
Originally Posted by joslicx
(Post 4991586)
I have the exact same problem and I also am interested if anybody has a resolution. |
Originally Posted by raksrules
(Post 4991520)
I am dumb with taxation and all. Here, does it mean that say I have put Rs. 2,50,100 (2 lakh 50 Thousand One Rupees) in one year through my personal contribution to EPF and VPF, the interest earned on Rs. 100 at whatever percent (~8%) is taxable? But the interest on Rs. 2.5 Lakh is not? |
Assume that your EPF balance as on 31st March 2020 is Rs. 10,00,000. The employer contribution is, Rs. 20,000 a month; The employee contribution is Rs. 20,000 a month or Rs. 2,40,000 a year (FY). In this case, there is no change in rule and nothing need to be done. Suppose the employee decided to invest via VPF Rs. 5000 a month. The total annual contribution by the employee is (5000 x 12) + 2,40,000 = 3,00,000. If the EPF rate is say 8% then 8% of (3,00,000 – 2,50,000) = Rs. 4000 should be shown as income while filing ITR and this will be taxed as per slab rate. Further compounding of this interest in future years will not be taxed as pointed out in the above article. |
Because if your PF contribution is above Rs 2.5 lakh annually, interest earned on the additional amount will be taxable. So, let’s say you have an annual salary income of Rs 50 lakh. Typically, about half or Rs 25 lakh would be your basic salary. Your contribution to PF at 12% of basic pay would be Rs 3 lakh. Earlier, the interest earned on all of it would be tax exempt. |
Is public provident fund under consideration as per latest finance tax law. I. E. Under gambit of interest earned above 2.5 lakh |
Originally Posted by Turbohead
(Post 4994872)
A dear relative of mine has a question for you all: |
Originally Posted by NPV
(Post 4994876)
Now, I have a question too - if one has both PF (EPF) contribution as well as PPF, will the cumulative amount of both be considered for the 2.5 lakh rupees contribution ? |