Old 27th July 2016, 21:55   #2491

Re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post
Dentists here - please help! What are your opinions on teeth whitening? I can understand scaling and polishing is ok but even my dentist suggested not going for a whitening procedure. Is it harmful? Cannot google these days either - there is for and against articles for anything online these days!
I can't quite comprehend why your dentist would say so, but decades of research have proven that bleaching and other whitening methods are both safe and effective. These agents have shown no adverse effects on teeth or gums in clinical and laboratory testing. Ask your dentist for more info regarding this.

But then again, do you really need teeth whitening ??? What is the cause of your discoloured teeth ?? Are they because of your diet ?? Habits ??? That would need to be ascertained before starting the process of teeth whitening.

I personally don't offer teeth whitening as a treatment option, but if the patient insists, then I'm all for it.
Old 28th July 2016, 03:26   #2492

Re: Hypothyroidism induced skin problem

Originally Posted by rohan_iitr View Post
About 1 and 1/2 year back, I developed skin rashes which was diagnosed by the dermatologist as chronic urticaria.
Kindly login to quora [dot] com and write the same description thing as question, add T4 test's value in description. That website's health part has been a medical college like place free of cost discussion for breaking nth doctor refer cycle and landing in a clueless condition. Whole earth's many senior, junior doctors are there. After typing the question there, you'll get option button to ask to answer. You can easily ask suggested persons to answer including - https://www.quora.com/profile/Liang-Hai-Sie You have a disease, but it can be kept under control. Hypothyroidism is a part of it. Itching will come under control. Team-BHP definitely doing great work in this thread. But your case need discussion at quora [dot] com like place. It is not sober to say anything here.
Old 9th August 2016, 21:18   #2493

Re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

So I fell & twisted my leg. The doctor asked me to wear a crepe bandage for a couple weeks.

The pharmacist showed me this alternative for a regular crepe bandage & I purchased it also along with the regular crepe bandage - it's called Vissco Elastic ankle binder.
https://i.imgur.com/P3ys3xh.png

It looks like a crepe bandage - but has velcro.

It's on the top of this page - http://www.vissco.com/painsolutions/lower-body/ankle

Does this have the same effect as a crepe bandage? Can I use it instead of the crepe bandage.

Another question - should I wear the crepe bandage 24x7 - can i take it off when I am lying down or sleeping?
Old 9th August 2016, 21:49   #2494

Last week I was diagnosed with Marfan Syndrome. It so happened when I complained about recurring breathlessness, doctor checked and declared that I am suffering from it. Ecograph of my heart was done and it's perfectly alright. Doctor has put me on beta blockers for few days and the problem of breathlessness seems to reduce to an significant amount. I want to ask to our Doctor member is do I need to take any particular precautions after having been diagnosed with this disorder?
Old 13th August 2016, 16:42   #2495

Friends,

Could some one please guide me to a couple of or the probably the best/top Ayurvedic Hospital or Doctor in Delhi & NCR region for Panchkarma and complete ayurvedic treatment.

Thanks a ton.
Old 21st August 2016, 17:19   #2496

I am looking for a good General Physician or MD Medicine in Chembur, Mumbai. Someone who will spend at least 10-15 minutes with a patient and is thorough. Any recommendations?
Old 22nd August 2016, 02:48   #2497

Originally Posted by rana_kirti View Post
Friends,

Could some one please guide me to a couple of or the probably the best/top Ayurvedic Hospital or Doctor in Delhi & NCR region for Panchkarma and complete ayurvedic treatment.

Thanks a ton.
Although not in NCR, but Patanjali in Haridwar is a very good option. Here is the link : http://yoggram.divyayoga.com/
My family has had very good experiences at this location.

regards

Himanshu
Old 22nd August 2016, 19:13   #2498

I have got the plaque gathered between the front teeth (from front as well as inside) removed at the dentist in 2nd week of April 2016. Now again the plaque has gathered. Is it due to wrong brushing techniques?
Old 2nd September 2016, 21:31   #2499

Doctors/ Orthopedics, need your help urgently please.

I've been suffering from neck pain fit the past 2 weeks. Had multiple checkups with a doctor. Long story short, upon his advice, took MRI of cervical spine and the result came as

Loss of cervical lordosis noted.
Right posterolateral disc protrusion noted at C5-C6 level causing anterior thecal sac and spinal cord indentation & right lateral recess & neural foraminal narrowing; with impingement of nerve roots
Minimum posterior disc bulge noted at C6-C7 level causing no significant spinal canal or neural foraminal narrowing

AP canal diameters at midvertebral level (in mm):
C2-C3: 14.5
C3-C4: 12
C4-C5: 11
C5-C6: 9
C6-C7: 10
C7-D1: 13

Now, my doc has suggested me complete bed-rest for at least 10 days along with medications and physio (traction). I've been on rest already for the past week as well.

I want to understand how serious is my issue.
I'm 32 now - is this a start of some bigger trouble?
Any home remedies for this?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by callvvijay : 2nd September 2016 at 21:42.
Old 2nd September 2016, 21:56   #2500

Originally Posted by callvvijay View Post

Thanks in advance!
I'm not a doctor but I suffer from similar issue. You need to take care of the following to avoid future aggravations:
i)your posture
ii)maintain correct height of computer monitor
iii)use correct pillows
and iv) exercise regularly as advised by your doctor or physio
The last point is very important.
Old 4th September 2016, 19:35   #2501

Originally Posted by callvvijay View Post

Thanks in advance!
Don't worry my friend. This too shall pass. I had similar disc bulge at the same place 8 years back. I couldn't even stay put for MRI due to the pain and has to take pain killer for the same. 2of my fingers were also become numb. One of the Dr. recommended surgery and the other one asked to try neck collar and avoid 2 wheeler, auto and long distance travel for some time. I have also taken some medicine from ayurveda dr recommend from Divya pharmacy - patanjali ayurveda. These are all helped me to get out this in 3 months. I avoid the 2 wheelers and mattress and big Pillows. Wish you a speedy recovery. Don't worry just take some rest.
Old 7th September 2016, 23:02   #2502

Originally Posted by archat68 View Post
I'm not a doctor but I suffer from similar issue.
and iv) exercise regularly as advised by your doctor or physio
The last point is very important.
Originally Posted by blorebuddy View Post
Don't worry my friend. This too shall pass. I had similar disc bulge at the same place 8 years back.
Wish you a speedy recovery. Don't worry just take some rest.

Thanks a ton for those reassuring words.

I did consult a spine surgeon in the meantime and I was prescribed some medications and have been asked to come for check-up again this weekend. He also mentioned that I might need a spine surgery (Worst case scenario).

The problem he mentioned is that there is a bulge in C5-C6 cervical spine and that is causing a compression in a nerve.

I also consulted a Ayurveda doctor who had prescribed a churanam (powder) that is to taken in a small cotton cloth, heated in tawa and applied as a heat-pack. I'm also doing this.

I'm currently on leave - taking as much rest as possible with physiotherapy and home-remedies.

The pain seems to have subsided from how it was some 10 days back - though I still have it. Hope I will get over it slowly. Thanks again!
Old 9th September 2016, 13:45   #2503

Hearing Aids, Chennai...

I went to one place a couple of days ago, HAC, Adyar. Despite the range of products claimed to be sold, the guy seemed only interested in selling/demonstrating one make, of which he showed me three models. Digital tuning consisted of him looking at my test results and punching some numbers into his PC. There was no attempt at any further subjective tuning, and no attempt to explain any technology or feature. The models cost from 18K to 38K, and sounded dreadful. far far worse than any free earbud from a cheap phone. In fact, worse than an old landline phone. Worse than earphones sounded forty years ago when they were chunky and mono.

Compared with my previous experiment with a hearing aid 15 years ago, this was a poor experience and a potentially poor result.

If I have to pay a lot of money to get sound that is worth listening to, then I suppose I will. But I want a decent experience, including customer service and result.

Any recommendations? Especially from those (or their elder relatives) who understand the plight of a music lover?
Old 9th September 2016, 15:01   #2504

Its a pity that people who sell these highly sophisticated items do not know the intricacies of the product they are selling. I wanted to buy a customisable progressive lens like Zeiss Superb but cannot find an optician whom I can trust to take proper fitting.
Old 11th September 2016, 20:25   #2505

What's the difference between a cement filling and a composite filling for teeth? Other than cosmetics, is one better than the other?