Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Search this Thread
Old 6th May 2008, 11:46   #1
BHPian

Reasons for settling on for a Logan 1.5dCi DLX

FIRST OF ALL I WOULD LIKE TO THANK TEAM-BHP FOR APPROVING MY MEMBERSHIP.

I have been driving an Indigo LS since August 2004, I required a sturdy, rigid & refined diesel car.
I’ve mostly owned Maruti cars. Owned Old Gen 800, New Gen 800, Van, Zen & Esteem. Over the years ive noticed steel quality & thickness of sheet metal thinning. Am not at all convinced that for my long time use (will keep my car for over 6-7 yrs) Dzire Diesel would last. I have seen rattling a couple of Swift Diesels in my Indl Complex after 1.5 years so I shudder thinking about how it’ll last for many years, nothing to take away from its engine, its brilliant! On a trip to Kiev & Odessa in Ukraine, I saw a Dacia with over 3.5L kms on the odometer. On further enquiring, I came to know that in Ukraine they import used German (Opel (plenty of them!), VW, Audi’s), Czech (Skoda), Romanian (Dacia – Badged Renault here), Italian (Fiat - ‘Idea’ & ‘Multipla’ MPV’s) & French (Citroen, Peugeot, Renault) cars as they have a very long life span (built to last) coz taxes on new cars are v high there & its cheaper for them to get 1.5L kms run European imports & then use them till at least 5L kms.

Have always believed in the adage, Petrol get a Japanese make as they make fuel efficient petrol cars & diesel get an European make.

After using the Indigo for nearly 4 years whatever people say, ill never go for an Indian Engineered Car, sorry to say but its true. There are so many problems in the car that I may have to write a 500 page book about my experiences with the ‘More car per car’. The only aspect I liked about the car was its sheet metal is very solid.