Old 25th August 2011, 16:27   #31

Re: Polo 1.6:My Grey Hound!

Originally Posted by hossdoc View Post
Does the mileage improve with time? I cant seem to manage more than 10.5 (at best) as per the MID. I have not checked by the fill to fill method yet. Of course i have run only 350 km thus far and there have been no highway runs, only bumper to bumper city runs on the worst roads in the world!
Thanks a lot hossdoc! The mileage does increase with time. I too initially started off at the 10.5 to 11 kmpl range. Now-a-days i'm getting 13.5 kmpl during rush hour & close to 17 on the freeway. Speaking of the roads in Ernakulam, the lesser said the better
speed kills is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2011, 00:23   #32

Originally Posted by speed kills View Post
Thanks a lot hossdoc! The mileage does increase with time. I too initially started off at the 10.5 to 11 kmpl range. Now-a-days i'm getting 13.5 kmpl during rush hour & close to 17 on the freeway. Speaking of the roads in Ernakulam, the lesser said the better
In traffic here the MID mostly shows 7.5-9 kmpl. No heavy foot, just feathering the throttle. I think the road conditions are a major factor as even on sundays with thin traffic you have to crawl in 1st and 2nd with a lot of braking and clutch riding (just no avoiding it sometimes).
Will update after i do a proper tank to tank check. Somehow I dont trust the MID!
Another doubt i had was about oil consumption? Is the 1.6 like the 1.8 laura tsi in that you have to keep topping up oil? If so is it only for the first few 1000 km or is it a lifelong thing? How often do you have to check?
Danke!
Old 22nd October 2011, 22:58   #33

More pics coming soon

Old 18th November 2011, 20:35   #34

Some pics of the recent ICE upgrade:

Rear 69's: Vibe QB 69 Black Death -- Rs.15,500
Components: Vibe Black Air -- Rs.11,000
Amp: Cerwin Vega 300.4 -- Rs.8,000
Wiring: Rs.3,000
Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-img_5712.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-img_5713.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-img_5716.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-img_5711.jpg  

Old 23rd November 2011, 13:00   #35

There is a wonderful car you've got there, mate!

The grey looks fab, and it's a 1.6. 'Nuff said!

I've always wanted a Polo. It's a proper hot-hatch IMO. And I'm a huge fan of such cars! It would fit neatly in my hot-hatch garage, along with my 'steem'd Zen Carbon

I quite like the stock Borbet wheels that come with the car. Do you plan on up-sizing the wheels and tyres? There is this white Polo in Mumbai (thread some where on Team-BHP - handle - BHAGWAN) that runs on the sickest set of Sparco wheels! That car has surely got to be the hottest Polo in India!

Check them out. Although, they may be a tad too large, at 17", especially for Bangalore roads.

Originally Posted by frequentflyer View Post
I wonder - with the Honda Jazz at about 6.5 lakhs and giving 90 bhp with a 1.2 litre engine with 16 kmpl, with spacious interiors and good finish, should one sacrifice the top 14 bhp to go for a cheaper and better looking and better finished car. The Jazz back seats are really roomy and the ceiling is high, the boot is huge and can be opened out even more. I have to choose between a Jazz and Polo 1.6 in the coming days and will be trying out both in the coming days.
The Jazz is a good deal @ 6.5 lakhs. With all the space you need, a brilliantly refined - but unresponsive engine at low-revs, great FE and Honda's reliability makes it a great all-rounder.

But. The Polo 1.6 is more of an enthusiasts car. It may not have the space that the Jazz has, nor does it deliver the kind of FE figures that the Jazz delivers, but it more than makes up for these shortcomings in other departments.

The Polo is better around the corners than the Jazz. The Polo is a dynamically gifted car. It's rock-solid and planted on the roads, with even the stock-tyres providing ample grip. The steering too feels more positive than the Jazz, especially at higher speeds. The Jazz's steering feels light, and is communicative, and at times, especially when pointed straight, a bit vague.

The 'box in the Polo is sorted too, apart from the chassis. I'd say a shade better than the setup in the Jazz.

This makes the Polo a great enthusiasts' car. And with the right mods, it will be a great drive.
suhaas307 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2011, 16:06   #36

Thanks a lot Suhaas. I'm planning on up-sizing the rims to those being used in the Polo Cup. Absolutely love those grey alloys. Would really suite the car IMO.
I'd probably go in for the 16's. Like you said, the 17's would be a tad too big for Bangalore's roads

Just a few pics of the car:
Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01017.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01018.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01019.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01025.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01031.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01029.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01026.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-dsc01027.jpg  

Old 28th November 2011, 02:26   #37

Were you able to hookup the amp to the stock HU without issues?
Old 28th November 2011, 11:33   #38

Originally Posted by bottle
Were you able to hookup the amp to the stock HU without issues?
None what so ever. There are only a few brands like Hertz & Cerwin Wega that are compatible with the stock HU.
Old 28th December 2011, 11:52   #39

Hey Bhpians,

I am posting this on behalf of Prashanth (speed kills) as he was unable to post the pics himself due some glitch at his end.

I knew he was out of station recently but just can't recollect the place he mentioned, he was off to!!

I was Shocked to see the first 2 pics. Few Diesels can't match these figures.

Prashanth will be able to provide the actual Updated.
Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-pic-1.jpeg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-pic-2.jpeg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-pic-3.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-pic-4.jpg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-pic-5.jpeg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-pic-6.jpeg  

Polo 1.6 : My Grey Hound!-pic-7.jpeg  

Old 28th December 2011, 13:56   #40

Congrats Prashanth for your new ride! Petrol 1.6 hatchbacks are one of my favorite type of cars to use in India (I drive Palio 1.6). Your F.E. numbers are just mind boggling! I never got more than 14kmpl on my 1.6.
46TheDoctor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th December 2011, 15:14   #41

19.1 is a phenomenal FE figure!

We managed 20 km/l on one highway drive in our Jazz, and we get a consistent 14-15 km/l in the city otherwise. For a car like the Polo, especially with that stonking 1.6 mill, 19 km to the liter is fantastic! I'm guessing you rarely floored it, and maintained a consistent speed in top-gear for the most part of the journey?
Old 28th December 2011, 15:24   #42

Originally Posted by 46TheDoctor View Post
Congrats Prashanth for your new ride! Petrol 1.6 hatchbacks are one of my favorite type of cars to use in India (I drive Palio 1.6). Your F.E. numbers are just mind boggling! I never got more than 14kmpl on my 1.6.
Thanks a lot 46! I too get about 14 kmpl in city conditions.

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
19.1 is a phenomenal FE figure!

I'm guessing you rarely floored it, and maintained a consistent speed in top-gear for the most part of the journey?
Well Suhaas, you hit the nail on the head. Barring a few bursts to 170km I was generally within 140 from most parts of the trip.

Was driving to Cochin btw
Old 28th December 2011, 15:26   #43

Are the fog lamps after market? Asking cos these are not the round ones that you normally see. I'd like to add these to my Vento!!
Old 28th December 2011, 15:28   #44

Originally Posted by dingolphie View Post
Are the fog lamps after market? Asking cos these are not the round ones that you normally see. I'd like to add these to my Vento!!
Nope! These are OE that come along with the Highline Polo.
The Highline Vento has the round one's.
Old 28th December 2011, 15:34   #45

Originally Posted by speed kills View Post
Well Suhaas, you hit the nail on the head. Barring a few bursts to 170km I was generally within 140 from most parts of the trip.

Was driving to Cochin btw
Now that's even better!

On our drive to Goa, we managed a little over 140 km/h (4 adults and lots of luggage) in our Jazz, and got 17-20 throughout the trip (20% city 80% highway) and we thought that was good!

And you, in your Polo, managing 170 km/h and a consistent 140, and still managing 19 is just remarkable! What petrol-bunk do you generally go to? Anything special that you do?

Originally Posted by dingolphie View Post
The Vento's and Polo's bumpers are slightly different. The fog-lamp housing had been redesigned for the Vento, to give it a different look. Hasn't worked though.