Old 27th September 2014, 07:43   #361

Re: Tata Nano Twist XT : Driven

Hi Sawyer,

I had a feeling you (or HoneyBee) - both the Nano experts - would be the first to respond to my post.
I also wanted the dark upholstery but my wife did not like the blue body colour and as they only supply the dark upholstery in that colour, that was it. After all, it's her car.

Do you know how to go about getting a second remote control?
I am willing to pay for it but the showroom had no idea.
Like you said it may be best to now deal with another showroom.
Problem is the "good" one with all accessories stocks is 50Kms away.

SS
Old 28th September 2014, 07:06   #362

Originally Posted by suzuki san View Post
the Nano experts

I am willing to pay for it but the showroom had no idea.
Like you said it may be best to now deal with another showroom.
Problem is the "good" one with all accessories stocks is 50Kms away.

SS
More a fan than expert, to be honest.
Write to customer care about the remote, they should be able to help.
50kms isn't far if it is good where after sales service is concerned - you won't need to visit more than a couple of times a year at the most.
Old 29th September 2014, 09:41   #363

Hi Sawyer,
SS
Hi suzuki san,

You can contact the TML service. They will order one for you. I had spoken to the Service advisor at TML concorde Pune but unfortunately have not followed it up.

The system which is installed in the twist is also available as an accessory for the lower models, but when you purchase it as an accessory, you get 2 remotes

Old 29th September 2014, 11:18   #364

Is there any real advantage in having a second remote?
If the original remote key is lost, won't it be dangerous to continue using a duplicate?

Of course, if the original was lost due to being dropped in a drain or in similar circumstances where the circuitry will be irreparably damaged , a duplicate will be useful.

A question I have is--how does one know that the battery of the remote is about to die, and needs to be replaced? I've been told that trying to open the door of a car that has been locked remotely cannot be done by using only the key as it will trigger the intruder alarm. How does one get around such a situation where the remote does not work, but it is still necessary to get in the car?

Last edited by Sesh2000 : 29th September 2014 at 11:31.
Old 29th September 2014, 16:42   #365

Finally took delivery of my (my wife's) new Nano Twist (Damson Purple - her colour choice)this afternoon.

Exchange Bonus : Rs. 25,000.00
Loyalty Bonus : Rs. 20,000.00
Total Car Value : Rs. 1,65,000.00
Gold Coin : Rs. 3,000.00
Total final value : Rs. 1,68,000.00
Cost of New Twist : Rs. 2,73,000.00
Difference I paid : Rs. 1,05,000.00

This amount is including registration and insurance.
They have also thrown in mud flaps, matting and a 3 year AMC.
I have booked a Twist at Bangalore and without a "real" exchange, I have been given the exchange bonus and other corporate discount and not gold coin. As you may be aware, Bangalore taxes are the highest in the universe, the effective cost of Twist for me is Rs.2.42 lakhs which I found too much of VFM. The Nano comes with 4 year AMC, or am I missing something here?

The engine is now much more refined. More smooth and silent and does not sound so much like a Tata Ace or rickshaw. Huge, huge difference. Big thumbs up for Tata's here. The noise inside the car is also much less than before.
This is nice to know.

The dashboard is another huge improvement. First time I have an MID (and that on a Nano!!) on the dash and it's nice to see the time, AFE, DTE etc. Can't say how accurate it is till I have done a few tank-fulls. I still have to play with the settings as right now I can only see one of the readings viz. AFE or DTE or the ODO whereas I would like to see the ODO plus one more.
AFE at present is showing a steady 15Kmpl. I love the way the speedo needle does a sweep of the dial every time you start the car.
Same feeling here, only that I compared the dashboard with my Alto against a Nano in your case.

Very disappointed to see that the car was delivered with two keys but only one remote control. What does one do if one loses the remote? The showroom had no answers except - use the key! Can I buy another remote from Tata's? Does anyone know?
I too would prefer to get that extra remove key.

Power window switches have also been relocated so no more contortions at the toll booths, thank God. Hazard warning light switch also relocated to the dashboard for much easier access. Headlights seem to be brighter. Focus on main beam is a bit less concentrated than before but now gives a wider spread.

The horn is a single unit and is just a joke. You won't move a 2 month old puppy with it never mind trucks, buses etc. The dual Skoda type horns with relay will be fitted tomorrow.
Nice to know of all these improvements. And I am worried about the horn being a joke.

ll in all I have to say that I am really happy that I decided to buy this car - so far!!! (With Tata's one never knows so I'm keeping my options open). It is a huge improvement on the old model and for Rs. 1 lakh (and a 2 years 7 months old Nano) I now have a brand new car with PS, MID, Stereo with Bluetooth, power windows etc. What more could one ask for? Well, an 800cc engine putting out 60BHP would be nice. Tata's are you listening?

SS
In a very similar case with you, I would be buying the car for wife only, and unsurprisingly she too has selected the purple color only. Comparing with the an earlier buy of M800 in the family in the year 2005, this Twist looks almost a steal, especially with the near 50K discount. The delivery will be delayed for waiting to take it on the marriage anniversary. As accessories (additional) I am going with alloy wheels, seat covers, and door visors. I will update after taking the delivery. Your post has been very useful for me too. Thanks.
Old 29th September 2014, 23:06   #366

Originally Posted by kutoos View Post
Hi suzuki san,

You can contact the TML service. They will order one for you. I had spoken to the Service advisor at TML concorde Pune but unfortunately have not followed it up.

The system which is installed in the twist is also available as an accessory for the lower models, but when you purchase it as an accessory, you get 2 remotes

Thanks kutoos. I will do the needful once I have finished with fitting all the accessories.

Originally Posted by Sesh2000 View Post
Is there any real advantage in having a second remote?
If the original remote key is lost, won't it be dangerous to continue using a duplicate?

Of course, if the original was lost due to being dropped in a drain or in similar circumstances where the circuitry will be irreparably damaged , a duplicate will be useful.

A question I have is--how does one know that the battery of the remote is about to die, and needs to be replaced? I've been told that trying to open the door of a car that has been locked remotely cannot be done by using only the key as it will trigger the intruder alarm. How does one get around such a situation where the remote does not work, but it is still necessary to get in the car?

Hi Sesh,

Exactly why I want a second remote. However, your statement about losing one of the remotes is also valid. In that case would have to go a TML service centre I guess and get a new code.

SS

Originally Posted by PNT Loves Nano

And I am worried about the horn being a joke.
Glad I have been of some help.
Don't worry about the horn. Just fit a dual type horn (with relay) for about Rs. 700/=. Takes half an hour.

SS

On another note, after two days of driving, I have noticed that the dashboard MID is impossible to see in bright sunshine. I have increased the brilliance settings to maximum but with the sun overhead or thereabouts (say between 9am to 3 pm) the reflections make the display of the MID totally useless.
Has anyone else noticed this? Any corrective measures possible?
It is very annoying. Just as I was getting used to it, now I can't see it

I have also noticed that the rear fog lamp has been removed. Don't understand why. The slot is still there but covered with painted plastic. The older version car had a rotary switch on the headlight lever where turning it one way switched on the front fog lamps and the other way switched on the rear fog lamp. Great! This has now been discontinued. I really find it hard to understand the working of the minds of Tata's engineers.
They fit power steering, a stereo system with 4 speakers, glove boxes etc. ...and remove a rear fog light - something I would consider to be a safety item. How much could a bit of red plastic with a bulb cost??

So far I have changed the horn to a dual "Skoda" type horn with Bosch relay, fitted Philips Night Vision 55/60W headlight bulbs (much better than the standard ones and no relay or wiring required), carpet lamination, leather steering wheel cover & reverse sensors. Seat covers will be done tomorrow.

SS
Old 7th October 2014, 01:35   #367

Is the 1.99L offer still on? would anyone of you here know?
Old 8th October 2014, 00:13   #368

Hi Null,

As far as I know the September offer is no longer valid. A friend of mine saw my car, was very impressed and so called up the Tata dealer but was told that the offer is no longer valid. Also, because of the long weekend and all the holidays they had no details about the October offer - yet!
Be patient for a few days. They are bound to come out with something special for Diwali. Watch the newspapers the next few days or call your local dealer.

SS
Old 8th October 2014, 10:27   #369

Originally Posted by null View Post
Is the 1.99L offer still on? would anyone of you here know?
I just checked Bangalore Times of India epaper, and the offer on Twist is 35K, see here. Of course, the advertisement also says that you can win it for free too, though I would not venture in such an adventure. Though I have not got the delivery of my Twist booked last month, its obvious that they should be giving the previous month offer of 50K. Having said that, I believe that if you can manage to get another 5K freebies, you may still go for that. Happy twisting with the Nano offer
Old 18th October 2014, 08:25   #370

An update of the mileage information for my Nano twist is attached. Even for long drives its less than 20KMPL
Tata Nano Twist XT : Driven-mileage.jpg  

Old 18th October 2014, 16:23   #371

I am getting much better economy. City use with AC on all the time, from 16-18 kmpl. Long highway drives, 24kmpl. My best on the highway has been 29kmpl. But that was early in the morning, no AC, and conservative driving to maximise range from the 15 litre tank.
A lot depends on how you drive. Keeping the accelerator pressed in hope of better pickup kills economy.
Sawyer is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th October 2014, 18:14   #372

Just drove to Mangalore yesterday. Empty to empty I used Rs.2200 worth of petrol over 850 kms (31 ltrs) giving me an average of approx 27 kms.

I did not go over 70 km per hour. Took almost forever, my wife actually grabbed the wheel for an hour in frustration and touched 85/90 kmph :-)
john doe is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th October 2014, 21:16   #373

I have finally been able to get a response from the Tata Service guys.
They say that a second remote control would cost Rs. 850.00 plus another Rs. 1200.00 to do the coding. Total : Rs. 2250.00 and I am sure there will be some taxes added on as well.
I find this quite expensive for just an additional remote control as new Autocop complete central locking systems with two remotes and door actuators etc come for about 5K if I am not sadly mistaken.

I have partially overcome the problem of the glare on the MID by placing a normal peaked cap on top of the curved dashboard. The peak of the cap then sort of gives a bit of "shade" to the dashboard and it is easier to see the MID. Looks good too.

Seat covers have been fitted but now getting a squeaking noise from the seats.

The alloy wheels from my old Nano have also been fitted and looking good.

Needless to say the TBHP stickers were the first accessory to go on the car!

Tried to fit the new type of bendable "Aero" type rubber wiper but it would not clean the rain from the entire windshield so back to the original.

I have completed 500Kms so far and am very happy with the car.

SS

Last edited by suzuki san : 18th October 2014 at 21:16. Reason: mistake in figures
suzuki san is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th October 2014, 06:55   #374

Originally Posted by Sawyer View Post
I am getting much better economy. City use with AC on all the time, from 16-18 kmpl. Long highway drives, 24kmpl. My best on the highway has been 29kmpl
How many services have you done for your car ?

Originally Posted by john doe View Post
I did not go over 70 km per hour. Took almost forever, my wife actually grabbed the wheel for an hour in frustration and touched 85/90 kmph :-)
I also drive below 70 all the time, but still mileage is what you are seeing on the spreadsheet.
Old 19th October 2014, 08:58   #375

Did test drive of the Nano Twist XT for wife yesterday at Aadya Motors near the Hebbal flyover on the Ring Road, in Bangalore (had never driven a Nano before). Booked the car right away. Details are as follows:

Ex-showroom price: 2,45,058
Insurance: 8789
Road Tax: 35,362
Handling charges: 3200
AMC: 3500

Discount: 45000
Corporate Discount: 2000

So the final on-road cost is Rs. 2,48,918/-. Mud flaps, mats and perfume are free. Plus there is an "assured gift" through a scratch card which you get at the time of delivery. If you are real lucky you get your car for free! The other possibilities are (i) Rs 3000 Flipkart/Big bazaar voucher, (ii) Samsung Galaxy Ace NXT Smartphone, (iii) Rs 5000 Indian Oil fuel voucher, (iv) Acer Aspire Laptop, (v) Philips 32" LED TV, (vi) Canon DSLR EOS 1200 D camera, (viii) Jewelry voucher worth Rs. 10,000 from Tanishq.

We may also go for a Racing kit as accessory (Decals, body skirting, alloy wheels, cushion pillow, neck rest, rear spoiler), at a discounted price of Rs. 27,000 (compared to Rs. 31,680). Planning to fix Door Visors as well.

The customer representative (Ms. Sevendhi) was friendly and she told me that in September she sold 12 Nanos (11 XTs and one CX). In October she expects to sell more Nanos.

Now waiting for the delivery, which may take two weeks or so.

Reji
philipreji is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com