Old 29th October 2012, 12:04   #1321

re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

I would think twice before prescribing Corex to a child. Anyway, best of luck.
Old 29th October 2012, 12:10   #1322
rkg

free consultations

Originally Posted by Guite
My 5 year old son has been having dry cough for the last one month. We have approached a paediatrician and an ENT doctor separately. Both say it's small granules in the throat due to cold weather. He's taking Montair LC Kid. However there is no sign of the cough subsiding. Sometimes he cough for long stretches, @ about two- three coughs a minute. What else can I do?
Try to give him daily few minutes of plain steam. It should solve the problem.

Add a pepper in milk

gargle with salt and little turmeric

Originally Posted by Superlux
The only real treatment for advanced RA is joint replacement. No medical management exists that can reverse bony deformity and associated soft tissue damage. A lot of stuff is marketed in the media but it is all bunkum
SPMF treatment is not hoax. They will tell you whether it is possible or not immediately

SBF heath care guy is a retired airforce doctor from Institute of aerospace medicine, Bangalore.

This particular treatment is not getting the deserved publicity because it will effect the commercial interests of many medical corporations involved in cancer and arthritis treatment.

Joint replacement do not solve the problem fully. I have two of my relatives who underwent this replacement

Last edited by rkg : 29th October 2012 at 12:23.
Old 29th October 2012, 13:28   #1323

re: Calling doctors/dentists/specialists on Team-BHP to provide free consultations

Originally Posted by Tassem View Post

I'm looking for a good dentist in bangalore. My mom needs to get a crown done.

Any suggestions from personal experience? Location doesnt really matter as long as the person is really worth visiting.

Talk to Dr. Vivek Thomas, of Crowns and Bridges at kalyan nagar, near Jalvayu vihar. I had a bridge done from him after getting a sideways tooth extracted. Very Good Job. will pm you his number to you if you want. he is a prosthodontist.
Old 29th October 2012, 22:43   #1324

Originally Posted by superlux
I would think twice before prescribing Corex to a child. Anyway, best of luck.
Why do you say that? Are there side effects which are particularly harmful to kids. Or is it because it is addictive?
Old 30th October 2012, 09:54   #1325

Originally Posted by optimist View Post
Talk to Dr. Vivek Thomas, of Crowns and Bridges at kalyan nagar, near Jalvayu vihar. I had a bridge done from him after getting a sideways tooth extracted. Very Good Job. will pm you his number to you if you want. he is a prosthodontist.
Hey thanks! Please do. I'd appreciate that.
Old 4th November 2012, 00:34   #1326

Hey docs, received this in an email today. Am not trying to spam here, but since I wear glasses and was considering a LASIK operation I clicked on the link and read it. Do go through the same if possible and revert with your expert opinion. By the way, there is a facility in Pondicherry that is successful in helping children lose their spectacles and getting back their vision in an exercise that lasts over a week.

Email follows below :-
Two of the most common visual ailments are Myopia and Presbyopia;otherwise known as near-and far-sightedness. Both ailments effect vision and the distance that is seen when looking at objects. Both ailments can be cured on their own if allowed. Almost all eye ailments are caused from bad habits learnt as a child, and strain on the eyes.

Dr. William Bates spent years studying vision problems. He attended and graduated from Cornell University and became a teacher and researcher of ophthalmology in the New York area. Bates created many vision improvement methods and believed that anyone can see without glasses. His methods were developed to teach the eyes, ways to improve and heal themselves.

How glasses and contacts are practically guaranteed to ruin your vision over time... (And a little known way to prove it for yourself!)

The obvious and overlooked reason why optometrists and doctors are so misinformed and skeptical to Dr. Bates natural vision improvement... (No, it's NOT a bigconspiracy of self-interest and profit like many people seem to think!)

Dr. W.H. Bates hidden-in-plain-view secret that speeds up recovery with more than 400% and massively improves Myopia (near-sightedness), Hyperopia (far-sightedness), Presbyopia(Old-Age Sight), macular degeneration, eyestrain, Glaucoma and more within mere weeks of starting the program...

Let me assureyou...

If you want to reverse Myopia, Hyperopiaand other serious conditions, and at the same time restore your vision naturally without expensive and harmful surgery, then you don't want to miss the insights I'm going to reveal here...

Now don?t you want to gift a clear vision to you or your dear ones? I have done my duty, now it is your turn; click the link below to know more?

http://www.visionwithoutglasses.com/

Email ends
Old 6th November 2012, 12:57   #1327

Hi all, Need some advice!!
I got my Lower Left wisdom tooth extracted last week. Its been 3days now, the swelling has reduced but still there. But, the problem is, On left side of my face, I feel numb on by lower lip and chin. Its like the "Anesthesia" is still kicking but not as strongly. I read on some websites, this is because of some nerve "damage". Do i need to be concerned? Any suggestions/help is immensely appreciated!

Old 6th November 2012, 13:10   #1328

Originally Posted by bond_bhai View Post
On left side of my face, I feel numb on by lower lip and chin. Its like the "Anesthesia" is still kicking but not as strongly. I read on some websites, this is because of some nerve "damage". Do i need to be concerned?
Such a condition is not uncommon. Probably related to the anesthetic solution being injected too close to the nerve bundle, too rapidly. It is reversible in most cases, and things should be back to normal within a week or 10 days. You could take a cocktail of neurotropic vitamins (basically B-complex) for a few days to help matters (I'd suggest you consult your dentist / general physician for a prescription).
Old 6th November 2012, 14:19   #1329

I have been quite concerned lately; here is my situation.

My HBA1C was @6.7 in July, I weighed @92 that time.

Thru a lot of exercise, pranayam, diet, etc. I now weigh @79KGs.

I did my yearly health check on this Saturday and while my retina examination, Cholesterol (138), Triglycerides (98), Fasting Sugar (98), PP Sugar (97), etc are all very very healthy, my HBA1C still is high at 6.5.

I am aware that these readings denote Diabetes and we we have a family history of the same. But I have no other symptom of diabetes.

Can some one guide me on what should my next steps be? I am 36 year old male, height = 172 CM.

The physician (at the health checkup) told me to take vitamin B tablets and recheck my HBA1C after 3 months.
Old 6th November 2012, 16:26   #1330

Any experience with nosebleeds in a 4 yr old toddler? My son regularly keeps having nosebleeds. From what I've read they're nothing to worry about but being a parent, it's a natural reaction to be petrified by any discomfort to your kids.
Old 6th November 2012, 17:09   #1331

Originally Posted by Ferrari1976 View Post

I have been quite concerned lately; here is my situation.

My HBA1C was @6.7 in July, I weighed @92 that time.

Thru a lot of exercise, pranayam, diet, etc. I now weigh @79KGs.

I did my yearly health check on this Saturday and while my retina examination, Cholesterol (138), Triglycerides (98), Fasting Sugar (98), PP Sugar (97), etc are all very very healthy, my HBA1C still is high at 6.5.

I am aware that these readings denote Diabetes and we we have a family history of the same. But I have no other symptom of diabetes.

Can some one guide me on what should my next steps be? I am 36 year old male, height = 172 CM.

The physician (at the health checkup) told me to take vitamin B tablets and recheck my HBA1C after 3 months.
HbA1C is a time weighted average of the last 3 months, hence it will not decrease immediately. Ur doc is right, repeat it after 3 months and u will see the difference.
Old 6th November 2012, 17:17   #1332

Dentists, implantologists please...

I have a three-tooth crown, upper front teeth, on two implants. The crown has become quite loose. My dentist's response was he thinks the screw has come loose in the implant, rather then the crown cement failing, and that removing the crown could cause much more trouble. There is no suspicion that the implant has come loose in the bone, but he did not x-ray it.

What kind of scenarios could be involved here? If the implants are still secure, but the threads have failed or deformed, is there any practical cure? Could it be simply glued back into place?

I imagine that removing an implant that is still set in the bone must be a horrible task
Old 6th November 2012, 21:30   #1333

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Such a condition is not uncommon.
Thanks SS-Traveller. That's a relief I will get the Medicine prescribed from my dentist.
Old 6th November 2012, 21:38   #1334

Originally Posted by kalpeshc View Post
Any experience with nosebleeds in a 4 yr old toddler? My son regularly keeps having nosebleeds. From what I've read they're nothing to worry about but being a parent, it's a natural reaction to be petrified by any discomfort to your kids.
Kalpesh, check if he has a Nasal Septum Deviation.

The dry climate may also be a reason.
Old 6th November 2012, 23:51   #1335

I had been diagnosed with a pituitary adenoma and have under gone a surgery for its removal at Bombay Hospital exactly 34 days back. Major symptoms were continuous headaches & 80% vision loss in right eye.
The surgery was*endoscopic transsphenoidal in nature, however there was a csf leak which put me in the icu for 5 days.
My vision is back to normal but i some times do get some pain in my right eye. Is this something to worry about? Also my nose is still super sensitive. My 4 yr old son has cold & surprisingly I have contracted it from him.
What r the precautions i must take for not getting a cold? Is sleeping in an ac room an issue? Place advice.
Lastly I am on a 7.5 mg daily dose of Wyselon.