Old 30th September 2009, 09:12   #1

YetiBlog® - The Yeti®, Normally_Crazy and The Tata Nano drive to Delhi!

You've bought a what??
You heard right,
I said last week.
But how? The car isn't even available or released!
Yes, a few pieces were released and I managed to get one. Don't ask me how.

It had been over a week I had been driving a Nano to work every day. Instant stardom. People would point and run and knock on my window and ask questions.
Sachhi mein ek lakh ki hai?
Nahi.
You can fit inside?
Yes, comfortably.
Does it have pick up?
Does it have AC?
Where is the engine??
AYY DEKH DEKH NANO!!!

I had driven the car for about 600kms by now. It was a strange feeling not to have shared this on Team-BHP. NC and I were hoping to keep it a secret till we completed the amazing drive.
But it would be no secret at all.
I had been driving the car across mumbai for a week now and definitely attracted a lot of attention. Hell, I had even driven it to Pune over the weekend. Everyone had already seen it. Finally we both agreed that we would begin this crazy travelogue.

Please note that this is also a review of the Nano, but you have to find the review within the story.

You want to WHAT??
I calmly repeat myself. I want to drive the Nano to Delhi.
Are you nuts? What's the size of that petrol tank?
15 litres.
How the hell are you going to do this?
Slowly I guess, lol.

I call NC.
To Delhi?
Yes.
In the Nano?
Yes.
Are you serious?
Yes.
OK let's do it.

That's one of the reasons I like this guy. There are few grey areas with NC. It's a clear yes or a clear go-to-hell. This time it's a clear yes. Looks like we're driving to Delhi in this little car!

Now come the issues.
A 15 litre tank. The car is smooth and really zippy, but feels safe only upto about 90kmph. It's a city car after all.

At 100 it is shaky. At 110 the engine warning lights come on and at 111...

At 111kmph the car simply cuts off. I suspect that the petrol supply is purposely cut off to the engine. Once speed is lowered, the engine cuts back in.

The problem is that we cannot leave on Friday as NC has commitments. We must leave on Saturday.
The problem is that we cannot reach on Monday as I have some commitments in New Delh on Sunday Evening.

No. It is clear. We have 36 hours to reach Delhi in a car that does 80kmph.

And so begins our travelogue.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 30th September 2009 at 09:32.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 30th September 2009, 09:15   #2

The Yeti has started talking about engine wingene and cars......... And driven one to Delhi!
The world is about to end!!!!
Old 30th September 2009, 09:17   #3

As always you have the exciting stories/travelogues for us. Keep them coming

So the "Nano's day out" Begins with Yeti®

Last edited by wildon : 30th September 2009 at 09:20.
Old 30th September 2009, 09:21   #4

After collecting my dropped jaw which was all over the floor, I soooo want to ask :What the hell ?!!!?
Awesome Awesome! Bring it on. There goes my productivity for the day and not to mention the F5 key.

Last edited by prince_pervez : 30th September 2009 at 09:39.
Old 30th September 2009, 09:23   #5

It was quite funny at my meeting at Tata Motors. It was even more amusing to see their faces when they found out we already had a car and were planning to drive it to New Delhi.

It is expected that Tata Nanos will roll out late January or early february 2010. But until then...

YetiBlog® -  The Yeti®, Normally_Crazy and The Tata Nano drive to Delhi!-img00015200909251323.jpg

YetiBlog® -  The Yeti®, Normally_Crazy and The Tata Nano drive to Delhi!-img00016200909251323.jpg
Sam Kapasi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th September 2009, 09:26   #6

LOveLy i am sure this would be one heck of a travelogue .
BRING IT ON !!
Old 30th September 2009, 09:28   #7

But HOLD on!!

On reading my opening post I realised that most of you have taken it for granted that this YetiBlog® is written in retrospect.

It is not.

We are GOING to drive to Delhi on October 3rd, Saturday.

Carrying luggage will be a problem. Despite the fact that the Nano appears cosmetically to have a hatch in the back, it is actually completely sealed.
Engine access is in the rear, but can only be done by pulling the rear seat down and sort of contorting your body around to open 6 nuts that hold the engine cover down.

The engine cover is hot and is covered by a soft felt that insulates the inside of the car against the engine heat. Sort of.
A suitcase placed on top of the engine would get hot. Really hot.

I guess this heat is compensated by the fact that the Nano has a rockstar deluxe ac. The blower is strong, in fact too strong and the aircon makes me feel cold.

It has 2 power windows too and I have fitted in a pretty decent audio system, handsfree kit and ipod jack which will make our journey interesting.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th September 2009, 09:38   #8

so is this going to be a LIVE YetiBlog®/ Travelogue/review. Thats interesting
Old 30th September 2009, 09:39   #9

Fuel?

The Nano fuel filler is in the front. You have to pop the front lid and there's a spare tyre and the engine fluid fillers all in front.

Except the radiator fluid. FOr this you have to lower the back seat, contort using iyengar yoga, undo the 6 nuts, lift the engine cover and then fill the green stuff.

But coming back to gasoline.

The tank holds 15 litres, it does. I drive the car to Pune and had the AC on throughout the journey. The Nano has given an average of 17.5 including city driving in Pune. Of course I have had the aircon on throughout.

I am guessing the journey to Delhi will return us between 18 and 19, doing a constant speed of 90kmph.
Given that, the Nano can probably do about 270kms on a full tank.

But to be safe we will have to top-up fuel every 250kms or less.

I am also toying with the idea of carrying a fuel cannister with 20 litres of petrol, but - where do I place it during the journey?
There is no place in the front. The rear has the engine and is boiling hot.

Placing it on the rear seat will mean a constant whiff of gasoline...
Sam Kapasi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2009, 09:41   #10

Hi Sam,

Please drive safely and keep the post coming. I am a little bit concerned that a fellow BHPian is about to do this, and I wish you well.

Many Thanks.
Prasad
Old 30th September 2009, 09:41   #11

WoW a running commentory of Mumbai-Delhi trip on a Tata Nano
i am hooked on to this
Old 30th September 2009, 09:42   #12

I am all ears for this one! Bring it on SAM!!!
Old 30th September 2009, 09:45   #13

I was beginning to wonder what happened to you. I have immensely enjoyed reading your travelogues, though this is the first time I am posting in your thread.

Thread bookmarked and waiting.
Old 30th September 2009, 09:50   #14

I am wondering if its a good idea to take gasoline in the car where all windows will be closed.

Happy journey to you guys. Have a safe and fun filled trip.
Old 30th September 2009, 10:04   #15

The Yeti has been silent for a while so something like this had to be coming! But this goes beyond all expectations. I'm glued.