Old 9th January 2021, 16:03   #61

Re: I'm thinking about quitting driving

Driving well over 1 lakh on Indian road condition is no child’s play. I understand you are a bit sad of the dog related incident. I too had a similar feeling the first time. Hit a dog head-on on the highway , it jumped out of nowhere . Stopped over to see as to what happened . Well the dog was dead on impact.

Was shaken for few days , then I was back on track . After that I have hit couple of more dogs( even a snake too, must have been King Cobra). That’s the harsh truth. There are no barricades on the highways , they will jump on the highway. What I have learnt is not to allow that to disturb me. I am more rational person now , it’s either the dog or my loved ones in the car.

Maintain sane speeds and lookout for those non barricaded highways and anticipate , I have saved more than I have killed. Including humans. If not for my defensive driving , they would have been dead.

Hope you keep driving !
vj_torqueaddict is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th January 2021, 16:27   #62

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
I have been using Bangalore-Mysuru stretch quite frequently, but the never ending road-works and incomplete/hazardous stretches have put paid to many lives.
This incident made me return back to home base without completing my ride. I was shuddering at the sight, and feeling really sad typing this now.
Agree, on my rides I used to first reach Mysore, have a cup of coffee and then decide on the destination. That road is a nightmare, more due to the speeds involved. Once I took almost 4hrs to traverse it just because I wasn't comfortable with the traffic that day.

I mostly ride solo but only take a pillion if the idea is to enjoy the trip meaning 50-70kmph speeds and multiple stops for tea/coffee soaking in the scenery. What the rider went through is dreaded. Hope that never happens to anyone again. Felt sad reading it.
Have also cancelled a couple of rides due to similar situations.

Honestly with the traffic these days I take the car if not going solo.

The most recent nightmare (literally) was in Dec 2019. Had to escort relatives from out of state who got stupidly delayed leaving Chickmagalur and had a flight to catch the next morning else I would have forced them to stay back. I was on my bike trailing their car. Had to ride through that stretch in the dark. Seemed like everyone was going over 120kph in the night!
This was a ride with extreme alertness, fingers on brake ready to drop at even a hint of a shadow in the path and also a prayer, for the entire stretch.

After confirming they had crossed into the city, at around 2200hrs I drank water for 30 minutes at Nelamangala toll plaza. I was drained, it was that bad. Then reached Sarjapur via the NICE road skipping the ORR, didn't even want to see a vehicle for the next couple of days.

But as it has been amply mentioned in this thread that driving here safely is very taxing and dangerous but the alternatives aren't better or even present in most cases.

I would say that driving should not be given up but practiced better with caution and even if the car is there you can always take the other options if you don't feel like driving.

It will be a combination of all modes of transport but giving up the most reliable one doesn't make sense.

I have taken the bus multiple times in the city even with the bike parked just because I didn't feel like dealing with traffic that day
shancz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2021, 16:32   #63

You don’t want to drive eh...Anyway with driverless technology being developed at warp speed...this might not be too far off.

So enjoy it while you can
Red Liner is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th January 2021, 16:47   #64

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
You don’t want to drive eh...Anyway with driverless technology being developed at warp speed...this might not be too far off.

So enjoy it while you can
Good One, Thanks, much needed

If that is going to solve the traffic chaos we live in, I am ready to sacrifice the LTD motto
shancz is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th January 2021, 17:05   #65

A motorhead's fear of driving is like a surgeon's fear of looking at blood, flesh and bones.

Sure you can be either with the fear, but then would you enjoy being one?

There are positives and negatives of each and everything, and after-all experience is the greatest teacher.

I would say get on and get driving. Nothing makes a motorhead happier than driving...
iamahunter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2021, 18:12   #66

As someone who has clocked over 3 lac kms in India and still looks forward to the next 3 lac kms, I completely understand where you are coming from as even I feel annoyed driving sometimes be it the rising number of idiots who fly into roads from interior streets, or the atrocious parking habits within cities and even the rural bumpkins charging onto national highways on tractors or buffaloes on the highways. All unnecessarily stressful events.

I find the best way to tackle this is by planning ahead; timing.

It is all about trying to travel in your car at the right time so that you can go slow but maintain a decent average speed and enjoy a relaxing drive. Learn the start and finish of rush hour timings morning and evening in the city, and travel early morning on the highways such that by the time you exit the city there is good amount of light allowing you to see and anticipate events till the horizon. Trying your best to drive only during the most appropriate times of the day, saves a LOT of time and a LOT of hassle. Tackle work timings, make compromises wherever but try maintaining this simple habit it is definitely worth it

Last edited by IshaanIan : 9th January 2021 at 18:19.
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2021, 18:28   #67

Originally Posted by carnutfrombanga View Post

I have driven another 1700 km on the highway since then but have become cautious, have kept my speeds low and keep expecting a worst case scenario, I am thinking of quitting driving but I won't be able to for at least the next 6 months.
You have yourself stated that you have become cautious. That is what experience teaches us my friend. I totally understand your situation, I have been in a more terrible one which involved loss of human life. I did not drive for 6 months after that. My hands used to shiver with even the thought of holding the steering wheel. I even went through the court ordeal. Everyone has had some bad experience or the other on Indian roads. Ask any biker or our community if they have experienced an accident or seen one. Everyone will respond with a loud YES. Take some time off, relax and always think positive. Be extra cautious while driving. While quitting driving altogether will not help save any purpose, give it a thought this way; will a driver ensure your safety? Is there a guarantee that he will not hit a pup or cattle? The answer is a simple NO. I can see you are visibly shaken by the incident but that is life my friend. Your family is safe when you are driving not when someone else is at the wheel. Good luck!
Raghu M is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th January 2021, 19:26   #68

My 2 cents, driving is certainly passion for most of us in this community. Our daily dreams will certainly have a small episode involving our cars. Therefore, a big NO from my side to quit driving even if we come across a few close shaves during our drives.
Quitting for the sake of inexperienced, uncivilised, drunk or sleepy fellow drivers is not a solution, anticipating a mishap would happen. All modes of transport (including walking, recent Delhi incident) involve the same amount of risk if not alert / aware.
As many mentioned, I would always trust the driver in myself rather than a random driver guy any day!
ganadrive16 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th January 2021, 11:05   #69

I think the choice is fairly personal. My mom quit driving for the first time in 1992, after an accident that broke my dad's elbow. She picked it up again in 2000s and then continued driving until 2006. Then she quit for good (as there was no longer the need of her being back up drive) and no one ever asked her not to quit driving. She took up driving as a need and it was no longer the need now.

I have also clocked almost close to 6 l kms and I see conditions on the road deteriorated. A simple example is the Mumbai Pune expressway. It was a breeze to drive on it 10 years ago but now it's absolutely horrible (though my preference always has been the old Bombay Poona road). I have moved across Mumbai to Poona to Nashik to Hyderabad and find that old cities no more have pleasure of driving. I would rather quit "city" driving and get an SUV to enjoy highway drives. But then again, I don't like the dependence on a uber driver and more so now with the pandemic. In Mumbai (NCR for office visits), my personal preference is to move by local trains/metro/walk and not drive unless it's a movement of parents. So practically if there is an alternative to drive within city I take it. But that is not true with Bangalore which has appalling public transport infra. With respect to bus, I prefer a car as it is far more comfortable and easier to travel.

Even for some intercity travel I find trains interesting if the roads are horrible.

Finally, reiterating that to drive or not to drive is a personal choice. It is what you value more that matters.
1.2TSI7DSG is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th January 2021, 11:19   #70

My 2 cents here.

I was in a similar boat maybe 6 years ago ( I was just 21 yo then! ). I had met with an accident as a pillion rider, head on head collision with a Tipper during an uphill drive. I was the pillion and I luckily escaped with a steel-implanted right elbow. After this incident, I was never comfortable getting on to any bike as a pillion! I was super low on confidence to be a pillion rider, I preferred driving myself or better not!

Slowly I regained the confidence and that's it. I never go for a close shave anymore as well be it while driving a car or bike.

Also, I would like to add that taking a break of 6 months or so from driving won't help you either. It will worsen the situation for you.

Getting a safer car can be considered too if the current one has got any safety concerns.
kamilharis is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th January 2021, 11:42   #71

For me, every long road trip is an adventure in itself and I will have my own share of anxiety, slight fear and so on before starting the journey. That makes me really prepared in terms of vehicle condition, accessories, route map etc. The thrill of driving on Indian roads is to expect the unexpected and develop a capacity to anticipate how vehicles, animals, people and signals behave in unexpected ways and be prepared for that. Being a defensive driver myself, every junction on a highway is a potential place for intruders and every long stretch is likely to throw up surprises. At the end of long trips, there is a sigh of relief and that is the reward!
Having said this, I think leaving aside the practical side of the question, decision to continue to drive must be purely a personal choice.
rsanthosh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2021, 12:07   #72

GTO & many BHPians have summed it up nicely.
Quitting is not the solution for a BHPian.
I found few suggestions which can be implemented
1) Upgrade to automatic to reduce stress if any
2) Stop night driving to eliminate hazards associated with it
3)Find companion for a road trip to enhance mood & enjoy the driving
4)Reduce the speed for obviously reducing the risk.

However i came up with a weird suggestion while discussing this with my very young cousin in his 20s.
He put on some weight & wanted to reduce it .So studied many alternatives & gone for Kito diet..
As per his observation after a month into it & loosing 3.5 kilos, he now strongly feels that the concentration levels while driving are drastically improved.
May be food for thought for many foodies

For me i have decided to convert my XUV 500 to semi-automatic.
Will cover it once completed.
This probably will reduce my fatigue & will enjoy driving more in this post retirement phase.
Vijay T is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2021, 12:53   #73

I totally endorse GTO.
What is the reason for wanting to quit driving?
Is it due to the feeling that you caused injury to a living animal?
Or is it that you feel that your skill levels are falling below your confidence zone?
The first is easy to rationalise and more you drive more you will be able to overcome the feeling.
All of us longtime drivers have at somepoint or other have hit or run over animals.
My case 3 snakes in Assam, chickens on old GT Road, 2 dogs on city roads. Bent my bumper in a touch with black buffalo jumping the divider at night on the Del Jaipur expway.
Over a 55 year period in cars and motorcycles.
As it is said s..t happens.

The other point is who do you trust more with your life? Your own driving or some unknown maybe tired hired driver?

The way to reduce the dangers is to pickup as many defensive driving skills as you can.
Like crossing a parked bus there always will be a person or a child stepping out in front. If not you were lucky that time.
This was the first defensive driving skills I was taught.
There are many many more such tips.
Wish you long years of defensive and happy driving.
Amukherjea is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2021, 12:58   #74

Originally Posted by carnutfrombanga View Post
I have driven about 115,000 km in 5 years, just letting other members know that I am no stranger to Indian road conditions and would like to believe that I follow most rules & best practices for highway driving, most of the time....

I wouldn't do that if I were you. One accident isn't the end of the world. Our roads are unfortunately quite filled with those who have got their licenses without basic training. So :-

a. Always belt up - everyone does in my car. Front and back.

b. Keep to speed limits - there is a reason they are there. I hear a lot of people say that "I couldn't feel anything even at 120 kmph - the road was so good...", etc the real test is when you have to slow down. Braking distances increase in proportion to the square of the speed. No getting away from that.

c. Don't have time targets or average speed targets in mind. Your destination will remain intact even if you reach in 6 hours vs 5 hours. If indeed reaching somewhere at a particular time is important give yourself an extra 25% of time so that you reach there without you and the rest having white knuckles or palpitations.

d. Be patient on the road. You will get an overtaking opportunity at some point. If it is not absolutely safe to overtake wait. All you usually end up gaining is one bus length.

e. Enjoy the drive. Getting there should be half the fun. Stop along the way. Eat some local food at roadside places. We are not in some competition in terms of who can get from point A to point B fastest.

I have 32 years of accident free driving and just one fine (which was thanks to an ass from the opposite who decided to jump his light and I had to brake at the junction, by which time the green started blinking and I ended up breaking the light).

Hope this helps.

Last edited by vb-saan : 10th January 2021 at 13:07. Reason: Quote tags fixed
s_yajaman is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th January 2021, 13:41   #75

No!!! Please don't!!!

For a second, let's forget about driving. There are so many things in this nation which are far from being called half decent. Will you quit doing all those things? At the risk of getting infracted, visit any government office for as simple as getting a birth / dead certificate. You will realise how difficult it can get.
Barring those very high end 5* and 7* resturants, visit a local restaurant and you will find all sorts of people with different ways of doing the same thing - eating. Will you stop visiting restaurants? There are many more such examples.

We cannot control other's actions but we surely can keep amending ourselves based on situations.

From this wonderful TeamBhp community, I have understood the true meaning of being a defensive driver. Not to mention, it has helped me complete many long drives with family and friends without any untoward events. So much so that, now I find driving as a meditative therapy!

Take a break from driving if you should, explore options and balance out what works best. Though, I would suggest not to give up driving, it gives an incomparable independence!

All the best!
ObsessedByFIAT is offline   (1) Thanks