Team-BHP > What Car?
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 14th February 2022, 00:15   #1
BHPian

Middle-aged middle-class man seeking help in buying his 1st & last car

Hello,

This is a humble appeal for help – to all you highly-informed experts at Team-BHP.

But to begin with, thank you very much T-BHP moderators – for including me into this amazing community! I have been an avid reader of this forum for a number of years. And it feels great to be a part of it.

To introduce myself…

I hail from Kolkata, originally. I live and work in a remote rural area, in the district of Birbhum. And if I may quote my standard ‘social media’ introduction here… I am a wanderer, by nature... An artist, by training... A teacher & permaculturist, by profession.

This will be my first new thread here. Advance apologies for the lengthy post – I'll try and make it as detailed as possible, so that I can explain my situation better. In case you do not want to go through the whole post, here are the bullet points of my query :-

NEED HELP IN DECIDING THE BEST OPTION FOR A NEW – PETROL, MT – CROSSOVER/ CSUV / HATCHBACK CAR – WITHIN 10 LAKHS (On-Road price, Kolkata, West Bengal) – which can be stretched up a little, if justified.

It will be used by my family of two adults and a 7-year old (with an occasional addition of 2 more family members).

• The car will work mostly in rural areas – with a monthly trip (or two) into the city, which is c. 200 kms away – travelling mostly over super-expressways (i.e. 400 kms to-and-from, on highways, each month).

• It will not have heavy commute on a daily basis, either in it’s usual rural surroundings, or during the occasional trip into Kolkata (one of the most congested cities – where I generally prefer public transport)

• During local commute, the car will often have to negotiate really bad dirt roods (village access roads in Bengal can be quite an off-road experience!)