Old 9th September 2014, 15:14   #2071

re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Get a recommendation and visit the dentist tomorrow!
Originally Posted by car-dent View Post
Exactly what Thad said. Visit a dentist as soon as possible. Home care simply doesnt work for dental problems.
We Indians never learn the smooth way.
So after ignoring all of your advices, I suffered from killer tooth ache on Saturday, from evening 8 PM - 1AM. I popped 3 painkillers and 1 Mox (antibiotic) with advice from all friends and family. Just popped everything that anyone recommended.

I was in such pain that I could not ride / drive to Apollo hospital, 2 kms from my home. Called upon 3 friends who who came by and calmed me down and did some mental counselling like not to panic, not to think of pain, watch TV, walk outside in fresh air, etc. So eventually after ~4 hours of excruciating pain, I was better. Wifey reluctantly ate the Pizza that we had ordered to celebrate weekend. I gulped down a packet of Maggi, so that I didnt had to chew.

Next thing on Sunday morning was to visit a Dentist. Met him and after a small X-Ray (Film X-Ray) he confirmed that my Wisdom Tooth was gone case.
The wisdom tooth could not grow due to some mis-alignment. And this left a gaping dent in the gum where it was supposed to come. Food started getting stuck in the gum and decayed the wisdom tooth.

So the solution is to extract the wisdom tooth and clean the cavity.
I got a Digital OPG done yesterday and have an appointment with the dentist today evening to analyze how deep is the root of the wisdom tooth.
He was saying that since the wisdom tooth cannot be pulled out due to the short length. So he has to cut the gum and extract the wisdom tooth.

Sounds ultimate scary, but he quoted that its a "Micro-Surgery" .
Very reassuring must say.

Anyways, will let you all know how did the meeting today evening go, and when is the "Micro Surgery".
Old 9th September 2014, 17:01   #2072

re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

I cannot pretend that that is going to be nice, I'm afraid.

I can say, however, that, if your dentist is a good anaesthetist, gets the needle in all the right places, and gives you plenty of the painkilling juice, then you feel a great deal less than you might fear. Yes, I've had this one done a couple of times, but mine have been at the front of the mouth. Easier for the dentist; easier for me.

In fact, if you feel anything, other than just pressure, ask for more.

Just one more advice: try not to bite the surgeon's fingers off.

Even for implants, I prefer to be fully conscious for two reasons: one, I'm technically interested in what's going on and two, I want the freedom to drive myself home afterwards. Thus I've never needed to look at the options for heavier sedation, but, if this op really worries you it might be a good idea. Pros please advise!
Old 9th September 2014, 17:21   #2073

Originally Posted by Horizon81 View Post
Hello bhpians, I'm looking for recommendations for specialists in Bangalore, preferable south Bangalore, for back pain. This is for my wife who's struggling with back pain since about 2 weeks now.
Try Dr. Ravishankar who visits Garden City Hospital. Many people in my family have had a good experience with him.
Old 9th September 2014, 17:42   #2074

Those in the know, please guide me to one of the best allergy specialists in Chennai.

Old 9th September 2014, 22:44   #2075

Originally Posted by ravradha View Post
Those in the know, please guide me to one of the best allergy specialists in Chennai.

Check the below blog. Has plenty of valuable information.

http://ajitvadakayil.blogspot.in/201...squeamish.html
Old 22nd September 2014, 22:29   #2076

Re: DOXCEF-O(Cefpodoxime and Ofloxacin tablet) on a renal/liver dysfunction patient?

My dad(78 years) suffering from viral fever, has been advised 'DOXCEF-O' (Cefpodoxime and Ofloxacin tablet) to be administered as 1-0-1 for 10 days. He has CKD and liver cirrhosis as his pre-existing conditions.

Is this anti-biotic safer on him OR should we ask for a change?
Please advise.
Old 24th September 2014, 23:56   #2077

Re: DOXCEF-O(Cefpodoxime and Ofloxacin tablet) on a renal/liver dysfunction patient?

Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
My dad(78 years) suffering from viral fever, has been advised 'DOXCEF-O' (Cefpodoxime and Ofloxacin tablet) to be administered as 1-0-1 for 10 days. He has CKD and liver cirrhosis as his pre-existing conditions.

Is this anti-biotic safer on him OR should we ask for a change?
Please advise.
Sorry for the delayed reply but hope this helps. An antibiotic is not necessarily required unless to prevent a secondary infection if it is a confirmed case of viral fever. Supportive treatment is more than enough. Considering his co morbidities a renal adjusted dose of cefpodoxime would be better but since its oral medications and creatinine clearance needs to be calculated, nothing much could be done. Both the medicines are safe for patients with CKD and CLD.
Old 26th September 2014, 23:08   #2078

Docs,
What's the best way to deal with boils (skin abscess) ? Is it in any way related to blood sugar/diabetes or cholesterol levels, or hormone imbalance, or weight gain ?
Old 26th September 2014, 23:42   #2079

Originally Posted by Autodoc View Post
Sorry for the delayed reply but hope this helps. An antibiotic is not necessarily required unless to prevent a secondary infection if it is a confirmed case of viral fever. Supportive treatment is more than enough. Considering his co morbidities a renal adjusted dose of cefpodoxime would be better but since its oral medications and creatinine clearance needs to be calculated, nothing much could be done. Both the medicines are safe for patients with CKD and CLD.
Thanks for the info! The fever has subsided and he is much better now. But has been advised to take this medicine(doxcef-o) for 10 days along with ursocol 300mg.
Old 27th September 2014, 21:17   #2080

Originally Posted by Horizon81 View Post
Hello bhpians, I'm looking for recommendations for specialists in Bangalore, preferable south Bangalore, for back pain. This is for my wife who's struggling with back pain since about 2 weeks now.
You may visit Dr Lakshmikanth at Spine Clinic in 7th block Koramangala.

Rohan
Old 12th October 2014, 22:36   #2081

Re: Ursocol 150mg?

Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
Thanks for the info! The fever has subsided and he is much better now. But has been advised to take this medicine(doxcef-o) for 10 days along with ursocol 300mg.
Can we administer ursocol 150mg once in the morning and again once in the evening in place of a single dose of 300mg. The patient is 78 years old and the condition is liver cirrhosis.

Please advise.
Old 12th October 2014, 23:13   #2082

Couple of things, ursocol has ursodeoxycholic acid (udca) which is usually prescribed for primary biliary cirrhosis. I'm assuming that is exactly the cause for which the medicine has been prescribed. Secondly, the recommended dose for the same is about 15 mg/kg once daily. Assuming his weight to be about 50 kg, 300mg once daily is inadequate. Probably your doctor plans to hike up the dose later. If the reason why you want to make it 150 mg twice daily is due to difficulty tolerating the medicine I strongly advise you consult back with your physician because the side effect may not be due to the medicine itself, but if it is due to ease of use I strongly recommend you take it as advised; once daily.
All that being said newer studies have shown that udca has questionable benefit in primary biliary cirrhosis or any cirrhosis for that matter.

Sunny

Last edited by Autodoc : 12th October 2014 at 23:14.
Old 13th October 2014, 16:37   #2083

Docs,
I have been diagnosed with Kidney Stone (again).
The First occurrence was on 2011 (believe it was less than 4mm) and passed out on the same day due to some IV fluids administered.

The second time it was in 2013 where-in I had to undergo a URS with a DJ Stent, since it was around 7mm. Keeping the stent for around 1.5 months was more painful.

Now, couple of days back, had the standard symptoms that it was occurring again(Sudden pain while sleeping late into the night, vomitting and nausea). Went and checked yesterday with a General Practitioner. He advised me a CT it turned out to be couple of them - one 5 mm in the tube(blocking) and 2 mm inside the kidney. THe GP adviced me to have a couple of beers to wash it off.
Went to urologist today morning to get an expert opinion. He said, with the stone very near to the kidney and in the top of the ureter, it might not pass through with Medication and said, I might require another procedure again. I am not prepared for this now due to some change events happening at the personal and professional front as well.
Now my question - Can I do the following and expect that it will be washed out or do I need to mentally prepare for a procedure again.

1) Have a couple of Beers
2) One my cousin who had the same ordeal some time ago was advised by his Doc to have citric acids(lemon) and also apple cedar Vinegar.
3) Use home therapies like Banana Stem Soup or Juice.
4) Of course more intake of water (double or triple of current)

Appreciate your valuable inputs. I am not in favor of going under the knife again for this.
Old 17th October 2014, 13:18   #2084

Can anyone suggest me a good endocrinologist (for thyroid) in Bangalore?
Preference is South Bangalore.

Adhiraj
Old 18th October 2014, 18:36   #2085

Hello Doctors,

My six year old kid suffers from constipation. His normal bowel movement is after 2-3 days. Though the 'content' looks normal (not dark coloured, dried or compacted), what is of concern to me is

- he needs a lot of effort to pass his motion. After 3rd or 4th try each lasting 10-15 mins, he manages.

- the amount of 'content' is normally what is expected from a healthy adult, not for his age. It is like a foot long which gets stuck in the WC most of the time. (Sorry for the explicit descriptions)

His vegetable intake is very less, mostly its potato. Other than that his eating habit is normal for his age and size.

What do you doctors suggest for him?