Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 14th April 2008, 19:54   #31

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Nirmal - How was the fitting of the tyre on the alloys done? An automatic machine or the desi hammer jugaad?
They were rotating the wheel on a machine, but used some hammer like thing to pull the tyre. I guess you are right, this must have happend in this process. While they were doing it even I felt it a bit crude. But I didnt want to interrupt as they would immediately switch to "we know our job" mode.

Nirmal
Old 17th April 2008, 23:08   #32

Folks,

With our high kerbs etc, are lipped alloys safer than ordinary non-lipped ones? With the former, the chances of scraping the spokes are much much lower isn't it?

Also are lipped ones structurally just as strong as non-lipped ones?

Old 18th April 2008, 07:57   #33

Originally Posted by nirmalts View Post
They were rotating the wheel on a machine, but used some hammer like thing to pull the tyre. I guess you are right, this must have happend in this process. While they were doing it even I felt it a bit crude. But I didnt want to interrupt as they would immediately switch to "we know our job" mode.

Nirmal
Nirmal - It is unfortunate that you have a new alloy damaged. It would be nice if you can share where you got your alloys fitted so that the others can avoid falling into the same trap.
Old 18th April 2008, 08:09   #34

Originally Posted by DieselFan View Post
Nirmal - It is unfortunate that you have a new alloy damaged. It would be nice if you can share where you got your alloys fitted so that the others can avoid falling into the same trap.
It is at SAI Iyenger, CMH road. Their pricing for tyres + alloys are good. But never get the tyre+alloy fitted, balanced or aligned there. All their equipments are atleast a decade old.

Nirmal
Old 18th April 2008, 09:31   #35

Originally Posted by Dhar's View Post
How much is this setup prone for damage

Michelin XM1 155/70/R13 on Plati 13" x 5.5J
The alloys seems to be sticking out of the tyre wall. I think this is because the tyre is designed to be used on 5J rims. I had pointed out this to the dealer while fixing, but he said that the design itself is like this and its normal.
Ive already run about 10K cautious kms in this and caught unaware in some potholes especially at night. So far nothing happened.
I still feel that there is something not right about the set up.

Even I have got the same type of alloys. There alloy rim protrudes a little outside the tyre. I have already done over 20k km on this and took potholes well over 80-100kmph and there is no damage whatsoever till date. Only once did my tubeless tyre wall got cut and had to replace the tyre <blame the bad roads>
Are alloy wheels prone to damage & can't be repaired?-dscf2778.jpg  

Are alloy wheels prone to damage & can't be repaired?-dscf2779.jpg  

Old 18th April 2008, 10:13   #36

i have hr alloys on my car for more than 6 years now and i drive very very roughly. my rim are still going strong
But once got 17" and had 6 busted tyres in 4 months so i exchanged my 17" got 16 that was a long long time ago

my rim has alot of scratches can anything be done for it or should i change my rim
Old 29th October 2009, 11:57   #37

Giving some life to an old thread. I am using a 3 year old Elantra with Lenso alloys with Michelin tubeless tires. After my last drive to Kerala I started feeling slight wobbling of the steering at very slow speeds on good roads. My wheel alignment centre found that 2 of my front alloys has dented (had hit some potholes at high speeds). Luckily there is no air leakage and they moved both the tires to the back. My queries are

1) Is it normal for alloys to develop dents? I thought they will only break (had broken one when I ran over a boulder in NH at night)

2) Saw couple of posts in this thread on facility for getting the alloy dents removed in Bangalore. It will be great if someone can share the contact. Since my alloy model is not available in market now, need to change all 5 and will cost me 27 K.

Last edited by gadadhar : 29th October 2009 at 11:58. Reason: formating
Old 29th October 2009, 14:56   #38

I would not try and repair, but replace. The bead region is even more critical with modern tubeless tyres.

Last edited by sgiitk : 29th October 2009 at 14:58.
Old 29th October 2009, 15:34   #39

I wouldnt suggest repair of alloys. It loses it's strength and wont be like new.
Old 3rd November 2009, 15:45   #40

Thanks for your suggestions.. At the moment spending 27K bothers me, so would like to repar and use for some more time if possible.. so repeating my request, it will be great if the contact of the repair guy in Bangalore can be shared.
Old 29th December 2009, 12:01   #41

Need (one) new Palio 1.6 Sport alloy rim

I have Palio 1.6 sport(2007 model). One of the alloy rim seems to be bent and couple of wheel alignment shop told it can't be rectified and I need to buy new rim. Please let me know if this is true.
Can you please let me know how and where to order for a new original rim?
Old 30th December 2009, 22:44   #42

Any TATA-FIAT dealer should be able to help you in this case. Try!
Old 31st December 2009, 18:49   #43

Try getting in touch with some of the high end Car Accessories shops. Showrooms usually sell it for double the price.

Some of the car accessories shops get OEM alloys from Bombay. I recently found the stock Laura L&K (2006 Model) Alloys for 26000/for 5 alloys. He was offering each for Rs 6000.
Old 1st January 2010, 22:06   #44

Well if you were in Delhi, there is an excellent shop which would have fixed it for Rs. 500. In fact all 4 of my GTX's rims were horribly bent and this person fixed them all. Now they work like new ones!

I suspect there would be specialists in Bangalore, so ask around. The price for a new rim is Rs. 7,500 and they can be ordered at the service center. Availability, however, is poor.

Last edited by vipul_singh : 1st January 2010 at 22:07.
Old 2nd January 2010, 12:02   #45

My punto has a bent alloy! Help.

Originally Posted by vipul_singh View Post
Well if you were in Delhi, there is an excellent shop which would have fixed it for Rs. 500. In fact all 4 of my GTX's rims were horribly bent and this person fixed them all. Now they work like new ones!
@Vipul: This sounds music to my ears. Can you share details of this person?