Old 28th September 2010, 16:26   #436

Originally Posted by David Murx View Post
@Sharpnish - Why dont you try buying from vadodara ? Try calling the dealer and ask him at what time will you be delivered if you are buying. If your wait is getting paid off why not cancel your booking from your city and buy from vadodara. I remember when i had been to one of the maruti dealers in my city i was told waiting period of 1.5-2 months. Whereas when i went to the other dealer i got my K10 on the 3rd day of booking !!
Thanks David... Looking out for an option in Baroda would only add more delay, cause at first as usual these dealers will promise the 'moon and stars' (here a Black K10!) but when reality checks-in for them, they stop picking up your calls, they give vague answers if they are caught (if called from different numbers), basically they truly start showing their true colors !!! Now I am totally worn out with this issue, as i am still listening the same stories from these guys. All four dealers are facing the same problem, i feel, as most of them would be behaving the same way, the reason that i am more angry is for the lack of activism from the dealership, as i had booked during the time this car was absolutely new, and they had NO orders on-hand for black color, now according to them they have more then five orders of the same color, in VXi, my first argument, when they tell me, 'I don't care i was the first one, i should not be told how many are there after me....I don't really care!!' Today the Manager is to call me by 6pm to let me know the tentative date!! I don't care if its "shraddh" going on... I want that K10, first thing first, footwear change, security, Audio, and than next month 13' alloys ... after 2nd service, iridium spark plugs and cosworth exhaust tip in phase two...

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Post Edited. Smilie usage is restricted to two per post on Team-BHP. Please refrain from using excessive smilies.

We advise you to read the Announcements and Board Rules section before proceeding any further.

Last edited by .anshuman : 28th September 2010 at 18:24. Reason: Please take a look at the mod note that has been added to the end of your post.
Old 30th September 2010, 22:13   #437

Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
Have dragged my K10 with my 10-year-old Vx a couple of times - the K10 gamely keeps up staying just a car-length or two behind up to 90 Kmph, beyond that it drops away. My Vx's been "worked on" so it's not really a fair fight. Stock vs stock, I think the K10 would beat the Vx quite handsomely.

Figures please

Same here, & my Vx is 10 years old Another thing is that the K10 appears to 'seal' less than the Vx - more of the outside world's heard inside the K10 compared to the Vx.
Took a test drive of the A Star Auto. Didn't like it. Bought the K10!

Its my city car, to replace my 800 5 speed. Primary consideration being small size and AC.

In the 2+ weeks Ive had it, driven it only once (30 Km). But already a couple of observations:

A) Significant wind noise from front. (Maybe the redesigned nose was not checked out in a wind tunnel)

B) Idles very poorly.

C) Gearing choice could be better. It needs shorter gearing. Does not move (feel, not figures) the way its numbers say it should. Should really pass a comment on this after 5000 Km. But with my usage, that is going to take at least a year.

D) Suspension seems to have been improved.

E) Very very poor quality of plastics. Feels like a Tata car in that respect. Normally I don't give this 'interior plastics quality' too much of weightage. Anything acceptable or better will do for me. The K10 is borderline.

F) Rear wash/ wipe absolute must.

G) Even the top end does not get a prismatic RV Mirror.

H) Once again, too early to say. But though the K10 will be significantly faster, (and a better car overall) my 800 5 speed is more fun to drive. (To put things in perspective, IMHO, the old Zen with an Esteem heart would have been the ultimate FTD Maruti)

I) If all this sounds like a litany of complaints from a perpetual never satisfied critic, would like to add that I am happy, mainly because THE AC IS GOOD. (Incidentally some magazines complain about the AC in the A Star. Can someone explain that)

Sutripta
Old 1st October 2010, 13:08   #438

Originally Posted by sharpnish View Post
Thanks David... Looking out for an option in Baroda would only add more delay, cause at first as usual these dealers will promise the 'moon and stars' (here a Black K10!) but when reality checks-in for them, they stop picking up your calls, they give vague answers if they are caught (if called from different numbers), basically they truly start showing their true colors !!! Now I am totally worn out with this issue, as i am still listening the same stories from these guys. All four dealers are facing the same problem, i feel, as most of them would be behaving the same way, the reason that i am more angry is for the lack of activism from the dealership, as i had booked during the time this car was absolutely new, and they had NO orders on-hand for black color, now according to them they have more then five orders of the same color, in VXi, my first argument, when they tell me, 'I don't care i was the first one, i should not be told how many are there after me....I don't really care!!' Today the Manager is to call me by 6pm to let me know the tentative date!! I don't care if its "shraddh" going on... I want that K10, first thing first, footwear change, security, Audio, and than next month 13' alloys ... after 2nd service, iridium spark plugs and cosworth exhaust tip in phase two...

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Post Edited. Smilie usage is restricted to two per post on Team-BHP. Please refrain from using excessive smilies.

We advise you to read the Announcements and Board Rules section before proceeding any further.
I understand what you must be feeling by now. And the delay is causing more irritation in your excitement. Since you are so much frustrated i just suggested you to buy from baroda. As per my knowledge the K10 is available here in stock and in your colour too. So if you want to cut out your frustration you may call them up and inquire. By the way i liked your planning in pimping your K10 !
Old 1st October 2010, 13:15   #439

Originally Posted by Sutripta View Post

A) Significant wind noise from front. (Maybe the redesigned nose was not checked out in a wind tunnel)
Never noticed it with windows closed and AC on.

B) Idles very poorly. Not so in my case

C) Gearing choice could be better. It needs shorter gearing. Does not move (feel, not figures) the way its numbers say it should. Should really pass a comment on this after 5000 Km. But with my usage, that is going to take at least a year.
Found OK for Delhi traffic, which is either start-stop-wait-go or fast. Basically the first power burst occurs at 2500 rpm and the second around 4000.

D) Suspension seems to have been improved. I agree.

E) Very very poor quality of plastics. Feels like a Tata car in that respect. Normally I don't give this 'interior plastics quality' too much of weightage. Anything acceptable or better will do for me. The K10 is borderline.

In the torrential rain this year could not see anything, though the front wipers also could not cope up with the rain at times.

G) Even the top end does not get a prismatic RV Mirror.

Trying hard to get one, but not available. They have listed in the accessories part of the K10 site, but no links for ordering! ..:: ALTO ACCESSORIES | CUSTOMIZE YOUR CAR WITH MARUTI GENUINE ACCESSORIES

H) Once again, too early to say. But though the K10 will be significantly faster, (and a better car overall) my 800 5 speed is more fun to drive. (To put things in perspective, IMHO, the old Zen with an Esteem heart would have been the ultimate FTD Maruti)

I find the K10 a fun to drive car. It just zooms. The accelerator spring is a bit too tight for my comfort, will try to get it changed during third service.

I) If all this sounds like a litany of complaints from a perpetual never satisfied critic, would like to add that I am happy, mainly because THE AC IS GOOD. (Incidentally some magazines complain about the AC in the A Star. Can someone explain that)

Agree Totally. Dont know about Kolkata but in Delhi heat it beats the competition hollow.

Sutripta
Got my one on 8th August, done around 800km. My reason for getting K10 was primarily for going to markets where the roads are narrow and parking tight. Will use it for pure fun driving on highways - NH2 to Agra, NH8 to Jaipur. As I had done extensive journeys in my M800 when the kids were young, the K10 should not be much different, maybe better on highways. M800 was excellent in the hills.
Old 1st October 2010, 19:00   #440

I) If all this sounds like a litany of complaints from a perpetual never satisfied critic
Hmm...then why did you buy it? Sounds like you needed an A-star manual...or something else?
Old 1st October 2010, 22:32   #441

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Hmm...then why did you buy it? Sounds like you needed an A-star manual...or something else?
LOL. Good question. Spur of the moment decision. + Sweltering in my M800. + K10 ready delivery. + A Star ZXi 2 weeks delivery. + A Star is wider.

Have other cars too. So the city runabout does not have to do double (or triple) duty.

My feeling is that the K10, with very little extra effort could have been so much more. Similar to my perception of the former Alto VX. The Alto is a city car. Maruti should focus on that. And FE is not the be all and end all of all metrices.

Sutripta
Old 3rd October 2010, 10:22   #442

My feeling is that the K10, with very little extra effort could have been so much more. Similar to my perception of the former Alto VX. The Alto is a city car. Maruti should focus on that. And FE is not the be all and end all of all metrices.

Sutripta
Add ABS, Airbags and rear washer/wiper to the K10 and it would be a killer car. I think that i10 has the right idea. Have a base car and multiple trims spanning 3.5-5lacs price range.

FE plays an important part in the Indian car buyers psyche, else how do you explain 20k+ Altos sold every month. That is more than some manufacturers manage in a year!
Old 3rd October 2010, 20:06   #443

Went on an aimless 300Km drive yesterday.

Never noticed it with windows closed and AC on.
Always drive with windows closed, and AC on. Wind noise definitely there.

B) Idles very poorly. Not so in my case
Maybe I should clarify. Not always. But once in a while it emulates a wet dog trying to dry itself. Have not been able to find the event which causes this. It is not the AC compressor coming on.

Found OK for Delhi traffic, which is either start-stop-wait-go or fast. Basically the first power burst occurs at 2500 rpm and the second around 4000.
One makes do with whatever one has. And in that respect, anything (Nanos, Boleros etc) is OK. I am saying it could have been significantly better/ different with just a change of gearing.

In the torrential rain this year could not see anything, though the front wipers also could not cope up with the rain at times.
Was not talking of torrential rain, but of grime buildup. Common to ALL hatches. So most have an option for a rear wash/ wipe.

FE plays an important part in the Indian car buyers psyche, else how do you explain 20k+ Altos sold every month. That is more than some manufacturers manage in a year!
The old Alto for them. Give us our FTD car.

Sutripta

Last edited by Sutripta : 3rd October 2010 at 20:09.
Old 4th October 2010, 10:03   #444

Always drive with windows closed, and AC on. Wind noise definitely there.

More than the wind noise it is the AC blower noise. Above 2 the noise is very loud, reminded me of the new Scorpio's AC noise.

Maybe I should clarify. Not always. But once in a while it emulates a wet dog trying to dry itself. Have not been able to find the event which causes this. It is not the AC compressor coming on.

It may be a cylinder misfiring. Used to get that in my M800, once in a while. Diagnosed it to a plug misfiring due to intermittent short.

Was not talking of torrential rain, but of grime buildup. Common to ALL hatches. So most have an option for a rear wash/ wipe.

Sutripta
The grime buildup is there on the front glass also. While traveling long distance especially in intermittent rain, the grime would have to be wiped out every hour or so. Even though the wipers did a good job, there was still the area outside their sweep which would irritate me, you also run out of washer water pretty soon. I normally try to keep all my glass area clean, but yes a rear washer/wiper would be a definite help. Talked to a MASS about it. He claims that the whole rear windscreen would have to be changed as the unit is integrated with the glass!
Old 4th October 2010, 21:40   #445

^^^^
No, was talking of wind noise, not AC blower noise.

Maybe I've a lemon!

Sutripta
Old 6th October 2010, 21:01   #446

Short coming of Alto 800 were ingress and engress should have addressed in Alto K10 with headroom increase by 1~2 inches, height adjustable seating.
Alto users always desired a 20% more power than older model but not 45%. The strength Alto is economy, and price later is lost due to 3.8lakh on road price. Genuinely 20% more power and economy of more than 22 km/lt would have been better option.
Position of Alto, A star,estlo wagon R .....In Maruti stable ete are confuse the buyer other make may get this market. There is talk of phasing out Alto 800, if so it is Harakiri. I strongly feel that this upgrade is only to get more profit by Alto (equal to china market). this Upgrade is happened because ready made engine and transmission availability.
Only time will tell the fate of Alto.
Old 6th October 2010, 22:20   #447

Originally Posted by ashoka View Post
Alto users always desired a 20% more power than older model but not 45%. The strength Alto is economy, and price later is lost due to 3.8lakh on road price. Genuinely 20% more power and economy of more than 22 km/lt would have been better option.
Position of Alto, A star,estlo wagon R .....In Maruti stable ete are confuse the buyer other make may get this market. There is talk of phasing out Alto 800, if so it is Harakiri. I strongly feel that this upgrade is only to get more profit by Alto (equal to china market). this Upgrade is happened because ready made engine and transmission availability.
Only time will tell the fate of Alto.
The price difference between the Alto800 Lxi and K10 Lxi is barely 20K ex showroom in Delhi. So that is not a deal breaker.

K10 has marginally higher FE, that is plus. It has better performance and AC a very big plus.

On the whole the Alto range - 800, Alto800, AltoK10, Zen, AStar gives a buyer a range from 1.9L to 4.2L for basically same space but different trims and engines. That is enough to cater to a wide range of budgets.

Phasing out the Alto with a sale of 20K per month would be extremely difficult to justify. MUL would most probably wait till the figures decline, as they did in case of M800, and then phase it out. The have just ramped up their manufacturing capacity and need increased sales volume not decrease.
Old 7th October 2010, 12:34   #448

I saw just 2 Alto K10 till today in Bangalore (one was dealer test drive car). But was really surprised to see more than 25 K10 Altos in my home town in just 4 days.
Old 30th October 2010, 20:26   #449

This may be off topic for this thread, I am looking to buy alto lxi which would be used 100% for city to travel from point A to point B and keep my baleno for the highways.

Can someone explain why would one buy the K10 of alto over the existing 800 cc alto.

From a city driving perspective, does a k10 make a difference? in terms of the following:

Pick up/Power (on the cards, the k10 is more but what about driving in city where speed range betwen 30-50 kms/hr)
Platform
Mileage
Features
Maintenance
Old 30th October 2010, 21:58   #450

^^ If you drive the car yourself, I'd recommend the K10. The regular Alto struggles with the A/C on (the A/C itself is good though). Other than maintenance costs - which I cannot comment on - everything else is better on the K10.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com