251,000 - 500,000 kms 148 18.88%
501,000 - 1,000,000 kms 47 5.99%
Over 1 million kms 23 2.93%
Voters: 784. You may not vote on this poll

Old 5th November 2015, 12:42   #1

How many kms (in total) have you driven?

This discussion sparked off among Moderators recently, and I thought it'll make for an interesting thread.

How many kms have you driven in *total*, over the years?

Back of the envelope calculations tell me that I have ~600,000 kms of driving experience under my belt. This includes ~35,000 kms in the USA, ~30,000 kms on two-wheelers (college days) and ~200,000 kms on my Jeep (also the car I've driven the most).

We have a related thread, but it's not quite the same.

Last edited by GTO : 6th November 2015 at 12:58.
GTO is offline   (38) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 12:55   #2

Re: How many kms (in total) have you driven?

Mine is around 1,30,000 kms in car.
And around 40,000 kms in my old kinetic Honda.
PS: How you drive matters more than how much you drive
jinojohnt is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 12:57   #3

~ 125000 KM - car in India + ~ 30000 KM - Two wheeler in India + ~20000 KM - car in the USA
Latheesh is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:01   #4

I am surprised that my total driving adds up to almost 3,00,000 kms. I gave up 2 wheels once I got my 4 wheel DL in 1998.

If I am travelling in a car, 95% of the time its me at the wheel .
Santoshbhat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:03   #5

My total:

Maruti Omni - 10,000 Kms
Ford Ikon - 40,000 Kms
Swift - 2,00,000 Kms
Brio - 2,000 Km

Total ~ 2.5x lakh km

Last edited by Eddy : 5th November 2015 at 13:04.
Eddy is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:05   #6

Not going to vote in the thread now. Will lose a chance.

52000 km in the Polo currently. Have driven a bit in our '99 Zen and the Dzire as well but not much - 3000 km tops. Will leave them out.

Jeroen, Navin, ajmat and Rudra shouldn't cast their votes in the poll!
Gannu_1 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:07   #7

Hmmm. Let me be the first to select the option of less than 1 lac kms.
Cars - 35000 kms
2 Wheelers - 51000 kms
Overall - 86000 kms
Simhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:09   #8

Two wheeler (Hero Honda Splendor + Honda Activa) - around 75000 kms
Four wheeler (WagonR + Etios Liva) - more than 110000 kms
kavensri is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:11   #9

Excellent thread. It certainly got me thinking had and working furiously with the calculator.

I've gone through a lot of cars since the time I got my licence (January 1995).

Over the years, lots of journeys have been undertaken and almost every road in India has been driven on. Calculations give me a total of well over 500,000 kms in the kitty. The bulk of this distance has been on Indian roads.
Aditya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:26   #10

Great thread GTO,

Here's my set of numbers:

Honda Unicorn: 33,000
Hero Honda Karizma: 25,000
Maruti WagonR: 35,000
Maruti Ritz: 1,10,000
Maruti Swift: 60,000
Maruti Alto K10 AMT: 2,000

Net total: 2,65,000 kms with all of the above done only in Hyderabad and all of this since May, 2006.

Last edited by a4anurag : 5th November 2015 at 13:29.
a4anurag is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:43   #11

Keeping this limited to just "Driving" my own cars:

Alto - (May 2003 - Oct 2003) - 13000 Kms
WagonR - (Mar 2006 - Till Date) - 226000 Kms (around 15000 by wifey post Oct 2012)
Ertiga - (Oct 2013 - Till Date) - 70000 Kms
---------------------------------------------------------
Total 309000 Kms
---------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by paragsachania : 5th November 2015 at 13:44.
paragsachania is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:49   #12

Excellent Thread GTO.

Cant remember exactly, but have been driving since 2002. 29-June-2002 I got Bajaj Spirit, Maroon color, smiling headlamp, Comet 35W bulb. Its over 13 years now. Then came Caliber ( original round headlamp one ), then Zeus, M800, Baleno, Wagon R, Innova, Grand i10 and now Swift. Out of all these, least driven by me is Innova. Car with highest reading currently with us : Wagon R, 55000+ kms.

Total 2-wheeler driving : 1,05,000 kms.
Total 4-wheeler driving : 60,000 kms.

My driving has reduced as the place I work since last 3 years+ is barely 5 kms. from my place. Due to work pressure, less personal traveling, more professional traveling.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 5th November 2015 at 13:54.
aaggoswami is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th November 2015, 13:55   #13
NPV

Kinetic Honda 40,000
USA (Honda Accord, Ford Taurus & several other rental cars) 175,000 (110k+ miles)
Esteem 70,000
Indica 40,000
Dzire 60,000
M800 15,000
That's almost 400,000 Km

Last edited by NPV : 5th November 2015 at 13:57.
Old 5th November 2015, 13:55   #14

Mine is 35000 km in my i10, and 49000 km and running on my i20.
Also drove about 2000 km in Europe in a beemer 320D. What an amazing 2000 km that was!
Old 5th November 2015, 13:57   #15

Nice thread. I assumed I would be well under 100,000. But turns out I have driven/ridden ~130,000km. ~40K in bike and 90K in Car. The car driving started in 2006 and has started shooting up in the last 2-3 years.

See a vote for >1 million km, but don't see it in the comments. Who would that be? Please stand up and take a bow

Last edited by Rajeevraj : 5th November 2015 at 14:00.