Old 27th March 2010, 10:44   #136

Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
Rupesh ji,
Is there any health/medical insurance plan (i.e. eligible for deduction u/s 80D) which offers premium payment through monthly/quarterly mode (preferably via ECS)? I have searched around a lot but couldnt find any.
Also, what is the difference between traditional health insurance plans and the new ones (ULIP based) such as those offered by ICICI Pru?
OT - Do you also deal in car insurance?
You had PM me this same post which I had reply.

Originally Posted by Shankyz View Post
Can we TBHPians form a group and sign-up for Group Health Insurance? I think it will be a much better option than signing up for plans on individual basis, we will get more insurance cover for same premium, existing disease coverage and can include parents too?
Is it possible? If yes, which Providers agree to sell Group Medical Insurance to Pvt Groups?
I don't think you can form a group like that, as commercial interest of a group is must for insurance which I don't think we have, with each other. I will also advice at the same time that, please stay away from this group insurance kind of policies, as in long term you are not sure of these groups. Individual policy is the best option.
Old 8th June 2010, 10:48   #137

Reliance started showing it's original colours !!

Yes, Reliance General Insurance started up showing original colors.

Last year I paid an amount of around 5K for coverage amounting 5 Lakh for me + spouse + child. Now, this year some how they suddenly wake up and increased the premium amount for a whopping 200% and want me to pay around 15K for the same coverage.

I would be visiting there branch today afternoon and try to raise up the issue, but knowing reliance's crookness I am very sure the visit will be worthless

Anyone else gone through such dilemma ??

I'll be for not remain with Reliance if they refused to decrease the premium to some realistic figures, kindly share any good health insurance plan you have opted to !!

EDIT: Found a news for the same as well

http://www.healthinsuranceindia.org/..._increases.asp

Last edited by ashthedivx : 8th June 2010 at 10:50.
Old 8th June 2010, 11:30   #138

Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post

Reliance increases premium rates for Health Insurance india
I have been saying this in my Auto Insurance thread as well "Please stay away from Icici and Reliance."
Old 8th June 2010, 15:52   #139

I need to take a health insurance package for myself, my wife and my son. 5L cover. What do you suggest?
Old 9th June 2010, 09:39   #140

Originally Posted by Abeer View Post
I need to take a health insurance package for myself, my wife and my son. 5L cover. What do you suggest?
This is too open ended question to answer. Please search for products and compare them and then if you are confused then I may help you.
Old 9th June 2010, 10:15   #141

Rupesh,

How do you rate Star Health, as I have heard they are having in-house TPA hence payment denial & issues are minimized ??
Old 9th June 2010, 10:55   #142

Rupesh,

How do you rate Star Health, as I have heard they are having in-house TPA hence payment denial & issues are minimized ??
Let me tell you one thing "My main job is not motor insurance but it is Health Insurance."

No no no!!!

In-house TPA model of working - is something which all the insurance company will come up. Already Bajaj, Chola, Star, Apollo Etc. are working on this system to reduce the cost of admin. This system is for there benefit and not for us, they market it as if, that is good for us which is not true.

In feature I have heard that all 4 PSU will also have there in-house TPA and all the companies who want to tap the health insurance sector in India will have to come in that model only.

Talking of an company which has only health premiums in there kitty, I think they will have a problem in sustaining the market. As we know that health insurance is a loss making business in India I think they will not come in profits for minimum 8 to 10 year's. Which is long period.

Talking of Star Health I.C.L. - They have too much cap-pings in their products please understand them first before going for there policy.
Old 9th June 2010, 12:31   #143

Originally Posted by rjvora_2000 View Post
This is too open ended question to answer. Please search for products and compare them and then if you are confused then I may help you.
I actually did and checked many products available at Family Floater Health Insurance - Family Floater coverage - Family Floater benefits - Family Floater health insurance policy in india - Family Floater diseases mediclaim in india - India, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Pune, India, but I am not sure what features one should be looking at when picking up a policy. Also another question that came up is about critical illness covers, which I am not sure about. Attached are some quotes that I got.
Old 9th June 2010, 14:03   #144

Last year I paid an amount of around 5K for coverage amounting 5 Lakh for me + spouse + child. Now, this year some how they suddenly wake up and increased the premium amount for a whopping 200% and want me to pay around 15K for the same coverage.

I would be visiting there branch today afternoon and try to raise up the issue, but knowing reliance's crookness I am very sure the visit will be worthless

Anyone else gone through such dilemma ??

I'll be for not remain with Reliance if they refused to decrease the premium to some realistic figures, kindly share any good health insurance plan you have opted to !!

EDIT: Found a news for the same as well

Reliance increases premium rates for Health Insurance india

I faced the same issue for both car renewals with Reliance. Have switched to Chola MS and New India this time.

Last edited by abdriver2000 : 9th June 2010 at 14:07.
Old 19th June 2010, 12:48   #145

Been pinging many Insurance companies.. Some queries..

--Any takes for Iffco-Tokio, they are providing double amount cover in case of critical illness ??

--United India Insurance provides some special plan for Bank of India account holders, Any reviews ??

--United India Insurance a special plan via Bajaj Capital where-in they cover pre-existing diseases from 31st day and it also includes maternity expenses @ 10% of cover after 11 month.

Any experiences ??
Old 9th July 2010, 14:11   #146

Read in today's TOI that PSU Insurance companies are drastically pruning the number of approved hospitals for their health insurance policies. Also some big hospitals have opted out of the list by themselves due to low/delayed settlements. Any updates on this?
Old 9th July 2010, 15:22   #147

I bought a parental insurance for my mom from ICICI Lombard (thru our company). Recently she is having some fits like things and I had gone to Manipal Hospital for consultation, the doc conducted 40 K worth tests and says no problems what so ever (I didnt admit her). one tablet given. Again the situation is no better, I went to another Hospital narayana hrudayalaya, consult a cadiologist , another 45 K worth tests done, concludes everything is normal (this time i got her admitted). Now insurance company didnt pay for this admission etc mentioning no treatment is done, only diagnosis. Can I get a reimbursement?
Old 9th July 2010, 15:44   #148

I know there are lot of companies offering different insurance products, but I am confused about which product to go for.
My basic requirements are:

1) Should have cashless facility with most hospitals,

2) should cover critical illnesses (not just some rare critical illness)

3) Should be a reliable company, which does not haggle for payments and approvals

I know I am missing a lot of other points, So do suggest some company and product also.
Old 9th July 2010, 16:02   #149

Originally Posted by Fordy View Post
Now insurance company didnt pay for this admission etc mentioning no treatment is done, only diagnosis. Can I get a reimbursement?
As far as I know, yes. No charges for the testing or diagnostics unless it is treated for.

Not sure if any policy covers this.
Old 9th July 2010, 18:32   #150

I have been under the HDFC ERGO family floater since 2009, I never heard about this brand until I got a call from the HDFC cards division offering some discount and EMI options for the credit card customers. That was the first time I opted for a family health cover. Its been one year, never claimed anything and time to renew within 30 days. I came to know crictical illness is not covered under this, therefore I am thinking of opting a policy that covers everything but as a family floater itself. HDFC ERGO has a critical illness policy that could be added with my existing one. I am thinking.

My doubt is: Should I continue with HDFC Ergo itself or opt for another brand that can cover everything as a family package ? Existing policy renewal will be 10.8k with a 2.10 lk coverage for myself, wife and 2 kids. I wanted my mother (60 yrs) also to be under this policy, but they dont have an option to add parents. Suggestions highly appreciated.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com