Old 28th August 2010, 15:54   #151

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
How can you be sure the same driver drove the Indica for 1.78 lac kms. The company changes driver, or driver changes the company quite often.
Well the guy said it is his own vehicle,Our company hires cab from a provider for pick-up drop servcies who in turn gets it from several owners. No way to verify anyway.

But I don't think it is entierly impossible. One of my collegue sold his Indica N.A after 1.2 L KM and purchased ford ikon with new TDCI engine. Mainly he sold as he wanted to upgrade and not because of any engine problem .

I have also seen few Meru Cab ( Indigo Marina) in Bangalore with more then 1 L KM these cabs run around 300 - 500 Km in a day mainly ferrying beween Airport and city and get serviced atleast once a month ( every 10K Km ) at Concord Motors under some sort of fixed contract.

I chatted with a Meru cab driver while going to airport.He told that they have around 400 Indigo Marina and 600+ Logan in the fleet. Here the Car and regular maintanence belongs to company and driver pays 1800Rs a day to company as fixed charge fuel goes from driver and he gets to keep the profit so around 6 -10 trips to airport ( apprx 50 Km one way) is quite normal.
Meru using it's call centre and radio paging facility ensures business to the cabbies.

Last edited by amitk26 : 28th August 2010 at 16:03.
Old 28th August 2010, 16:21   #152

@Siralec
My uncle's Indica Tdi has just completed over 190000 kms. Though an engine overhaul is on the cards now as it is about to complete 2 lac kilometers and the engine has started to show signs of requiring an overhaul.
Old 28th August 2010, 17:12   #153

Some of the facts from my side:

Tata Sierra 1991 - 3,00,000kms without overhaul (sold in 2001)

Tata Indica 1999 - 1st overhaul at 1,33,000kms (meter was stuck at 1L for sometime)

Tata Safari 2004 - 2,00,000kms (no overhaul, still running intact.)

mercedised is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2010, 20:12   #154

Engine life depends on maintenance, especially Oil changes. My experience with high mileage cars is listed below.
  • Tata Indica DLS-Sold at 1,50,000kms with engine running fine.
  • Hyundai Accent 1.5- Sold at 1,50,000kms with engine running fine, despite LPG and CNG conversions.
  • Hyundai Elantra CRDi- 1,40,000kms Perfectly healthy, got this confirmed through a compression test.
.anshuman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2010, 22:09   #155

@simply self : After reading the engine section of car bibles, i cannot agree with you more. Diesels are destined to run for ever, and the odometer is never the actual life-indicator of an engine. Also i have seen a few diesel UNO's with 2.5 L + kms on the odo still going as usual.
Old 10th October 2011, 17:55   #156

re: Life of an engine under Indian driving conditions

I hope this is the right place to post my query, your inputs would be of great help. I am selling off my 97 esteem and have decided to go in for a old Honda City. I came across a well kept 1.5, 98 model car (owned by a priest who happens to be my brother's friends dad). The price he is quoting is very reasonable, I think, 1.4L (TN regestered car). The only thing holding me back is that the car has clocked 1.2 lac km. I was told by a mechanic that the city engine has a life of 1.5 to 2 lac km depending on how it has been driven. He also mentioned that a total engine overhaul costs about 50 to 60 k for piston, rings, con rods etc. Now my question is should I take the plunge and buy the car. Please help me make up my mind. Thanks in advance, regards
Old 24th October 2014, 15:28   #157

Folks
I have some queries on engine re boring. Correct me if i am wrong.
If the cylinder block is made of cast iron then the bore can be re bored to a bigger diameter. That will change it's cylinder capacity, fuel consumption.
But if the block is made of aluminium, we have the cast iron sleeve/liner that is as cast in the aluminium block. The bore of the sleeve will be re bored to a bigger diameter resulting in increased cylinder capacity and fuel consumption. I don't think the cast iron sleeve can be removed from the cylinder block.
Is my understanding right??
Old 24th October 2014, 19:28   #158

This may be a slightly OT question. What is the expected life of a diesel engine after a complete overhaul, assuming the overhaul was done by competent hands? More specifically the question is about the Fiat multijet 1.3.
Old 24th October 2014, 21:32   #159

Sold my polo 1.2Tdi with 2.97 lac km and it was still going strong.

Sold her mainly for need of bigger vehicle.
manikjeet is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th October 2014, 08:13   #160

Originally Posted by mohan41 View Post
This may be a slightly OT question. What is the expected life of a diesel engine after a complete overhaul, assuming the overhaul was done by competent hands? More specifically the question is about the Fiat multijet 1.3.
The fiat multijet as designed by fiat is rated for a quarter million miles before first overhaul (under ideal conditions I believe) . Even rebuilt tata indica engines do a lakh after overhaul.

Rebuilt engine sourced from fiat should be as good as new or at least 80 percent.
Old 25th October 2014, 08:38   #161

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
How can you be sure the same driver drove the Indica for 1.78 lac kms. The company changes driver, or driver changes the company quite often.

On average Indica is good for 70k kms, after which engine need a rebuilt, i am talking about the old 1.4 liter IDI not newer multijets.

I am a critic of Mahindra but its MDI engine lasts very long even if you fail to change oil at specified time. Starts with a single crank even in cold on a vehicle that has run 3 lac kms.

However same cannot be said about its Peugeot one. It fails to start with multiple heating in WInter, and heats up immensely in Summers.

m800 lasts over 2 lac kms if you don't try fancy stuff with it.
The same problem haunts our Peugeot tuD5 Esteem Diesel. My father uses a small fire under the vehicle to start it in the morning. I always felt that he would destroy the vehicle but it is still running ODO-3,00,789 kms till date. NO ONE HAS EVER TOUCHED THE ENGINE. Should I give the previous owner something for the Engine? The car was bought second hand in Goa and the ODO was at 3000 kms only. Since then it has been like a family member. The best part about Diesel cars is that if they run well, they disguise themselves as a family member.
adit mishra is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th October 2014, 09:32   #162

Our own HVK sir's scorpio has crossed 4,00,000 kms on the odo.Out of the lot I feel toyota diesels just keep on running and running.I have seen a lot of toyota Qualis doing jaw dropping numbers on the odo and still going strong. The second one I would rate are the mahindra engines. As I saw in one of the posts a camper crossing 5,00,000 kms on the odo without any issues.
In the other countries engine life is definitely higher.I had taken a Chrysler 300 taxi from LHR to the southampton and it had 2,00,000 miles on the odo and still going strong.
I guess it all depends on how frequently one gets the oil changed.
rakesh_r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st March 2017, 10:29   #163

Re: Life of an engine under Indian driving conditions

Originally Posted by adityapd View Post
Though it ultimately depends on the way a car gets driven and many other extraneous factors, ever wondered what could be the life of a car engine under indian traffic */ fuel conditions ?

Some guys on one of the other forums said that honda makes engines which need no overhauling till a mindblowing 500K kms?

Any comments ?

aditya

My 2010 Wagon R CNG (Factory Fitted) has 1,68,500 and still running. I was scared at 1 Lac and wanted to sell but the car was so solid I did not have the heart to sell.

Currently it uses an extra 1 lit of lubricating oil between two services at 10,000 kms apart (Up from half litre, previously which I hear is common for CNG engines). The car has needed minimum of expenses. Just one clutch and battery change at 1.2 lacs and Suspension at 1.3 lacs.

I maintain it well and service it at 10,000 kms interval, without fail from Maruti Authorized Service Station (cheaper). I have now decided to sell it only when it starts smoking, just to see how far it goes. Lols.
syravi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2018, 23:54   #164

Came across this thread as I was curious on the life expectancy of modern engines after I came across a 7 year old Innova driven as a taxi with 350k KM on the odo. The driver said the owner is not even planning to sell it anytime soon and it has seen so many drivers in its lifetime as it is part of a fleet.

I drove it for a short distance and the engine was quite good and responsive with nothing abnormal to notice at all. It must have even been certainly abused as well as even the driver I was riding with regularly started the car from stop in 2nd gear.

Just amazing how reliable a complex piece of engineering and manufacturing like engines have become.

Last edited by Yieldway17 : 8th July 2018 at 23:55.
Yieldway17 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2019, 18:09   #165

Even though I'm on Team BHP for a long time, I just came across this thread. We usually use a car for about 2 Yrs 1 Lakh km, then our office staff uses it till end of life. Of all cars used till date the overhaul or sale date has been as Below.
1. 1995 Tata Estate OH at 1,46,000 km. SOld at 1,64,000 km
2. Esteem 1996 No OH sold at 2,35,000 km.
3. Indica 2000 Sold at about 1,60,000 km untouched.
4. WagonR 2003 Sold at 1,28,000 km untouched.
5. Indigo 2003 OH at 55000 km sold at 1,30,000 km
6. Ikon 2004 Sold with untouched engine when running crossed 2 lakh km.
7. Indica 3005 a whooping 3,24,000km Fuel pump OH but engine untouched.
8. Innova 2005 1,92,000 km untouched.
9. Tavera 2006 1,60,000 km sold with engine block untouched, but gasket was changed once.
9. Innova 2008 1,64,000 km Early sale due to accident in previous year.
10. Polo 2012 79,000 km Total loss as car overturned after rod linking rack to boiljoint snapped.
11. Ecosport AT 2014 Still running strong
12. Terrano 2013 (Pre used) Still running strong.

Rahul