Old 8th October 2008, 18:54   #76

Originally Posted by vivekji05 View Post
I was the first one to draw the Honda City(remember the photoshop rendering),na? Well, God and Honda decided that I should be among the first to drive it as well.
Thanx man great great job. Now, I am convinced moe than ever. Just a few things to ask. Have you been able to catch the new City in the Tafeta White color. Have booked one with that color considering the looks of the sporty white Civic and the new City being similar in profile. I have got the option to change the color during the 15th of this month when the new City will be in display. Which color do you think best suits/highlights the City's profile.
Other than that did you get any information on the pricing of the body kit. Looks great on the silver CITY.

Thanx again. Great job. Keep it up.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:03   #77

Excellent finish to the review again, Vivek.

Okay, now that we have a well-finished sedan with power equivalent to (actually more than) the OHC, how many of you would put your $ down for this? I think its a beauty and should do very very well - if I were in the market for a decent sedan and had a budget of 7-8 lakhs, I would stretch that budget for this car. I for one would be much happier with a more wide-spread powerband than one that peaks at high revvs.

Last edited by Steeroid : 8th October 2008 at 19:04.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:08   #78

Vivek - No pics of the red colour shown in the brochures?
Old 8th October 2008, 19:10   #79

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
I for one would be much happier with a more wide-spread powerband than one that peaks at high revvs.
Got that from your signature "Petrols Suck. Diesels Torque. Q.E.D"!
Anyway, that makes much better sense for city driving.

Originally Posted by raul
The performance as you report seems peppy which is great, however the warranty business with tyre change is overbearing, most folks will want to put 195 or at least 185 to really get the performance out of the car but this Honda policy is a spanner in the works.
Crappy stuff, isn't it? Does any other manufacturer do this?
Old 8th October 2008, 19:11   #80

I too would prefer an evenly spread powerband. How often does one get to rev the engine on our roads...It helps to have a good low end and decent mid range power. Any top end whack is appreciable but cannot be utilised on a daily basis. Would however make it a beast on the track.

I would put my money on the City with my eyes shut..now i can..were I on car shopping in that price range.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:15   #81

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Vivek - No pics of the red colour shown in the brochures?
This is the red coloured car you are talking about. The brochure is a bit misleading in terms of the exact colour. Look at how the colour varies in the pics shot at two different times- on the road and infront of the hotel.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:20   #82

Originally Posted by ecotech View Post
Thanx man great great job. Now, I am convinced moe than ever. Just a few things to ask. Have you been able to catch the new City in the Tafeta White color. Have booked one with that color considering the looks of the sporty white Civic and the new City being similar in profile. I have got the option to change the color during the 15th of this month when the new City will be in display. Which color do you think best suits/highlights the City's profile.
Other than that did you get any information on the pricing of the body kit. Looks great on the silver CITY.

Thanx again. Great job. Keep it up.
I havent seen white and black yet. Like you said, the white would look like the Civic S. The most voted colour among the cars we had was red- which Honda has obviously chosen for ads- everyone was fighting for the keys to the red car. You know who won in the end...
Old 8th October 2008, 19:33   #83

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Excellent finish to the review again, Vivek.

Okay, now that we have a well-finished sedan with power equivalent to (actually more than) the OHC, how many of you would put your $ down for this?
I sure would. No hurry - i will wait for driving it myself before committing.
Anyone has a clue as to when its available on display in Bangalore?
Old 8th October 2008, 19:34   #84

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
I sure would. No hurry - i will wait for driving it myself before committing.
Anyone has a clue as to when its available on display in Bangalore?
Dakshin Honda says after 25th October.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:44   #85

Fog lamps!

Did you notice the fog lamps on the silver car (car number 6)?

Vivek,
How is that possible? Is Honda giving an option to change the front bumper with fog lamps?

When Honda has it on test vehicles I am sure there will be an option for this.

-Selective.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:50   #86
oss

A great review there man. Yours is probably the first detailed test drive report on G3HC.

I just hope they give the option of fatter tyres as well along with the alloys.

Can you post the rear picture with the lip spoiler (if you have clicked one).

Cheers mate.

Last edited by oss : 8th October 2008 at 19:51.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:55   #87

Originally Posted by Selective View Post

Vivek,
How is that possible? Is Honda giving an option to change the front bumper with fog lamps?

-Selective.
Umm, vivek makes it quite clear when he says this:

There will be this option pack on sale which has front &rear bumper attachments, fog lamps, a tiny lip spoiler on the boot as well as side skirting.
Old 8th October 2008, 19:57   #88

Originally Posted by Selective View Post

Vivek,

-Selective.
Well that is what he has mentioned that the silver car has all the extras that you can get from Honda.

Vivek
But this Honda is not really impressing when comparing the Fiesta S still. The engine performance that you have mentioned, do you think it is very responsive? Can it do outnumbers, and can the cornering and vehicle control good enough so that 10lac+ plus be paid?

Anup
Old 8th October 2008, 19:57   #89

Originally Posted by jassi View Post
I think most people anyway change to alloys these days at the time of purchase - atleast from the team-bhp reports it seems so So even if the gave some mediocre alloys, I'd rather go and upgrade to ones of my own choice and add some fat rubber for better handling !!
I know.

But why can't Honda spare me that trip to the tyre dealer? Or possibly, to give them the benefit of doubt - this is not the high end model? But once again, a very yummy looking car. I like.
Old 8th October 2008, 20:20   #90

Awesome review Vivek - thanks