|
![]() |
| Search this Thread |
![]() | #91 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2011 Location: Mumbai
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs Quote:
Does have a digital fuel gauge ![]() You dealer should have enough local contacts to fabricate all the guards that you need. Please go for a radiator guard ASAP, the rest can follow. | |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Shome for this useful post: | himalyan_ice |
|
![]() | #92 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: Gurgaon
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs Thanks guys! Will try and get the lines corrected after a double check at the studio. Have ordered the cover for those side panels with open holes. The dealership had its own stock of guard to sell so I didn't get any quotes from them, but I will check with the gent who sold me the bike again. A heads up to all of you riding this one to not use long key chains. I had a key dangling from the other end of my ignition key carabiner, and it got caught between the steering column and body sections causing not only the key to bend, but loss of steering for a couple of short panicky seconds. ![]() |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks himalyan_ice for this useful post: | surjaonwheelz |
![]() | #93 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2010 Location: Gurgaon
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs
Congrats on the bike, the vulcan 650 has always been underrated in our country! Rode it once and was impressed with the bike overall barring the brakes. I am based out of Gurgaon as well! Look forward to meeting you one of these days! Last edited by Gannu_1 : 11th December 2020 at 12:29. Reason: Trimming quoted post. Please avoid quoting a large post as it inconveniences small screen users. Thanks! |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks trumpcard for this useful post: | himalyan_ice |
![]() | #94 |
BHPian Join Date: Oct 2020 Location: Gurugram
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs Congratulations on the new bike ! This is on my candidate list for sure. I have a question though regarding the ground clearance, is it manageable for longer rides/ city speed breakers ? Thanks. |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
![]() | #95 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2011 Location: Mumbai
Yes it is, you just need to get used to how you want to take the speed breakers. If your city has those short sharp ones with an extremely steep approach, you will hit the catcon. I've hit is a few times, but nothings broken yet, touch-wood. |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
![]() | #96 | |
Newbie Join Date: Dec 2020 Location: Mumbai
Haha, even I had incidentally stumbled upon the Vulcan after not getting a test ride of the RE 650 at my nearest showroom in Mumbai. I've been really happy with the decision and hope you are too. | |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
![]() | #97 | ||
Riding with a pillion could prove embarrassing more frequently than you'd feel comfortable with. Quote:
Do read on. I did my first long(ish) ride on the Vulcan y'day. About 200Kms+ on NH8. I am on 450 odd Kms on my ODO. Here are my observations and suggestions. The accessories for the Vulcan are hard to come by, and really expensive. For example a Hopeco & Becker luggage rack will set you back by about INR 11,000. A Puig leg guard by INR 21,000. A radiator guard by INR 9,000. Original Kawasaki accessories are even dearer (that is IF they even make the item you are looking for). So I got the following brands instead: A motofusion radiator guard - Around INR 2,300. The difference is that it's secured by zipties instead of screws. An Asco engine guard - Around INR 8,000. Still have to get it fitted, so will update as and when I do. As for the luggage rack, I got the saree guard cut, and installed the grab rails on the bike. Post which I got 5 steel bars welded between the grab rails. Once that was done, I got the welding sanded and powder coated. The whole operation cost me a couple of hours for fabrication and leaving the guard overnight for powder-coating. Total cost? INR 1,300 So that's a saving of INR 10,000 and I'll be honest when I say that that finishing is MUCH better than the plain eyesore welds done by the Kawasaki assembly team on the original saree guard. Here are a few things you'll have to be careful about though:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() You know, it's a 6Lakh motorcycle and for most, it'll be a stepping stone for to a higher category motorcycle. Spending ridiculous amount of money on accessories will make the difference between cost and re-sale even higher. Also, if cheaper and equally effective options exist, the dealerships as well as local vendors should stock them. As far as I know, no big-bike shops in Gurgaon do. Moving on, here are a couple of pictures from my ride y'day. ![]() ![]() My list of pros and cons after spending about 10 days and 450kms with the machine. Pros:
However, the increase in power and increase in comfort are worth the upgrade. Regardless, with RE launching the twins at the price they have and KTM delivering the tech at the price they do, this motorcycle should cost no more than 5lacs on-road WITH everything LED and 10x better assembly. If RE launches a cruiser version of their 650, the Vulcan S will join the W800 in being straight booted out. There is no machine in this specific category that competes (except Harley, and you all know the Harley story) and the next jump is a Triumph Speedmaster which costs 13 big ones on the road. So if you're in the market for a mid-sized cruiser go for this, but with eyes well open. Will keep you guys posted about the ownership experience as and when! Last edited by himalyan_ice : 21st December 2020 at 11:32. Reason: Images were not uploaded | ||
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following 13 BHPians Thank himalyan_ice for this useful post: | abhi_tjet, amvj, ast.ggn, bf1983, bj96, mohit_a, neil.jericho, pachchu77, Red Liner, Sam77, Shome, shyamg28, surjaonwheelz |
![]() | #98 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Apr 2014 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs 2022 Kawasaki Vulcan launched in India. Priced at 6.10 lakh and available in a new color scheme Metallic Matte Graphenesteel Gray. Source : Cars&Bikes Quoting from the article Quote:
![]() | |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks TorqueyTechie for this useful post: | marcussantiago |
![]() | #99 | |
Newbie Join Date: Dec 2020 Location: Gurgaon
I had a HD Low Rider earlier and am still in the hangover of that torquey 103 CI engine......although Gurgaon roads dont seem to be the right for leisure riding any bike whatsoever ![]() Benelli 502C did not appeal as an overall package and no visibility. Royal enfield meteor feels under powered and their 650 CC cruiser seems to be a distant mirage with to firm dates/even an intimation of a launch...... interceptor deliveries are taking forever..... quite a disappointing situation. ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Sam77 for this useful post: | Mr.Ogre |
![]() | #100 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2021 Location: Sydney, Mumbai
If torque is what you are after, this engine has oodles of torque. But if it is nimble and torque then Ninja 650 would be an apt choice, especially the current generation. It is flickable and doesn't feel cumbersome in traffic. Coming from a Harley, you wont mind the vibrations this motor is known for. For me the vibrations are never a deal breaker as long as it has bulletproof reliability, which this Kawasaki has. |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
![]() | #101 | |
Primarily cuz I found it too vibe-y around our legal highway speed limits and scraped the footpegs in the mountains once too often. Other than the footpeg scraping issue, LOVED riding it on bendy roads, and the exhaust note was beautiful every time I pulled it out of an uphill bend. Also missing the accessibility of the motorcycle because the Ninja is a bit high for me. I am 170cm. Having your feet flat on the ground does wonders for your riding experience. All in all, I have only one piece of advice. If you buy motorcycles out of emotion, and want WANT a cruiser, at this point get a Harley. But if you're a sensible person (unlike me), wait it out and pick up a motorcycle that the manufacturer seems more invested in. | |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank himalyan_ice for this useful post: | marcussantiago, pachchu77, Sam77 |
|
![]() | #102 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2013 Location: Delhi
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs Resurrecting this dead thread because a little over a year ago, I bought a Vulcan! ![]() The newer color scheme brings just a bit of life into the otherwise drab flat all-black color (which I also kinda liked but those deep red pinstripes are just tasty IMHO). ![]() ![]() Was saving up for 35L Givi hard cases when I stumbled across an absolutely killer deal: 22 L Shad cases for just 14 k (including the mounting brackets!) Really completes the cruiser / tourer look. So here's my experience so far: absolutely amazing. I mean yes, there's been some downsides. Barely one month in, I was on a road trip with my club and we had to cross an absolutely colossal speedbreaker that was more like two humps with a third one on top to absolutely guarantee destroying the underbelly of anything lower than an adventure bike. And I beached it and broke the exhaust (header pipe things specifically). No other damage so we carried on and I took it in for repairs. Kawasaki West Delhi were able to bend it back into shape without needing to order a full exhaust replacement, so that was lucky. I want to eventually sit down and write a long-term review for this forum now that it's been with me for over a year, but I'm also lazy lol. So for now, here's the highlights: Pros:
Q: What's the average? (standard Indian question lol) A: Honestly surprisingly good for a 650 cc parallel. I get roughly 23 kmpl in city / daily riding. On longer highway rides it's gone up to 27 or so but I didn't do really heavy calculations. Also I failed maths in school, there's a reason I'm an artist. But yes, overall it's quite decent with fuel consumption. Q: Can you handle it in traffic? A: It's quite a long bike, but I've had few problems needling it in traffic. Again, I tend not to do the typical thing where bikers shoehorn their bikes into impossibly tiny gaps between cars and whatnot, I tend to just stick behind the car in front of me and relax even if it means I get home later. It's just too stressful. On a Duke it was stressful because I'd be tip-toe-ing it, on the Vulcan with the hard cases I can't be bothered trying to squeeze through a gap, seeing I'm too wide, and then holding up the impatient uncles in honking scooters behind me because I can't squeeze through a gap that everyone else can. So I don't really care lol. Q: What's it like on the highway? A: Just blissful. Exactly what I was imagining it when I'd gawk at it in the showroom before I finally bought it. I've done all-day-long highway runs without any fatigue or cramps or butt-ache or anything like that. Q: How fast does it go? A: If I wanted to go fast and set land speed records, I'd have bought a Ninja instead. But I've taken it up to some properly heady speeds and there's no sense of drama or vibration or anything. It's just solid and smooth, you just have to deal with the wind buffeting and wind noise, which a windscreen would probably help with. Haven't installed one so I can't say. Q: Why did you buy a Vulcan when you could have bought [insert bike here]? A: I have an answer for that but it's so long it would be a college-level thesis. So aside from everything I've already said so far, I'll save the pontificating and philosophizing for a long-term review if I ever get off my lazy butt and actually write it ![]() Last edited by libranof1987 : 15th March 2023 at 11:32. Reason: Minor edit. Kindly avoid slangs, even as an abbreviation. |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following 39 BHPians Thank marcussantiago for this useful post: | abhi802, abhi_tjet, alphadog, car-o-holic, Cyborg, da3mn, damodar, deerhunter, espraveen, evil_grin, gauravanekar, GTO, himalyan_ice, InControl, irajput, Juggernaught, Karthik Chandra, Lone Ranger, minzanurag, ndnesh, Nilesh5417, NitNac, pachchu77, pugram, rajeshrajan, RT13, Sen, Shobhitsaxena, Shome, shyamg28, skviknaraj, SupMeteorStorme, surjaonwheelz, t3rm1n80r, the.dogfather, TheVaas, The_Outsider!, Wageabond, ysjoy |
![]() | #103 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2015 Location: In Bengaluru
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs Quite a nice summary of your experience with the bike @marcussantiago Even though I am not a cruiser kind of guy but truth be told, I haven't seen a single Vulcan out there on the road. The only ones I have seen and read about are on Team-BHP and few here and there on random YT videos. As you have rightly mentioned, I could have mistaken a Vulcan for an Avenger ![]() Cheers and happy riding! Quote: | |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks minzanurag for this useful post: | marcussantiago |
![]() | #104 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2013 Location: Delhi
| Re: The Kawasaki Vulcan S - Now launched at 5.44 lakhs |
![]() | ![]() ![]() |
![]() |