Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th May 2013, 18:04   #1036
BHPian

Re: The Credit Card Thread

Received a SMS that my RBS card has been deactivated since it has not been used for 4 months, I have been using the card for more than 5 years and was told that it is a lifetime free card.
Old 7th May 2013, 21:32   #1037
BHPian

Banks normally do that for security reasons. If you want to retain a card you need to keep it active.
Old 9th May 2013, 12:54   #1038
BHPian

I stopped using a credit card about 4 years back. Before that I had almost a purse-full and the thought of how I managed to clear them all haunts me even now.
I have matured since then. I still keep getting calls for new cards from different banks, however am not don't want to risk it again.
Old 9th May 2013, 13:30   #1039
BHPian

My friend was sold a country club membership three days ago.A large amount was swiped from his credit card and converted to 12 installments.As discussed on another thread and other sources around the internet ,and after reading detailed terms and conditions (which he did not sign,his father did),he has realized that he has been swindled and that facts went grossly misrepresented to him.The card was swiped before any paperwork was filled.

He has signed the merchant copy slip.

He then contacted the HDFC credit card customer care and was told to email customer services as they were unable to identify transaction ID on their end.
He was told payment has been made and 12 EMI'S has been authorised.

How should he proceed now to stop EMI payments?
Old 9th May 2013, 14:00   #1040
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsingh View Post
My friend was sold a country club membership three days ago. [...] How should he proceed now to stop EMI payments?
I doubt if anything can be done now - caveat emptor applies I guess. The signature on the charge slip says that your friend agrees to pay the amount or else.