Old 21st January 2008, 21:17   #166

Originally Posted by ac 427 View Post
hey . . did u get your skoda fabia ? i have started seeing fabia on the roads its a pleasant site to see these european cars on our indian roads.
I have not yet. Dealer is not asking us to pick the details of the car that we would like. I am also taking it easy as I don't need the car until mid March. Now that they priced it too high I am also waiting to see some good in-depth independent reviews of this car. I am little concerned about the engine noise as I heard it is little loud.
Old 21st January 2008, 22:44   #167

Originally Posted by rev up.. View Post
very well put, sir. jokes apart-that is exactly how it is.

any official declaration by skoda about the prices yet?
I called TAFE bangalore last night. (yes i called him from US )

He told me only the Diesel is available.
4 weeks wait period.
Classic version costs 7 lac OTR.
Ambience costs 8.5 lac OTR
All versions of the car comes with Airbags.
Classic does not have ABS while the Ambience has ABS.
Petrol version will be available in another month.
Old 21st January 2008, 23:22   #168

Originally Posted by skmami View Post
I have not yet. Dealer is not asking us to pick the details of the car that we would like. I am also taking it easy as I don't need the car until mid March. Now that they priced it too high I am also waiting to see some good in-depth independent reviews of this car. I am little concerned about the engine noise as I heard it is little loud.
ya the engines friggin loud. i mean really really loud. its the 'classic diesel engine' sound
other than that the cars rocking. handling on corners is nice. suspnesion is soft. the feel of the car is the same like the octy. strong sturdy and well balaned.
Old 22nd January 2008, 00:54   #169

Has anyone tried the petrol engine Fabia?

Has anyone tried the petrol engine Fabia? Whole world is talking about the diesel only.

Petrol version can be a better value for money as it is priced a lakh lesser than diesel. Elegance variant (variant with Sun roof, reverse parking sensors, projector head lamps etc) in petrol is about 8 lakhs on road in HYD. Its available to book and will be delivered in 3 weeks according to the dealer.
Old 22nd January 2008, 01:30   #170

Everyone loves Diesels especially Skoda diesels.
Old 22nd January 2008, 01:39   #171

Originally Posted by paras211 View Post
would the 1.8 turbo petrol fit in??
oh no not again. the car has barely launched no one is gonna bother about swaps. there is a reason skoda diesels sell it is their mileage so less bhp equal to good mileage will always stay like that eh ...
Old 22nd January 2008, 13:15   #172

Spotted a black fabia with temporary number plates parked in E square.
Though I wasn't around long enough to hear the growl.
Have they Officially announced the price yet.

What i would like to add here is that from the rear the car doesn't have sufficient presence IMHO.
I doubt whether they would be able to manage to sell this one in respectable numbers (for a Skoda).

The interiors were pretty neat and sober as viewed from the outside and the car seemed to have good amount of space inside.
Old 22nd January 2008, 18:25   #173

Originally Posted by carCrazy25 View Post
I called TAFE bangalore last night. (yes i called him from US )

He told me only the Diesel is available.
4 weeks wait period.
Classic version costs 7 lac OTR.
Ambience costs 8.5 lac OTR
All versions of the car comes with Airbags.
Classic does not have ABS while the Ambience has ABS.
Petrol version will be available in another month.
all of a sudden, where has this deficit arisen from? when you are coming up with a car that is awaited by many, the production should be sufficient. this will only hamper their sales.
Old 22nd January 2008, 19:22   #174
fb1

can i have the specs for petrol / diesel and OTR prices for chennai.. VERY VERY interested in picking this up over swift.. need a small car
Old 24th January 2008, 07:25   #175

European review

Fabia european review

Fabia Group test | Video Features | Videos | Auto Express
Old 24th January 2008, 09:46   #176

Originally Posted by carCrazy25 View Post
If I understand the accent correctly... He says it cannot beat neither Renault nor Corsa but worth buying may be because it is cheap.
Old 24th January 2008, 16:37   #177

Saw the fabia today. Looks very similar to a swift.
Old 24th January 2008, 18:31   #178

Given the Swift and Fabia are priced similarly in the UK Skoda is being very optimistic about the Indian market. That's a premium of nearly 2 and a half lakhs plus on the swift and impossible to justify. Compared to them Maruti looks like its doing social service.

Swift is Clarksons number one hatchback. He's praised it to the skies.
Old 24th January 2008, 18:43   #179

I personally feel that Skoda is aiming for the "premium" customers and in generally for people who already are in love with the skoda brand and would like to stick to it .
Its a" premium "product for the few and not for the masses is what skoda marketing gurus are trying to sell to the public.
As a value for money argument the fabia is not even going to be mentioned ,more of in their viewpoint they would prefer the fabia to be compared to its eu cousins . like citreon/merc/vw/audi/etc
Old 24th January 2008, 21:36   #180

One reason for price differential maybe nature of opearation Skoda is CKD operation while Maruti is best integrated ( Volumes ) indegenous manufacturer with probably the best vendor base giving it the edge in pricing