Old 4th February 2014, 17:17   #31

re: Driven: 2nd-gen Skoda Superb (2014)

Great review and even amazing clicks. The new one surely looks plush and rich. However IMO Skoda doesnt seem to be doing anything to improve their A.S.C. experience to customers. Even now heavy bills seem common place with skoda. While for a superb buyer the higher cost might be just peanuts but it would matter for a resale buyer where the value of such cars is very low. If that is something they can take care of Skoda cars would surely do better.
Old 4th February 2014, 20:40   #32

Excellent detailed review. Takes one's love for the car a level ahead. Thanks for sharing.
Old 4th February 2014, 21:33   #33

I agree with SmartCat. Everytime I see a Skoda car, I feel like buying one. But then in a few minutes as the stories come floating back to the mind, I feel I am better off without a Skoda car. It's a pity they make such beautiful cars but their after sales experience and high cost of spares spoils the ownership experience. After so many years in the Indian market they can't adapt to the Indian system and provide the wiper stalks on the LHS and light on the RHS; is what turns me off; though not a deal breaker. Overall a nice car though, and a good review. 5 * rating for the thread.
W.A.G.7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2014, 11:51   #34

Wonderful review guys! Enjoyed reading it every bit. I was hoping that they would go in for an uprated engine but alas no. Now the Octavia seems a better bet or need to wait for the all new Superb next year. Having driven my Laura MT Ambiente PD for more than 4 years i must say this about the car and the A.S.S. The car is wonderful and is still running well. Surprisingly my service experience has been rather good. Yes,booking service can be little tedious if you are in a hurry. But otherwise I have had no issues. Wondering on my next purchase now
Old 5th February 2014, 15:53   #35

Excellent review!
Were you able to check the effectiveness of the A/c in the rear seat? I own a Superb and the only complaint is the effectiveness of the A/c for the rear seat passengers.
Old 5th February 2014, 18:58   #36

How would you rate the Superb in terms of solidity compared to the Passat ?. I surprisingly find the Passat to be a tad less solid when compared to the previous model.

I won a contest recently on Skoda's FB page for a Caption Contest and they even gifted me a scale model of the Fabia.
Driven: 2nd-gen Skoda Superb (2014)-image1291564342.jpg  

Last edited by moralfibre : 7th February 2014 at 09:28. Reason: Back to back posts. Please use EDIT/Multi-Quote feature instead of typing one post after another withing 30 minutes
Old 6th February 2014, 12:51   #37

Originally Posted by W.A.G.7 View Post
I agree with SmartCat. Everytime I see a Skoda car, I feel like buying one. But then in a few minutes as the stories come floating back to the mind, I feel I am better off without a Skoda car.
Was in a similar predicament till about 2 years back, when I took the plunge and bought a Skoda anyway.

No regrets till date - the best new vehicle I have owned so far.
Steeroid is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th February 2014, 13:32   #38

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Was in a similar predicament till about 2 years back, when I took the plunge and bought a Skoda anyway.

No regrets till date - the best new vehicle I have owned so far.

You can thank the manual gearbox for that!
Old 8th February 2014, 10:04   #39

Skoda India will launch the refreshed 2014 Superb facelift on February 10
Old 8th February 2014, 14:37   #40

Great review as always.

The car reeks of quality inside out. Somehow the new Skoda face does not gel as well with the Superb as it does with the new Octavia and looks a bit awkward. The new led tail lights do look swell.

With the Octavia being priced so close to the Superb, there is bound to be some cross shopping between the two Skoda siblings. But the strengths and weaknesses of both shouldn't make it difficult for one to decide which car is ideal for them.

As a value proposition the Superb has been one of the most VFM offerings out there.
Old 8th February 2014, 19:53   #41

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
You can thank the manual gearbox for that!
Why bother, when I have the rest of the vehicle to thank? And in any case, it only comes with the manual gearbox so it wasn't like there was an option - even if there was, I am a manual gear person and wouldn't go for the auto box, DSG or otherwise.
Steeroid is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2014, 13:16   #42

2014 Skoda Superb is now launched @ Rs.18.87 Lacs (ex-showroom Delhi). The variant-wise prices are as under:

- Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI MT Ambition – Rs.18.87 lacs
- Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI MT Elegance – Rs.20.65 lacs
- Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI AT Elegance – Rs.22.27 lacs
- Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI AT Ambition – Rs.23.43 lacs
- Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI AT Elegance – Rs.25.2 lacs

More details here:

http://indianautosblog.com/2014/02/2...acelift-118834

Last edited by CARDEEP : 10th February 2014 at 13:19.
CARDEEP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2014, 15:20   #43

Czech automaker, Skoda has launched the Superb facelift in India at Rs. 18.87 lakh (ex-showroom, Delhi).

Link to Team-BHP News Article
Aditya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2014, 17:50   #44

The pricing looks good. I guess it is more or less similar to the outgoing model which is a good sign as most of the times prices tend to go up with refreshed models. Why don't they also offer MT transmission with diesel engine also?
Old 18th February 2014, 08:20   #45

Originally Posted by Swanand Inamdar View Post
One more change in the interior is; the gear lever knob has now changed to a smaller, more VW like knob. The now old Superb had a nice big knob to hold on to.
Rest everything remains the same.
Thanks! Corrected interior change details.