101,000 - 250,000 kms 350 44.64%
251,000 - 500,000 kms 148 18.88%
501,000 - 1,000,000 kms 47 5.99%
Over 1 million kms 23 2.93%
Voters: 784. You may not vote on this poll

Old 8th November 2015, 13:14   #151

Re: How many kms (in total) have you driven?

Learned car driving last year.
Driven Cars: 8000 Kms
Learned bike riding 3 years back
Bike : 7000 Kms

Total: 15000 Kms
Old 8th November 2015, 13:15   #152

Two wheelers: 10000 kms
Four wheelers: 65000 kms

Got my license 12 years ago. I feel so inexperienced compared to people here :(
Old 8th November 2015, 14:00   #153

Karzima -- 25,000

Indica -- 45,000

City - 40,000

Swift - 1,05,000

Total -- Around 2,10,000 kms
Old 8th November 2015, 14:51   #154

Tata Manza - 59K , Alto - 11K , Driving in US (various cars mostly from rentals) ~12K

Total : About 82K
Old 8th November 2015, 14:54   #155

Suzuki Fiero - 35,000 Km
Hyundai Getz - 54,000 Km
Honda Pleasure - 4,000 Km
Jetta - 23,250 Km
Polo GT Tsi - 500 Km

Total - 1,16,750km
Old 8th November 2015, 15:03   #156

It will be a bit recall the exact KM's done on the bikes, though will be roughly around 75000KM (pretty sure it will more), cars it's 65000KM. So a total of 140000 KM.
Old 8th November 2015, 15:24   #157

Lambretta ~5,000 kms (India)
MM540 & Gypsy ~3,000 kms (India)
Toyota Corolla ~90,000 (Oman)
Ford Explorer ~50,000 (Oman)
Jeep Wrangler ~7,000 (Oman)
Old 8th November 2015, 16:14   #158

I have been driving for about 16 years, but looking at the other BHPians from this thread, it looks like I have not been driving enough.
Approximately 40000 kms on 2 wheelers - Hero Honda CD 100, TVS Victor and Bajaj Discover over a period of 16 years
About 40000 kms in my first car - a Reddish Blue ZEN (sold in 2010)
45000 kms in my 1st new car - White SWIFT Vxi (2010 - 2012)
20000 kms in my dad's black i20 Asta (2009 - 2015)
Approximately 25000 kms in the US across multiple trips (Nissan Altima, Chevy Malibu)
4500 kms in my new Jetta Comfortline in Aussie land now.
Old 8th November 2015, 21:10   #159
SDP

Nissan Maxima - 16,000kms
HH Spendor - 67,000 kms
Alto - 70,000 and counting
XUV - 37,000 and counting

So, 1.9 lakh kms till now.
Old 8th November 2015, 23:02   #160

Mine is around 16000 kms and adding on honda aviator and 25000 on my chevy spark.
Old 8th November 2015, 23:25   #161

Kinetic honda - 5000kms
Maruti Zen - 10000kms
Honda Activa - 9500kms
Renault Duster- 11200kms

So that is about 36000kms. Still a newbie compared to other pros on team-bhp
Old 8th November 2015, 23:47   #162

Splendor - 10000 kms
Esteem - 59000 kms
i20 - 49000 kms and counting

Total - 118000 kms
Old 9th November 2015, 00:07   #163

I got licensed when I was around 20 years old and as some others have pointed out, the longer one has lived the more kilometers/miles you tend to rack up.

My learning to drive phase started out on 2-wheelers borrowed from friends who were nice enough to trust me to handle them (which was a strict no-no as per my father who did not believe them to be safe). I racked up at the most 10-15 km on all my 2-wheeler driving.

The "real" learning began on my Dad's Premier Padmini & Maruti 800 for a total between them around 100 km. The Premier was a real lemon and was constantly breaking down. Dad replaced it as soon as a Maruti 800 was available for purchase- those days (late 80's) there was a long waiting list for it.

Most of my driving has been in the USA after I finished college. The driving in earnest started in the late 90's. Since then I'm on my 12th car here in the USA (the latest being a pre-owned Subaru Legacy). A rough calculation gave me a total of 350,000 miles in all (around 5.6 lac km).

My driving in India was limited to the brief stays of a few months at a time whenever I visited. Amongst the 4-5 cars my family has had over the years in India I probably drove 10,000 km at most.

Grand total 570,000 km, give or take.

Last edited by autonarr : 9th November 2015 at 00:11.
Old 9th November 2015, 09:28   #164

As of Nov/8, 2015 (Have to put a date, since I will graduate to 3rd radio option soon)

Journey so far. (Some of them, I borrowed vehicles from friends/rented them)

2 WHEELERS
  • (60KPL) 1999-2003 Hero Puch Shakti 3G: 20000 kms (Sold)
  • (35KPL) 2004-2005 Yamaha YBX: 15000 kms (My manager's bike)
  • (45KPL) 2006+ Hero Honda Pleasure : 5000 kms
  • (35KPL) 2013+ Honda CBR250R ABS: 12000 kms
  • (20KPL) 2014+ Harley Davidson Sportster Superlow 883XL: 6000 kms
  • [USA] (18KPL) 2014+ BMW K1600 GTL: 13840 kms (8600 miles) ...and counting
4 WHEELERS
  • (18KPL) 2006-2007 Maruti Suzuki ALTO Lxi: 17000 kms (Sold)
  • (15KPL) 2007-2008 Maruti Suzuki ZEN Vxi: 11000 kms (Sold)
  • (11KPL) 2008-2013 Maruti Suzuki SX4 Zxi: 45000 kms (Sold)
  • (20KPL) 2013-2014 Maruti Suzuki WagonR Vxi: 14000 kms (Sold)
  • [INDIA/BHUTAN] (20KPL) 2013-2014 FIAT Punto Emotion Diesel: 4500 kms (Owned by my friend)
  • (9KPL) 2012+ Honda CIVIC S-AT: 13000 kms
  • [USA] (16KPL) 2014+ Mazda 6 GT: 52142 kms (32400 miles) ...and counting
  • [USA] (18KPL) 2014 Mazda 3: 480 kms / 300 miles (Rented)
  • [USA] (10KPL) 2014 Jeep Cherokee: 160 kms / 100 miles (Rented)
.. and some unaccounted miles on my Hero Ranger cycle

HIGHLIGHTS:
  • Distance (kms) (and counting): 229122 kms
  • Fuel wasted (approx): 20748 litres
  • Time wasted (approx): 4582 hours (@50 kmph average speed) = 190 days
  • CO2 emissions: 79.047 t (https://co2.myclimate.org/en/portfol...tion_id=337569)
  • Money Spent at present rate @ 65/l, 10kmpl: INR 12,67,500 / $19500
P.S: Some of the vehicles mentioned above have put up more miles, but I have not accounted for them, since I have not logged those miles. This post highlights my contribution.

Accidents/Incidents worth mentioning
  • Rear ended a Hyundai Santro with my ALTO. No damages.
  • Rubbed sideways with a Swift on my Zen. Very minor scratches on fender.
  • Rear ended an auto-rickshaw with my SX4. Passenger in the auto received shocks from the accident, but she was very supportive. It was my mistake partly for lack of concentration, and the auto did not have functional brake-lamps at the rear.
  • A scooter crashed at 90 degrees with my SX4. The scooter rider had some injuries on his leg. (He had some skin loss). He was a daily wage worker and not having license or wearing any helmet. Car's front bumper was intact though there was a hole. Total damages 15000 rupees to treat the poor guy and my car. Scooter guy was careless.
  • Fell from Hero Puch on 3 occasions and had a hair line fracture and stitch inside my lips (Lesson: Don't wear half helmet)
  • Rammed into a pedestrian's while overtaking a bus from wrong side on Yamaha YBX. No damages or injuries.
  • Minor crash with a cyclist on my CBR. It was my fault since I was doing 100 kmph+. The cyclist (Local villager) panicked and went to center of the road due to confusion. My stopping distance fell short by some few meters and I rammed into the cyclist (at slow speed). No damages to the cyclist but my right-wing mirror was broken.
  • Crashed against a dog while driving my CIVIC at 140+ kmph on golden quadrilateral (AP zone). I was over-speeding but the dog crossed my path unexpectedly, and it was beyond my control. The poor dog lost its life (came to know later from Golak). I had pulled over after some distance to assess the damages. My front bumper had loosened up and cracked, which was fixed using nylon tie-cables.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 9th November 2015 at 11:18. Reason: Removed blog link. We do not permit posting links to personal blogs on the forum. Thanks!
Old 9th November 2015, 09:50   #165

I have driven around 40,000+ kms in four wheeler and more than 70,000 kms on various two wheelers (2 bikes, 5 scooters).

I still enjoy two wheeler a lot more than four wheeler