Old 11th July 2017, 00:44   #16

Re: Ford Figo Aspire Trend - My little rocket

Hey, congratulations CrazyToDrive on this new acquisition. Aspire really looks great in that red colour. As you rightly said the 14inch tyres do look puny for the wheel arches. You should consider 15inch alloys & matching rubbers for it. It would really enhance the looks of the car.
The horns giving up so soon is little annoying. You could have claimed that in warranty.
Enjoy your ride & do keep us updated.

visky
visky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 09:13   #17

Congratulations. The 99 bhp diesel though is an old school mill (even older compared to Fiat MJD), yet its very reliable and easy to maintain.

The Ford service interval is also good with @ 10 k or 1 year and does not burn pocket compared to other cars in the same segment. I think maintaining Ford is cheapest among the lot including cost of spares.

Just be a little easy on the accelerator, maintain the idling rule before rolling it out in the morning and after heavy run. The engine is good for about 1.5 Lac km without need of any major overhaul.

Cheers !
i74js is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 10:08   #18

Originally Posted by i74js View Post
Congratulations. The 99 bhp diesel though is an old school mill (even older compared to Fiat MJD), yet its very reliable and easy to maintain.
Can you throw some more light on this comment?

What do you exactly mean by an old school mill? Also, according to you what is a new generation diesel mill?

Just be a little easy on the accelerator, maintain the idling rule before rolling it out in the morning and after heavy run. The engine is good for about 1.5 Lac km without need of any major overhaul.
I never maintain the idling rule as I think those days of warming up the engine before rolling out is gone. According to me, modern diesel (well, according to you this is old diesel mill so curious to know answer to my query above) mills do not require this practice. I have been rolling off within 20 seconds of starting the car over the last 33,000kms and no issues till date
mobike008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 10:56   #19

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Can you throw some more light on this comment?

What do you exactly mean by an old school mill? Also, according to you what is a new generation diesel mill?

I never maintain the idling rule as I think those days of warming up the engine before rolling out is gone. According to me, modern diesel (well, according to you this is old diesel mill so curious to know answer to my query above) mills do not require this practice. I have been rolling off within 20 seconds of starting the car over the last 33,000kms and no issues till date
The thoughts are on the very basis of engine development and has nothing to do with the power output offered by MJD vs TDCi per cc of cylinder volume:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...-superior.html

Idling rule for TC motors has been advised and appreciated for longer Turbo life, I do agree that some manufacturers have stopped mentioning about this practice in the owner manuals, some still continue. I have Ford Escort crossing 2.4 Lac km (1997 model - initial lot of Mahindra Ford partnership 1.8 litre NA diesel and is going strong without overhaul)

Last edited by i74js : 11th July 2017 at 11:02.
i74js is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 12:34   #20

Congratulations on the new acquisition ! The car is indeed a mini-rocket of sorts.

Please have an eye an the magnetic sunshades, I suppose they are the type that gets sandwiched between door frame and weatherstrips on the door. Though useful, they would cause scratches on your door frame (even though the frame and magnets are covered in cloth) and would mess up the weatherstrips on the long run.
Old 11th July 2017, 15:09   #21

Originally Posted by AYP View Post
By the way, did you consider the VW Ameo?
Thanks AYP. Ameo Diesel was not available at that time.

Originally Posted by samaspire View Post
Congratulations on a very good review of a fantastic car. Will keep an eye out for it in Ambernath, the next time I visit.

Please post detailed photos of the vinyl Matting. Want to see what material it is.

- Please investigate the vibration - not good if it's coming from the headlight
Thanks samaspire Do you come to Ambernath? do let me know, will definitely meet.
I will post more pics of vinyl matting tomorrow. the 3rd service is scheduled for this Sunday, will get the vibration issue sorted.

Originally Posted by xjosephjacob View Post
Please have an eye an the magnetic sunshades,.
Thanks xjosephjacob I will check for it. Mostly I will be removing them now as monsoons have started. but they are really useful during summers.
CrazyToDrive is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 15:57   #22

The thoughts are on the very basis of engine development and has nothing to do with the power output offered by MJD vs TDCi per cc of cylinder volume:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...-superior.html
I know what you mean and a engine superiority is classified using several parameters. No. of Valves, Power Delivery, Smoothness, Refinement, Emission controls etc

You have quoted a thread that is 5 years old. Are you saying engine development by Ford and Fiat has stopped since?

Idling rule for TC motors has been advised and appreciated for longer Turbo life, I do agree that some manufacturers have stopped mentioning about this practice in the owner manuals, some still continue. I have Ford Escort crossing 2.4 Lac km (1997 model - initial lot of Mahindra Ford partnership 1.8 litre NA diesel and is going strong without overhaul)
Buyers in fractions keep their car till the time it comes to a stage where it needs overhauling. Even though almost all car engines are pretty modern and can run smoothly for 1.5 Lakh to 2 lakh kms it is rare % of population that own cars till that stage

Popular model of owning and keeping cars is to sell them when it starts getting expensive to own and maintain it which is anywhere from 80K kms onwards
Old 11th July 2017, 18:29   #23

I know what you mean and a engine superiority is classified using several parameters. No. of Valves, Power Delivery, Smoothness, Refinement, Emission controls etc

You have quoted a thread that is 5 years old. Are you saying engine development by Ford and Fiat has stopped since?
You are taking it to heart buddy....assume whatever helps you stay happy !

For me there is nothing to contribute on how and what developments are going on. Fiat MJD Euro VI has 8 jets instead of 5 in Euro IV (which is available in India) similar could be the case for Ford TDCi. It was a simple advise to the owner wherein whatever I have said was not offensive at all.

Peace !

Last edited by i74js : 11th July 2017 at 18:31.
i74js is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 19:22   #24

Congratulations CrazyToDrive and nice review.

What is the tyre pressure normally you run with?

Originally Posted by CrazyToDrive
Only one 12V charging port, could have 1 more for rear seat passengers
I also feel the same.

One more problem is with the placement of the 12v internal power socket. Most of the mobile chargers touch the hand while operating the gear lever and slotting into 1st/3rd gear.

One thing solved both the problem for me. Buying one those multi output socket chargers. I have attached an image of that type of charger. The input part of this type of charger is connected with an USB hub via a long wire. So it solves the issue of multiple mobile charging and doesn't touch the hand either.
Ford Figo Aspire Trend - My little rocket-test_001.jpeg  

NaXal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 20:49   #25

The thoughts are on the very basis of engine development and has nothing to do with the power output offered by MJD vs TDCi per cc of cylinder volume.
i74js, I guess you meant it not in a superior/inferior way but in 8v SOHC vs 16v DOHC?

Mobike008,
I think our Ford Aspire official review puts it better:
Where the more contemporary diesels (Honda's 1.5L, Fiat-GM's 1.3L etc.) have a 16 valve DOHC (double overhead camshaft) valvetrain, Ford's TDCi engine is an 8 valve SOHC (single overhead camshaft) unit. The Mahindra Logan, Nissan Sunny and Toyota Etios also employ 8 valve SOHC diesels. These are honest, robust old-school mechanicals.
This is not a bad thing. In general Renault K9Ks, Toyota D4Ds are more reliable and last longer than the 1.3 Multijets - esp. the 90HP which saw a lot of timing chain issues.
Old 12th July 2017, 11:16   #26

Hello CTD!!
Congratulations on your new ride!! The color looks great on the car!! A nice, crisp review!!

Originally Posted by CrazyToDrive View Post
IRVM mounted dashcam
Inspired by Samaspire's thread ordered the IRVM mounted dashcam from amazon.in
Cost 2990/-

Attachment 1655367
Attachment 1655363
I have a few questions regarding the dashcam:-
1- Would it be possible to put up the link of exact product from Amazon? I tried finding it on Amazon, but couldn't find it.

2- I see that you've not powered the dashcam via the car charger. I presume you got it powered directly from the fuse box. Did you do it yourself or get it done from somewhere? Would like to know the installer from whom you got it done.

Thanks & Regards,
Varun
Old 12th July 2017, 18:54   #27

Originally Posted by powertrain View Post
Hello CTD!!
I have a few questions regarding the dashcam:-
1- Would it be possible to put up the link of exact product from Amazon? I tried finding it on Amazon, but couldn't find it.
2- I see that you've not powered the dashcam via the car charger. I presume you got it powered directly from the fuse box. Did you do it yourself or get it done from somewhere? Would like to know the installer from whom you got it done.

Thanks & Regards,
Varun
Hi Varun, Thanks for your comments. Here is the link-
Unfortunately they have increased the price and that also too much. I have purchased it in 2016.
I have powered the dashcam from the fuse box. I got it done from Vashi as I had to get the reverse camera also connected.

Originally Posted by NaXal View Post
What is the tyre pressure normally you run with?
Thanks NaXal. I keep the pressure at 32.

Originally Posted by NaXal View Post
So it solves the issue of multiple mobile charging and doesn't touch the hand either.
This looks nice . I am thinking of something like this which will sit in the central bottle holder and can be used by rear passenger as well.
Old 12th July 2017, 19:44   #28
Sip

Hi CrazyToDrive Congratulations ! This car is indeed exciting and VFM product.

I fully agree with your distaste of wheels and suspension. May be its the only fault i could find with this car. How I wish they should have provided with 16 inch wheels like Maruti provided for Baleno. So Aspire with 1020 Kgs of kerb weight and with much better engine screams for better deal from manufacturer in this aspect.

Regarding headlights, even much costlier cars in market suffers from poor headlights. Also if this car has powerful AC it should not take 10 mts to cool the cabin IMHO.
Sip is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2017, 20:35   #29

Congrats on the car CrazyToDrive!! Wish you many trouble free miles on the car.

Originally Posted by Sip View Post
I fully agree with your distaste of wheels and suspension. May be its the only fault i could find with this car.
+1. This car requires bigger wheels and tyres for the very good engine that this car comes with. Suspension is still fine but the 14 inch wheels is a no-no at least on the diesel variant with the power to weight ratio that this car has. Having said that, 16 inch wheels might be an over kill. The export variant tyre and rim size of 195/55-R15 is a perfect fit for this car and is currently provided on the Sports variant.

Originally Posted by Sip View Post
Also if this car has powerful AC it should not take 10 mts to cool the cabin IMHO.
The AC is indeed powerful and in Bangalore and Hyderabad / Tamil Nadu (where we have been to with the car in the past 4 months) the AC has cooled the cabin pretty fast. It took around 2-3 mins of Max AC usage on the ACC for the cabin to be cooled. Of course you have to follow the procedure of rolling down all the windows and running the AC on full blast for a short time if it has been in the sun for a long time. It has never taken more than 5 mins to cool the cabin and revert the temp back to comfortable levels with the blower levels at 1 or 2.

Last edited by abhinav.s : 12th July 2017 at 20:38.
abhinav.s is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th July 2017, 22:39   #30

Originally Posted by abhinav.s
The AC is indeed powerful and in Bangalore and Hyderabad / Tamil Nadu (where we have been to with the car in the past 4 months) the AC has cooled the cabin pretty fast. It took around 2-3 mins of Max AC usage on the ACC for the cabin to be cooled. Of course you have to follow the procedure of rolling down all the windows and running the AC on full blast for a short time if it has been in the sun for a long time. It has never taken more than 5 mins to cool the cabin and revert the temp back to comfortable levels with the blower levels at 1 or 2.
With my previous cars, I have seen, A/C performance has a lot to do with seat cover materiel.

I followed the flow and installed leather seat cover in my previous cars. I saw, A/C used to take a lot longer to cool the cabin with that material when compare with no seat cover at all.

I am yet to install any seat cover in my Aspire. Unfortunately I am unable to find a good fabric seat cover. Presently the A/C does cool the cabin really quick. Though I have never timed, but I guess 5 mins max. Previous experience with leather seat cover has made me fearful to do the same again.
NaXal is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com