Old 31st August 2010, 13:39   #391

thanks for the info, I need to repost/crosslink this info in Scorpio Problem and resolution thread other too would befit from this.

-Pramod
Old 31st August 2010, 19:36   #392

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
...e.g. "Kya umar hai tera (What is your age?)" Me- 23*, Other guy "Main 25 saal se idhar kaam kar rela hai (I'm working here for past 25 years)".
You should ask to check the other guy's birth certificate - maybe he's 35, and started working at 10!!!
I am giving you basic wheel alignment values for your reference purpose:-
Thanks, Spike. I needed those values too.
Old 5th September 2010, 21:08   #393

This Mahindra is not going my way from day one!!!, today the driver side door is locked automatically, I am not able to open the door from either inside or outside, although all of the locking and unlocking with remote and key works for other door, look like the driver door mechanism just failed while it was locked!!

I need to take it to the service center tomorrow, the list was already growing, need to check the front left, right height and then check the camber setting as per the recommendation and if found outside the range need to get it fixed[this is only fixable at service center] but now its emergency to get the door working.

-Pramod
Old 6th September 2010, 16:41   #394

Finally I can get into the car from driver side, the camber needed shim adjustment on the left side, and that was done, they said as the 4WD has axle and that makes it harder for disassembling and fitting shim! Camber adjustment, steering center adjustment and then toe adjustment all are done, hoping this will fix the alignment problem for long.

One thing still left, the fog lamps have vapors and there is no spare in the store!

-Pramod
Old 6th September 2010, 17:53   #395

Originally Posted by pramods View Post
they said as the 4WD has axle and that makes it harder for disassembling and fitting shim! Camber adjustment, steering center adjustment and then toe adjustment all are done, hoping this will fix the alignment problem for long.
The dealer is talking crap, adding or removing shims in a 2wd/4wd is in the same position (between the UCA and chassis). The only added operation in a 4wd is ride height adjustment. Thank God those morons did not tell "Saab 4wd mein tyre bhi kholna padta hai (Tyre is to be removed for W/A in a 4wd)". Anyways, good to hear that the issue has been sorted out. Did my inputs help you in any way?

Spike
Old 6th September 2010, 18:48   #396

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
... Did my inputs help you in any way?

Spike
Yes sir, its because of it the camber and height adjustment was done, I told them the values and what can be adjusted, else it was all it work, we can adjust the toe-in and everything will be fine!!

This time I was educated and can give them all the theoretical values required, and what need to be checked and adjusted.

Hope no one have to go about this route and they them shelves take care of things.

-Pramod

PS: I saw one May 2010 notice related to ABS, the brake liner material has been changed because the old one used to local and were having problem in morning, not sure if it was required by all or its if you complain then it will be changed notice.

Last edited by pramods : 6th September 2010 at 18:49.
Old 6th September 2010, 18:52   #397

PS: I saw one May 2010 notice related to ABS, the brake liner material has been changed because the old one used to local and were having problem in morning, not sure if it was required by all or its if you complain then it will be changed notice.
Eh, you saw that notice hmmm. Glad that I could be of some help to you.

Spike
Old 13th September 2010, 11:51   #398

Did a Nagpur-Pune-Nagpur this weekend, started on Friday, reached back to Nagpur on Sunday, on Saturday went to Bhandardara, overall 2K kms approx done in 3 days. This was the longest after the repair work, the vehicle did performed well but the dreaded alignment problem is still there, suddenly after 100 kms from Nagpur, the steering centering tends to moved toward left, I am not sure what the problem is and how it will get sorted.
Few more problem came up, they all are related to the fitments done at the service center, hoping to get them resolved at 20K service.
One observation, my Scorpio like Reliance Diesel, it gave almost 11km/lt while with BP it was 9.5km/lt, I tried it with same condition, while going to Pune I used BP, while driving back used Reliance, now planning to stick with Reliance!!

Overall stats till date, 8 months 19.4K done out of which 3 month "In Service Center" first for the accident and 2 months for " Automatic failure", so effectively 5 month 20K approx.

The driving experience till date is good, I would want the other problems to get sorted fast so I can utilize the vehicle to fullest.
4th Servicing will have Oil Change and not sure what else, but its a important service, not like 2nd and 3rd service where just oil level are checked!

-Pramod
Old 13th September 2010, 12:23   #399

Pramods,

That is some serious driving that you are doing.

With regard to the wheel alignment, I reckon Spike has shared the measurements with you. Why don't you get them checked first from an independent center before going back to the MASS to get it sorted. (And, on the side line, are you sure that the left pull was not due to road banking?)
Old 13th September 2010, 12:28   #400

yeap, em sure about that, its not bad road banking, I checked with 2 independent center and they told me to go to service center for camber, caster and steering centering problem, they generally align the toe-in provided other parameters are withing limits!.

-Pramod
Old 13th September 2010, 19:29   #401

Did a Nagpur-Pune-Nagpur this weekend, started on Friday, reached back to Nagpur on Sunday, on Saturday went to Bhandardara, overall 2K kms approx done in 3 days. This was the longest after the repair work, the vehicle did performed well but the dreaded alignment problem is still there, suddenly after 100 kms from Nagpur, the steering centering tends to moved toward left, I am not sure what the problem is and how it will get sorted.
Few more problem came up, they all are related to the fitments done at the service center, hoping to get them resolved at 20K service.
One observation, my Scorpio like Reliance Diesel, it gave almost 11km/lt while with BP it was 9.5km/lt, I tried it with same condition, while going to Pune I used BP, while driving back used Reliance, now planning to stick with Reliance!!

Overall stats till date, 8 months 19.4K done out of which 3 month "In Service Center" first for the accident and 2 months for " Automatic failure", so effectively 5 month 20K approx.

The driving experience till date is good, I would want the other problems to get sorted fast so I can utilize the vehicle to fullest.
4th Servicing will have Oil Change and not sure what else, but its a important service, not like 2nd and 3rd service where just oil level are checked!

-Pramod
Quite adventurous! The steering problem is a bit worrisome.The fact about Reliance is worth a try. Almost all Reliance dispensing centres have opened.
Old 14th September 2010, 17:23   #402

Got the 4th Servicing done, total cost was 4241, this is for Oil, Oil Filter, Diesel Filter, rubber bidding and labor charges. Even though the required oil mentioned is 6ltrs, almost 7ltrs were poured and that too of 2 different variant, 6ltrs of maximile crown[20K change interval] and 1ltrs of miximile premium[ 15k interval].

Now I am not sure what will happen with this mixture?

I did check the dipstick and its showing correct level after almost 7ltrs, but my question is about the mixture of premium and crown and because of this what should be my next oild change interval? 15K or 20K ?

Fog lamps are not in spare and I have to leave with the same old vapor lamps for now!!

-Pramod
Old 14th September 2010, 17:41   #403

Why didn't you insist on using the same Oil grade? As long as both the ingredients are oil, there won't be any issue. Stick to 15K interval.

Spike
Old 14th September 2010, 18:50   #404

Both are genuine Mahindra recommended oil, so I hope no issue here, as you said will change at 15K and will make sure next time no "cocktail" happens.
I was not aware that both are different oil, once I took the vehicle back I see both the can and realized the mistake, it looks like the crown only comes in 6ltr can and premium comes in both 1 ltr can and other denominations , so to make the adjustment they used the 1 ltr one.

-Pramod

PS: I saw the instruments/devices to open and fix oil filter and diesel filter, I believe it has been done right in my case. Will have to wait and see!

Last edited by pramods : 14th September 2010 at 18:55.
Old 4th October 2010, 13:11   #405

Originally Posted by suman View Post
They should do a proactive recall of all A/Ts instead of being reactive. Seriously.

Only positive thing is that it is probably not a terrain/climate related issue.......
My Scorpio AT went in for its second service today and the A$$ called me to say that Mahindra had asked them to change the hose on all ATs . So, mine is getting a new hose now.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com