Old 9th March 2010, 09:52   #151

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
hey guys,
i found that there are more voting after that post of terrible thread.
I really don't care about rating and voting, please, do not vote or rate this thread purposely.
Ashish. Excellent thread and nice pictures everywhere. It was a great effort from your side to arrange a tour for so many people and doing it, at a very low budget.

Do not take the votes from some people to heart, people new to forums may have had problem in voting and may have voted so. .

There is no way people after going through this thread can gave any rating less than excellent.
Old 9th March 2010, 10:56   #152

story continues---

28th Feb 2010,

@3 am, everyone was ready at the hotel reception with a sack to go to Singapore.
Took taxis for kl sentral.
Settled in the skybus for lcct klia scheduled to leave at 3:30 am.

@4:30 am, reached to lcct.
Printed our boarding passes at self check in kiosk.
It was time for early coffee at the nearby stall.
We were not carrying any check in luggage and it was smooth immigration and security check.
Boarded the plane at @ 5:45 am scheduled to leave for sin at 6:05 am.

It was smooth take off and reaching to high in the sky, pilot announced final descend for landing.
This short timed flight landed at Changi airport at @ 7 am.
We were at terminal one.
It was long walk and we reached to the skytrain station at terminal one.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-181.jpg

Me in the skytrain bound for terminal 2.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-182.jpg

Terminal 2 through skytrain.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-183.jpg

It was quick immigration and we were at the exit gate of terminal two.
Everyone freshened up and withdraw money from State bank of India ATM located near escalators for Changi mrt station.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-184.jpg

Our first destination was Sentosa.

With the help from mrt officer, i bought tickets for Harbour front station from vending machine.
Boarded the shuttle train for Tanah Merah station.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-185.jpg

mrt at Tanah Merah
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-186.jpg

Boarded the train bound to west coast and changed the train at Otram interchange and we were at Harbour front station.

The signs at every point are so clear that there is absolutely no need for any assistance.
went to vivocity upper lever for sentosa monorail.

it was @ 3 sing dollar ticket and we boarded the monorail for sentosa.[ the pic of monorail at sentosa and not vivocity]
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-187.jpg

this short ride of monorail lasted for only 5 min and we alighted at sentosa beach station.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-188.jpg

At that early hours, i had not realized the importance of mrt in Singapore life.

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 9th March 2010 at 11:01.
Old 9th March 2010, 12:20   #153

Hi Ashish,

How did you plan so much in detail, How did you know how to go about using public transport and that too outside India?
Old 9th March 2010, 12:26   #154

Praying for a safe landing?

Ashish babu, enjoying your travelogue :-)

In the pic below, is your friend praying for a safe landing? off the escalator

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...gapore-184.jpg

By the way, there used to be a 'rope-way' to Sentosa Island, is it still there ?

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
Thanks all for voting as five star thread but...........someone voted it as terrible thread......
Ashish, whoever did that must have made a mistake in clicking the selection options. And once a reader has voted, there is no option to change his / her voting or rating. So don't worry about that.

Last edited by hotstuff : 9th March 2010 at 12:31.
Old 9th March 2010, 12:37   #155

Great Going Ashish. So finally - SING-A-PORE. Nice pics.
Pardon my ignorance, but referring to one of your older pics, what is Street Modelling?

@udaydesai, I believe, if you know What You Want, you will find ways to get it. Google is a boon. You just need to use it the right way.

That said, Ashish has done the best of the homeworks I have seen. Is the Book "How to travel cheap and enjoy most" up on sale Ashish?
Old 9th March 2010, 12:47   #156

We entered the sentosa island.

There was some race going on at the beach.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-190.jpg

One can sea so many liners,
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-191.jpg

As earlier planned, we were going to get the choice package but our boys suggested that we will skip any package and will just rest and relax at the beach.

The Silosa beach is clean place to relax.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-193.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-194.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-195.jpg

It was time to relax.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-192.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-196.jpg

Had some drinks and fruit platter by nearby cafe.
Our boys had fun at the beach.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-199.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-198.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-197.jpg

As earlier planned, we were supposed to take SIA h-o-h-o bus from beach station at @ 12:15 but due late arrival by our boys, we missed that bus.

What next?

I decided to travel all the day by singapore mrt and it was good decision.

Came back to vivocity by monorail.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-200.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-201.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-202.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-203.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-204.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-205.jpg

It seems that singpore moves on escalators, i had never seen so many escalators.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-206.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-207.jpg

Went to Harbour front station and boarded the train for Dhoby ghat interchange and quick changeover at Dhoby ghat for orchard road.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-209.jpg
Old 9th March 2010, 12:53   #157

Originally Posted by udaydesai View Post
How did you plan so much in detail, How did you know how to go about using public transport and that too outside India?
Originally Posted by achopraa View Post
Pardon my ignorance, but referring to one of your older pics, what is Street Modelling?
@udaydesai, I believe, if you know What You Want, you will find ways to get it. Google is a boon. You just need to use it the right way.

It was extensive planning from my side.
I was not ready to take any chances and i had kept all options ready for any problems.
As achopra said, google is the source of information.

Originally Posted by hotstuff View Post
By the way, there used to be a 'rope-way' to Sentosa Island, is it still there ?
Rope way closed for some time for some work.
Old 9th March 2010, 13:03   #158

I would recommend you and your friends to include Star Cruise also in your next trip to Singapore. Its not so expensive if booked in advance. There are lot of Indians who go to KL via Start Cruise. Indians are mostly on the 2nd number in the strength on board after chinese. They even serve "Jain Food" for pure vegeterians.
Old 9th March 2010, 14:23   #159
MX6

Did you know that from harbor front to dhoby ghat, the trains run automatically? No drivers.
Old 9th March 2010, 14:28   #160

Reached to orchard station which is situated below megamall ION.

It was almost 1 pm and everyone was hungry.

clicked some pics of the Orchard road, shopping street of south east Asia.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-211.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-232.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-233.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-217.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-218.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-220.jpg

The place is so clean and neat that no one ever felt to make it dirty.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-212.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-213.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-214.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-215.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-216.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-219.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-221.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-222.jpg

Found Mcdo and had some food and soft drinks.
Done shopping by the list provided by wifey.

We all relaxed at the steps of the ION.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-231.jpg

At that time, i noticed that photo session of some event is going on in front of nearby mall.
I went there to see whats going on.
Old 9th March 2010, 15:00   #161

I don't know what the event was but there were young couples in different ethnic dresses.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-224.jpg

The couple start to walk on the road and filming of that walk was going on.
I was standing at the spot where walk ends and couple stops to return.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-225.jpg

I requested one couple for pic and they happily agreed.

15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-226.jpg

Now, whenever other couple stops in front of me, without request, they started to pose for the pic and i was happy guy to click. i have not posted here the pics of all couples.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-223.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-227.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-228.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-229.jpg

After this photo session, there was dance performance on the street and i was happily roaming to capture the video.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-230.jpg

It was almost 4 pm, time to move.
this time, our destination was mustaffa.

Again by mrt, we went to Farrer park station via Dhoby ghat interchange.
I realized that i am enjoying this metro ride and i am in love of this efficient mrt.

When will Indians get this type metro service?
I compared mumbai local with Singapore mrt.
Actually, there is no comparision between the " Raja Bhoj and Gangu Teli".

Went to Mustaffa.
That is huge supermarket [not mall], our Big bazaars are far superior than Mustaffa.
I don't know, why Indians prefer Mustaffa to shop.

15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-234.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-235.jpg

I had not expected this type of mall or market.
That place is not for my liking.

Any how, purchased some sovenir items at that place.
Had food at nearby Indian restaurants.

It was almost 6 pm.
Our boys were dead tired and started to complain.
Some one suggested to go back to Changi.
It was firing time from my side.
All soldiers obeyed commander and we were back in mrt for the Raffles place.

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 9th March 2010 at 15:08.
Old 9th March 2010, 15:18   #162

In India, if you ask a couple to pose for your camera, they will run away. If the guy is bigger than you, there is a big possibility that you will be beaten up
Old 9th March 2010, 16:38   #163

Ashish Bhai

Nicely written travelogue , voted 5 star. You sure have lot of patience to upload so many pics , thanks a ton for it though.

regards

MP
Old 9th March 2010, 16:46   #164

Reached to raffles place mrt station.
Came to upper level and we were at the base of skyscraper.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-235.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-236.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-249.jpg

It was evening time.

the boat quay was busy in preparation for Sunday night.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-238.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-239.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-241.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-243.jpg

Fullertone hotel was glittering.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-237.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-240.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-242.jpg

Went toward Singapore icon, the Merlion
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-244.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-248.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-250.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-245.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-246.jpg
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-251.jpg

I was standing alone in front of Merlion,
the place is so good, so clean, so romantic, so beautiful to be enjoyed with loved ones,
where are loved ones?,
they are in india eagerly waiting for me ,
suddenly i realized that i am thousand miles away from my home, my people, my country since last seven days,
though the place is beautiful, that is not my place,
i will come back here again, with my loved ones.
i felt homesick,
there was strong urge to return to home, back to india.

It was almost 8:45 pm,
Had some food at boat quay,
no one was in mood to enjoy Singapore flyer ride,
we were again at mrt station and boarded the train for Changi.
15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-247.jpg

15 RAJABABUes in Malaysia and Singapore-252.jpg
at changi, again, after immigration ,
we boarded the plane for kl scheduled at 11:35pm.
Reached to kl at 00:30 am and were in our hotel room at @ 2:45 am.

Tomorrow, i will be in India.

rest of the story will be concluded tomorrow.

Last edited by Technocrat : 9th March 2010 at 17:57. Reason: corrected text as per request.
Old 9th March 2010, 17:31   #165

Great Travelogue Ashish Bhau a.k.a Raja Babu.
Apart from being the go-to guy for any help required on local routes/picnic spots, we would be reaching out to you to get info on International places too.