101,000 - 250,000 kms 350 44.64%
251,000 - 500,000 kms 148 18.88%
501,000 - 1,000,000 kms 47 5.99%
Over 1 million kms 23 2.93%
Voters: 784. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10th September 2019, 07:55   #271

Re: How many kms (in total) have you driven?

First car I owned was an M 800: 45000 kms, second: Hyundai Accent : 60000 kms, Hyundai Elantra: 36000 kms A total of 141,000 kms. Prior to that learnt driving in an Amby and later drove a Sipani D1.
Durango Dude is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th September 2019, 11:21   #272

1989 to 1996/ RD350: 95,000 KMs
1993 to 1996/Dolphin: 15,000 Kms
1996 to 2002/Maruti 800: 70,000 Kms
2002 to 2010/Indica: 68,000 Kms
2003 to 2017/Thunderbird: 14,000 Kms
2010 to 2017/Sumo GrandeMKII:1,25,000 Kms
2012 to till date/Vista 81,000 Kms
2015 to 2019/RE CGT: 14,000 Kms
2016 to till date/Himalayan 15,000 Kms
2017 to till date/ Hexa 46,000 Kms
2017 to till date/Tiger 800XC 14,000 Kms

A total of 4,57,000 Kms. Just averaging about 1,200 Kms a month over the last 30 years of riding and driving.

Last edited by arulpeem : 11th September 2019 at 11:40. Reason: Missed out data on Vista
Old 11th September 2019, 11:39   #273

Total number of km's done

Maruti Omni - 75,000 kms (1996 - 2011)
Bullet standard - 55,000 kms (2007 - 2016)
Skoda Rapid - 32,000 kms (2017 onwards)

Total - 1,62,000 kms over the last 23 years.
Old 12th September 2019, 18:38   #274

Bikes

KB100 RTZ : 1988 - 2004 = 1,00,000+ kms
CT100 : 2004 - 2006 = 20,000+ kms
Gladiator : 2006 - till date = 60,000+ kms

Cars

M800 : 2000 - 2005 = 25,000+ kms
Palio : 2005 - till date = 65,000+ kms

Total = 270,000 kms over 31 years.

Waited two years before polling, so as to cross the threshold of 251,000
and chances of crossing the next threshold appear to be low :-(

By the same coin, GTO who has opened the thread and other early posters (is this the right word? ) must have racked up much more mileage by now!!

BTW, this thread reminds me of a movie - "Up in the Air" - George Clooney and his million miles in air (a different kind of 'human' story but enjoyable)

Last edited by vrprabhu : 12th September 2019 at 18:42. Reason: Afterthought...
Old 12th September 2019, 19:01   #275

I rarely find time to share my thoughts, but this thread got me thinking in the split of my close to 600000 kms of driving. So heres my log:-

Bike
2002 Yamaha RXZ 5 Speed : 2002 – till date = 70000 kms +

Cars - India
1995 Maruti Esteem : 1999 - 2000 = 12,000 kms +
2006 Tata Indigo D: 2006 - 2013 = 85,000 kms +

Cars - UAE
2009 Nissan Tiida HB : 2009 – 2013 = 96000 kms +
2006 Cadillac SRX V8 : 2012 – 2013 = 60000 kms +
2013 Chevy Tahoe V8 : 2013 till date = 200000 kms +

The above excludes around 5000 kms worth of driving other cars that were not mine
Old 12th September 2019, 22:17   #276

Have used a few vehicles over the years and have raked up many thousands of km's,but for a vehicle which has been used exclusively by just me, I've owned just a two wheeler.

Honda Activa 125
2016-present 33000km

Have done a couple of long rides on this, longest was of about 400km or so.
Old 13th September 2019, 08:33   #277

Learnt riding by sneaking out on dad's 84 model Bajaj Super. This scooter still runs, had two rebores in between. However, I will count my exclusive rides after I got an official DL in late nineties. Missus has developed a road fear after a minor accident, doesn't drive any more and never had a driver. So, over 95% of these kilometres are self driven.

1. Yamaha RXZ (my first bike bought from salary): 48k kms (1998-2007)
2. Kinetic Style: 11k (2001-2011)
3. WagonR: 72k (2002-2016)
4. Bullet Electra; 22k (2006+)
5. Safari 2.2: 60k (2009+)
6. Brio: 19k (2013+)
7. TVS Jupiter: 9k (2014+)
8. HD Iron 883: 9k (2015-17)
9. HD Fat Boy: 16k (2017+)

Total approx 266k kilometres. The longest single (round) trip was about 5200 KMs on Fat Boy to Nepal (Janakpur) from Pune and back via east coast.

-BJ
Old 12th October 2019, 13:47   #278

Originally Posted by Aakarsh View Post
Excuse me for going a bit off topic here but please tell me how did you manage 3.5 lacs kilometres on your Indica V2? How many times did your Indica undergo engine overhaul?

I have used an Indica for 3.24 Lakh km without touching engine.
Major service at 60 k needed where, few suspension components, struts, brake pads, timing belt, and tires(with 4mm depth) were changed.
Same was needed again at 120 k and in addition Clutch plate was also changed.
At that time I procured an Innova, and gave this car to my staff. I scheduled major maintenance for the car again at 180 k, and asked for an overhaul too, as there was some dark smoke. But the mechanic said that issue is not engine, but the fuel pump, this along with injectors was serviced, and car was as good as new again. We repeated the major service we ourselves had decided everything at 240k and 300k too, where at this schedule we had to change the 5th gear synchronizing ring as well, as the gear had started jumping from fifth to neutral when foot was taken off the throttle.
While doing wheel alignment after the 3 Lakh km service, the alignment guy commented that all the potholes and bad roads the car has gone over in the last 3 yearslakh km has started moving the lower arm base points, and this is the last wheel alignment he will probably get correct and car should be sold off.
About 4 months later we found a customer who accepted the usage as well as the condition and as he was going to use only on dirt roads in his home village in Nandurbar we sold the car to him. ODO was 3.24 Lakh then, and only two users me, and the person who did my upcountry sales.

Rahul
Old 22nd June 2022, 10:29   #279

My 1,00,000+ kms driving journey

Hi guys. I have been driving roughly for about 12 years now which got me thinking, I definitely would have driven / ridden for more than 1,00,000 kms by now. A quick calculation of the odometers of the vehicles I have owned over this period and reducing that by respective factors (have taken these numbers conservatively. Rarely does any one else drive when I am around) and I got to a number of ~ 1,25,000 kms. The break down by vehicle is -
  1. Maruti Alto - Odometer reading at time of sale ~10,000kms. Reduced by 25% since the driving was shared between my mom and me. Self driven = 7,500kms
  2. Honda Jazz - Odometer reading at time of sale ~52,000 kms. Reduced by 50% since the driving was shared between my parents and me. Self driven = 26,000kms
  3. Honda Brio - Odometer reading at time of sale ~56,000 kms. No reduction factor since this car was driven exclusively by me
  4. Maruti S Cross - Odometer as of today ~14,000 kms. Reduced by 50% since the driving is shared between my parents and me. Self driven = 7,000kms
  5. Nissan Kicks - Odometer reading as of today ~8,000 kms. No reduction factor since this car is driven exclusively by me
  6. Honda CBR150- Odometer reading at time of sale ~16,000 kms. Reduction factor of ~25% since the bike was ridden frequently by my college mates. Self driven = 12,000 kms
  7. Bajaj Dominar 400- Odometer reading as of today ~15,000 kms. No reduction factor since this bike is ridden exclusively by me
For now, I have ignored the learning hours I spent on our 15 year old Peugeot 504. This was in Lagos, Nigeria and all I learnt about road manners from our resident driver was flushed down the drain when I landed in India
I thought an interesting perspective would be to look at driving standards across the various cities I have driven in (taking cities where I have driven >1,000 kms).
  • Chandigarh - By far, the highest standard of driving in India I have seen. No unnecessary lane cutting or honking and the Chandigarh Police stands there daring you to cross a redlight. As I understand from my friends who have stayed their life in Chandigarh, wearing a seat belt / helmet is a sub-conscious activity
  • Delhi NCR - Amazing, wide roads but they are probably one of the reasons for the rough driving in Delhi NCR. This is where I first felt the "big car has right of way" feeling. However, at least in Delhi, I feel rules are mostly followed. In NCR, I see yellow number plates and 2 wheelers take liberty with the rules
  • Mumbai - Decent roads (the Eastern Express Highway and the Sion Panvel expressway are true game changers) and the law of the land is followed. Mumbai was one city where I actually saw lane driving. Overall a happy experience but in Mumbai, it is evident that the road infra is playing catch up with the traffic
  • Ludhiana - It is said that if you can get your car out without a scratch, consider it a victory. Haphazard parking on the road, 2 and 3 wheelers seem to have a separate playbook and incessant honking. The infra is seriously lacking in the interior city with the outer sides are barely able to handle the sheer volume
  • Ranchi - This is where I spent my 4 years of engineering. Single lane roads, sparse traffic and no rules as such to speak of. This was back in 2013-14. I am sure things would be different now. Wearing a helmet was an aberration and there were hardly any red lights
  • Bangalore - Aaah!! What to say? Bangalore's traffic woes are well documented and I don't have much to add. All I can say is that this is the 1st city I have seen where the 2 wheelers are ready to give their lives if it can get them in front
I am not listing down experiences of driving on highways across states since that is penned down regularly on the forum.
Would love to hear perspectives of other folks. I am sure we have members who have driven over a million kms as well
ShreyG is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th December 2022, 21:51   #280

Today I clocked 44444.4 kms on my 11+yrs old Honda Aviator and was able to click the pic also.
How many kms (in total) have you driven?-eb9ed2fd995b40a4a2590459c72ca388.jpeg  

Old 5th December 2022, 22:16   #281

I have driven / owned 2 wheelers since 2001 and a 4-wheeler since 2013.

1. Bajaj Saffire ~ 12,000 kms
2. Luna ~ 3,000 kms
3. Honda Unicorn - 30,000 kms
4. Other 2-wheelers ~ 5,000 kms
5. Alto 800 - 75,000 kms

Overall around 1,25,000 kms of driving experience in these 20+ yrs
Old 5th December 2022, 22:50   #282

I started riding a two wheeler when I was in the second year of my degree college(1985) and it was Kinetic Spark gifted by my late Father, had it for 12 years, odo reading was 66000kms,before i sold it in the year 1997,

Bajaj 4S Champion was introduced in the year 1997 ,Purchased it for 37000 rupees,odometer meter reading was 95000km before it was sold in the year 2003. Purchase Bajaj wind 125 for 52000 rupees,it has front disk breaks and 5 gears,it is still with me, odometer meter 18,000km

In the year 2002 itself purchased M800 drove it for 45,000km ,exchanged it for Ritz VXI ABS,in the year 2010 and it's odometer reading is as on date 1,36,000kms,it is still with me being used as beater car.

In october 2015 bought Ford Fiesta diesel titanium and till date it's odometer reading is 105241km.The total comes around 600000 kilometers

Last edited by Timeline 1967 : 5th December 2022 at 23:01.
Old 5th December 2022, 22:52   #283

I started riding in Oct 2006 when I got (or when my dad bought) Bajaj Pulsar 150, rode it till 2016 when profession demanded more distant travels and moved to driving mom's Nano, interspersed with Indigo in between. Thereafter bought Tiago in 2017 and driving it solely till now.

Bajaj Pulsar ~90,000
TVS Wego 5,000
Bajaj Dominar 400 13,000
Tata Nano ~20,000
Tata Indigo ~25,000
Maruti Ertiga ~15,000
Tata Tiago 1,27,000

Looks like I am only a bit shy of 3,00,000
Hopefult will cross that number with the currently awaited Sonet!
Old 11th May 2023, 23:43   #284

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

Phew! Crossed the 1.5 million Kms mark over 32 years of driving mostly in the Middle East, India and a little bit in UK, US and Aus.
Rangy62 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2023, 09:50   #285

Originally Posted by Rahul Rao View Post
the alignment guy commented that all the potholes and bad roads the car has gone over in the last 3 years lakh km has started moving the lower arm base points, and this is the last wheel alignment he will probably get correct and car should be sold off.
Probably why we all think a two hundred times to buy a used car. The comment is not on you or this instance but on the resellers.